We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An awesome stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Paradise
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An awesome stay!”
Reviewed May 3, 2008

My daughter and I were on vacation and wanted to play golf at the Emerald Dolphin during our visit to Fort Bragg....but we always stayed at another motel....so, we decided to give the Emerald Dolphin a try and we were very pleased we did. The room was very reasonable. We were able to check in as soon as we got into town- around Noon and the lady and owner at the front desk was very nice and pleasent to talk with. We had a great room with a ocean view, the room was good sized, super clean and smelled really good, beds were so comfy and the extra large towels were great..they had been fashioned into large bows as a decoration which made the room even more welcoming. The continental breakfast is adaquate and the coffee is wonderful! We were able to play golf the next day and the golf course was so much fun with all its fountains and challenges. And we were able to purchase some nifty items from their gift shops.
Definately stay there......We not only give it a thumbs up, but also 5 stars!!!!! Check out our photos!!!

  • Liked — Great room, great service, great rate...and of course, the putt putt golf!
  • Disliked — All in all, we had a great time. No complaints
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muffin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    113
    42
    10
    10
See reviews for
77
153
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2008

Meh. There was nothing horrible about this hotel, but nothing to recommend it either. We had a room that has an odd lack of furniture (a little refrigerator doubled as a coffee table), internet wireless did not work.

The exterior was great, had a lot of character. But the room was pretty so-so, the price was average, and the location was just on the outskirts of town. The beach was down the road a good ways.

Very basic, very average. When I travel on vacation, I want more. And there are plenty of places to choice from in Ft Bragg.

  • Liked — Nice giftshop if you like dolphins
  • Disliked — nothing that made me want to stay a second night
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chg2winter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Management at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2009
The Emerald Dolphin caters to all travelers and budgets! We have a few very basic rooms and we have some very beautiful, spacious rooms with more amenities such as Jetted spa tubs, and fireplaces. All of our guest rooms are elegantly decorated, clean and comfortable. This guest chose our most economical room, but it does not reflect on all of our guest rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2007

This hotel is one of the most pet unfriendly hotels that allows pets. Pets are not allowed to be left in the room unattended even in a kennel, Also dogs are not allowed on their putt putt golf course so if you have a dog you can't use their golf course. We were under the assumption we could bring our dog on the course because on the pet paper they give you when you check in says," we are fortunate to have a large field adjoining our south parking lot.Please use this area to allow your pet to run and do his "other buisness".Do not allow him to use the motel or MINI GOLF COURSE GROUNDS for the same purpose." We will definately stay at a better pet friendly place when we come back

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — how pet unfriendly they were
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank horrible1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2007

This property is privately owned and owner-operated, and the pride of ownership shines through. The large room was extremely well-appointed (marble countertops for a $79 room rate!?!), clean, and pleasant. One of the owners was at the desk the night I stayed and offered detailed and cheerful help with everything I asked. On a pricey stretch of California coastline, an excellent value that would be attractive at far more than what they charge.

  • Liked — The quality of the room and the friendly service
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorito50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2007

We were excited it was our fist trip to Fort Bragg we took extra days off of work to enjoy our mini vacation. We stayed at the Emerald dolphinn inn which was a big mistake. They did not have HBO movie channels in the rooms like they said, the arcade/ golf course was not open the hours they said it was and they booked the skunk train tickets for the wrong day they booked the tickets for the day we were going home instead of the previous day. I spoke to the manager about the problem they were not very helpfull or symperthetic to the problem they had caused. Then the manager gave me a card that said she was sorry and that she was fustrated. By the time the trip was almost over My daughter was in tears about the skunk train because that was one of the main reasons we went to Fort Bragg. We ended up going home a day early.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — managment
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SacramentoRosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Owner/Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2007
Please understand, the Emerald Dolphin Inn's reservation taking policy is very simple. To ensure that misunderstandings do not take place between staff & guest, we go over all arrival and ticket reservation dates a minimum of three times. If a guest gives us a wrong date and we confirm this date with them, there is nothing more we can do. This guest did not realize that the date that was confirmed to her was not the date she intended. She also did not notice the date on her ticket when she picked it up two days prior. The Skunk Train and our staff was as friendly and helpful as we could possibly be. If we were informed of the mistake earlier, we could have easily made it right. Unfortunately, by the time the guest realized the date was wrong, the train was full. When this guest came into our office to complain, she was given the sincerest of apologies, complimentary mini golf tickets, and they had a free night lodging which they chose to leave early and not accept but were given a discount on the nights they did stay even though we did not believe the Inn was at fault.
This guest mentioned none of this in her review. She also did not mention that her room was clean and comfortable, her Husband seemed to be having a great time, and the only reason she was unhappy was that we did not refund her entire lodging bill which we thought was unreasonable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2006

The king bed room was large and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The location is good, just south of the Noya Harbor bridge. The 3 nights for the price of 2 nights Sunday through Thursday deal made the room a good value for me as I am retired and have week days free. The Continental breakfast was very minimal,but ok. I will stay there again if I'm in Fort Bragg.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The Continental Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rod157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 16, 2006

The resort was very nice. We had some very noisy neighbors upstairs. After going to the office and requesting a change in our location, the man suggested we wait a while, so we did. After waiting a while, I went back to the office and requested to be moved. I almost begged the man to move us, but he was less than helpful and actually seemed like it was too much trouble to move us, leaving us with a less than satisfied stay. The next day I found that the man was actually the manager of the establishment. Never before have I felt so unsatisfied. Especially from a manager. I cannot recommend this place unless there is no where else to go.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Management at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2009
Management tries to do everything in our power to ensure every guest has an amazing stay, but in this case there wasn't another room to move this guest to. What the guest failed to mention, was that management did solve the matter with the disturbance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
2.2 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
2.7 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Dolphin Inn

Property: Emerald Dolphin Inn
Address: 1211 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Emerald Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest Inns on the Coast, Emerald Dolphin's guest rooms bring luxurious comfort, gracious hospitality, and first class service to the Mendocino Coast. Located within walking distance to the Hare Creek beach and ocean cliff walking trail. Some jetted spa & fireplace suites. Complimentary continental breakfast, WIFI and many other amenities. Pet friendly rooms available with advance notice. Onsite you will find a family hair salon, 18 hole Miniature Golf Course, family fun center with arcade & private party room. You will also find fabulous restaurants, shops, galleries, beaches, parks, Skunk Train, Botanical Gardens, and theater nearby. AAA approved- Three Diamonds Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Emerald Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Dolphin Hotel Fort Bragg
Emerald Dolphin Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing