We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value on the Mendocino Coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I've stayed here a couple of times and recommend it as a clean, comfortable option when staying on the Mendocino Coast. I live in inland Mendocino County and like to come over to the coast for weekend visits. The 200+ a night options are nice for an occasional splurge, but most of the time I am looking for something less expensive. This is a good option. No grand ocean views, but convenient to either Fort Bragg or Mendocino.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
There are newer reviews for Emerald Dolphin Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 315 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

I bought a "Group-on" voucher for this Inn back in March of this year. My wife and I finally decided to take a drive up to Fort Bragg and use it. The Inn is in reality a run of the mill motel, however the rooms are clean and fresh. The staff is pleasant and accommodating. We would not stay there again, as there many more places in Fort Bragg that have more to offer.

Room Tip: No pool, no air conditioning.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDIFortBragg, Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

The Emerald Dolphin Inn is an extremely well maintained three diamond facility and one of the newest motels on the Mendocino Coast. You will find cherrywood furnishings, granite counters, upscale linens and complimentary guest amenities. Within walking distance to the ocean bluffs with a gorgeous paved walking trail, and close to all attractions Fort Bragg has to offer. In addition, you will find a beautiful 18 hole miniature golf course, family fun center, and hair salon on the property. Complimentary tickets for the mini golf were included with this guest's stay. Although our rates are comparable with lesser quality inns that do not offer any kind of morning meal, we do offer our guests a great cup of Jo, other beverages, and a simple variety of cereals and pastries to get you going in the morning... complimentary. No hidden fees, no room upcharges. Motel 6? We think not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

There are two separate buildings, separated by a two lane street. The rooms were very nice and what I would expect for the price we paid....clean, quiet, comfortably sized with nice furniture and beds. HOWEVER.... one of the reasons for choosing this property was the advertised inclusion of a continental breakfast. Especially since breakfast for four can be pricey. What a dissappointment. It included (mind you for the entire property) only two choices of cold cereal, approx 12 tiny danishes in a case, and instant oatmeal if you wanted it. That's it.... and all housed in the small office lobby across the street that only fit four people with no-place to sit. We went to McDonalds across the street on the second morning.
If value is what you're looking for, do not consider the offering of a "Breakfast" as part of the deal. You are paying for the room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stacynkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

easy to locate and closet to everything, very helpful front desk,nice breakfast in lobby, good directions to places we wanted to see. rooms were clean and very quite. they have a miniture golf course that looks like a lot of--just ran out of time to play.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diana w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stay here for one night. Reasonable rates.Clean room with ok bath. ADA room set apart from rest of rooms . Small Fridge but No microwave. Usual continental breakfast fare. Took back to room to eat. Friendly staff and we were able to purchase our tickets for the Skunk Train at a discount .

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinnyHaciendaHeights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The inn is right by the highway but the way it situated the noise wasn't real bad. The room itself was in very good condition, good size, clean, nicely decorated, with a good mattress. The breakfast was very skimpy, basically a true continental breakfast of pastries & coffee, with the addition of oatmeal & cereal. Ok as long as you know not to expect more. The problem was the breakfast bar is very small and is in the small lobby. Items are situated so it is hard for more than one or two people to get their items as one time. This created quite a traffic jam and was rather unpleasent on the weekend. It was also hard for the staff (of just the desk clerk, I guess) too keep the items stocked, & we got the last two trays (trays are necessary since there is no breakfast room. The small breakfast room wasn't a big deal on the much less crowded weekday we were there. I'd be willing to stay there again but I wouldn't make a point of it. When you can get a weekday special of $59 or so it is probably a good value, but the weekend rate of $135 was ridiculous. I think you could get better values elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westerntravelwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed in a room across the street from main building. King bed average size. Room seemed recently redone. Fresh paint and wall paper Bath area tiny with tub/shower combo and toilet very very small all new fixtures very clean. Dressing area seperate with large marble top and sink. Overall room nice ,small but very workable. Had coffee pot and small fridge. Free wifi worked on and off hubby not very happy with that service.Good value tru Groupon included tickets to Mendo Botanical Gardens. Pkg included free mini golf but closed for winter hours the two days we were there. No sub offered. Dessert or appetizer at local restaurant would have been a nice touch since it was in the pkg. Continental breakfast was vvvvvvery sparce. Pkg oatmeal ,cold cereal, TTTTTTTiny sweet rolls. Fruit maybe apples,bananas or oranges or maybe bagles,muffins or toast would have been nice. Super 8 offers that.Would we go back. Perhaps on a good pkg deal and bring my own fruit or yogart.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
623 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
2.2 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#13 of 23 in Fort Bragg
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Dolphin Inn

Address: 1211 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range: $111 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Emerald Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest Inns on the Coast, Emerald Dolphin's guest rooms bring luxurious comfort, gracious hospitality, and first class service to the Mendocino Coast. Located within walking distance to the Hare Creek beach and ocean cliff walking trail. Some jetted spa & fireplace suites. Complimentary continental breakfast, WIFI and many other amenities. Pet friendly rooms available with advance notice. Onsite you will find a family hair salon, 18 hole Miniature Golf Course, family fun center with arcade & private party room. You will also find fabulous restaurants, shops, galleries, beaches, parks, Skunk Train, Botanical Gardens, and theater nearby. AAA approved- Three Diamonds Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Emerald Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Dolphin Hotel Fort Bragg
Emerald Dolphin Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing