We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Comfy - But Standard Fare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here b/c they accepted a dog ... even had special treats for her in the room. The room was clean and looked to have been recently remodeled, but it was a pretty standard room (plus in the pet friendly room, the only option was two beds). .. There is a cute minature golf course adjoining which is included at no charge - though their hours might not fit with your travel times. It's a fun little break if you can fit it in. .. Great restaurants in town. We were just passing though, but there is lots to see here if you are spending some time. There is a dog park in Fort Bragg - good place to let your dog run free for awhile.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casadedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 320 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

This sweet, little gem of a motel in Fort Bragg is fabulous. The rooms are good size, have every amenity and are spotlessly clean. The staff is kind and courteous and the price is right. I highly recommend staying at the Emerald Dolphin Inn when your travels take you to Ft. Bragg.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jojoChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

After a trip to San Francisco my family wanted to explore the northern CA coast. We picked Ft. Bragg as a good central location with lots of hotel options. The Emerald Dolphin was perfect: not too pricey, very clean, not a boring chain motel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great location to explore Fort Bragg and various beaches, and the Skunk Train etc. We found the staff pleasant and our suite clean and sufficient for us. Decoration was a bit like something out of the 80s but this is just taste.

The breakfast was okay.

There is a crazy golf across from it which is worth a go.

All in all it seemed a really good value place and one we enjoyed staying in. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

When I called to make reservations, I was surprised they remember me from previous year. The hotel is very clean and well taken care of. Large rooms with lots of room even with the 2 queen beds. They have added new furniture since last year. Nice comforters on soft comfy beds. Good complimentary breakfast. Coffee pot and refrigerator in room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nice place, clean and well-maintained. Staff was very nice, even though we used a special deal, they treated us very well, allowing an early check-in and giving good advice about places to see and eat. Surprisingly quiet given the proximity to the highway. Bed was comfortable but a little too soft for me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DC_Padrin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2014

And just like that, a blink of the eye a year has gone by. Thank you for your review and staying with us at the Emerald Dolphin Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

When we walked into our room for the first time, we were absolutely amazed at how nice this is. The room was spacious, the furniture of good quality in perfect condition, the beds appointed with fluffy comforters and multiple pillows. The marble vanity and upgraded shower stall were a pleasant extra. Needless to say, it was spotlessly clean. The overall effect is "contemporary charming". This hotel should have a three or four star rating. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Russ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for your very kind review and noticing all the extra special touches our property offers. Our guests comfort is our top priority and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Fort Bragg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
631 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#12 of 23 in Fort Bragg
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
223 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
2.7 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Dolphin Inn

Address: 1211 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range: $105 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Emerald Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest Inns on the Coast, Emerald Dolphin's guest rooms bring luxurious comfort, gracious hospitality, and first class service to the Mendocino Coast. Located within walking distance to the Hare Creek beach and ocean cliff walking trail. Some jetted spa & fireplace suites. Complimentary continental breakfast, WIFI and many other amenities. Pet friendly rooms available with advance notice. Onsite you will find a family hair salon, 18 hole Miniature Golf Course, family fun center with arcade & private party room. You will also find fabulous restaurants, shops, galleries, beaches, parks, Skunk Train, Botanical Gardens, and theater nearby. AAA approved- Three Diamonds Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Emerald Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Dolphin Hotel Fort Bragg
Emerald Dolphin Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing