We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog room on the parking lot......not good.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Galiano Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Dog room on the parking lot......not good.”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Didn't know where to go in Fort Bragg.....saw this joint(nothing like the pictures)....asked for upstairs room...no way. We have a poodle...dog room..ground floor..parking lot...upstairs all night the people ...don't know what they were doing...kept waking us up....could hear every sound...the manager is not telling the truth when I read the answers to the bad reviews...they say there is sound proofing....don't believe it....both sides of us as well were noisy...room for the price..was. Barely tolerable......couldn't wait to get out in the early morning......had to heat up some supper in the office where the only microwave was...awful....would never stop here again...even our poodle hated it...and managers or owners..do not respond to my review as it won' be read by me or my wife....you only seem to blame your customers for your short comings.....give it a huge miss....we will give Fort Bragg a miss also because of this experience.

Room Tip: No good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Will F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2015
We loved having you! ~Our guests, guests like you make each day feel like the inn is our home! Thank you for letting us know our guests feel like they are home too! Once again, Happiest of Anniversary's and Happy New Year-thank you for sharing your special days with us! Look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    114
    43
    10
    10
See reviews for
81
155
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed in the King Fireplace Jacuzzi suite for my boyfriends birthday. It was wonderful. Room was just as we expected, clean, roomy, comfortable bed, nice and good working jacuzzi. The windows opened completely so fresh air was readily available. In the office the staff was very kind, in the mornings they offered a small continental with coffee and danishes, also in the office was a small gift shop area with lots of cool stuff. One other thing this hotel offered was rentalable movies, so dvd players were in all the rooms. Down at the front desk was a binder with all the movies they had, I think it was like $2 to rent a movie. We were lucky enough that we traveled when no one else was I guess because no one occupied the rooms around us either night, so it was very quiet.

The fireplace is not real fire by the way! haha It is an electric one that has a vent on top that gives out hot air, like a heater, but it was nice and we liked it! For some reason I thought it was going to be a real one, anyways, it was perfect lighting when being in the jacuzzi with no lights on except the fireplace right across from it, nicely set up and very romantic!

Attached to the hotel was mini golf - we were busy doing other stuff that we didn't get around to playing but it looked like fun!

Anyways, we stayed two nights and it was perfect. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alishaaloraee32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Owner at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
With the busy hustle of daily life we appreciate you took the time to write a review. We would like to thank you for coming to the coast and staying with us! There is nothing like rest, relaxation and a little Birthday celebration. Thanks for celebrating at the Emerald Dolphin Inn ~ See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I spent one night right before Christmas in a king room #224 on the second floor in the building across the street from the main building. The room was cozy and clean, and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was spotless. I had a wonderful little view of the sunset over the ocean. The receptionist was very friendly and helped me with information about kayaking in the area.

Starbucks, Safeway, and Round Table Pizza are close.

My husband and I stayed at the Emerald Dolphin Inn before and were not disappointed. We'll be sure to stay there on future trips to Fort Bragg. The prices are good for the value compared to other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have nice little views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherold598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
It's been awhile and we just wanted to say hello. Be sure and watch for the fall specials being unleashed. Abalone Festivals,Wine and mushroom Days to mention a few. We always appreciate kind words, and just wanted to say thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Perfect location to visit Fort Bragg and the surrounding area at a great price. The double-queen bed room was comfortable for two and apparently larger than the single king bed rooms. The desk staff were quite friendly and helpful. A great 1/2 mile walk down the street and you're at Pomo Bluffs: a great view of the sea and coastline at sunset with a little cottage in the distance that makes for great photo opportunities. Down the street is the "Q" BBQ place with some fantastic baked oysters, pulled pork and baby-back ribs.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an upstairs room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
We were just going through and noticed we hadn't thanked you for your kind review. We really appreciate it-Thanks a bunch...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

i was a little bit apprehensive when my fiance was about to book the king size room with jacuzzi and fireplace for our weekend stay. i wasn't keen on the wallpaper and the bedding..appeared a bit frumpy. he went ahead and booked it anyway and well let me say this: the photos on their website i feel do not do justice to how really nice the place is and very modern. the room and bathroom and jacuzzi was spotless. the bed comfortable. fireplace actually works and easy to use. flat screen tv, good channels, free wifi, keurig coffee machine, safe, iron/board, mini fridge. the only thing i didn't like about the stay is that my fiance ended up saying i told you so. lol. in all seriousness, great place to stay and within range of everything, staff are friendly, didn't get to do the complimentary 18 hole mini golf. oh and we were driving through some of the hotels i was suggesting and im glad we made this reservation instead.( won't mention any names)

Green Features: clean, quiet, spotless and odour free recycling bins outside and in rooms, towels nice and clean, hot water and cold water and the bedding. house keeping service
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Just looking at our page this evening, and believe a year has gone by so quickly! Somehow we missed your review, but I wanted to thank you for taking the time we really do appreciate it! It always makes us smile when we hear a good story too! Happy Travels~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Very clean and spacious , we had a room with 2 queen size beds . Fridge . Nice staff . Good value :)
Kids had a great time playing at arcade . Restaurants near by , pizzerias deliver .proximity to beaches and downtown

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
How quickly a year passes by. Just wanted to say thanks for your review-and for staying with us-we are grateful for our local travelers...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Perfect one night stay while traveling south ! The hotel was very clean, very comfortable and staff friendly! I would recommend this hotel/Inn to all my friends. The hotel is on the outskirts of town with an excellent restaurant nearby! The beach is only a 10 minuet walk away.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 18brenda55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Wow, time really does fly. Thank you for the review and choosing to stay with us while you were here. Hope the rest of your travels were great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
470 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
613 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
428 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#12 of 23 in Fort Bragg
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Dolphin Inn

Property: Emerald Dolphin Inn
Address: 1211 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Emerald Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest Inns on the Coast, Emerald Dolphin's guest rooms bring luxurious comfort, gracious hospitality, and first class service to the Mendocino Coast. Located within walking distance to the Hare Creek beach and ocean cliff walking trail. Some jetted spa & fireplace suites. Complimentary continental breakfast, WIFI and many other amenities. Pet friendly rooms available with advance notice. Onsite you will find a family hair salon, 18 hole Miniature Golf Course, family fun center with arcade & private party room. You will also find fabulous restaurants, shops, galleries, beaches, parks, Skunk Train, Botanical Gardens, and theater nearby. AAA approved- Three Diamonds Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Emerald Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Dolphin Hotel Fort Bragg
Emerald Dolphin Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing