We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here for the "Breakfast"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't stay here for the "Breakfast"”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

There are two separate buildings, separated by a two lane street. The rooms were very nice and what I would expect for the price we paid....clean, quiet, comfortably sized with nice furniture and beds. HOWEVER.... one of the reasons for choosing this property was the advertised inclusion of a continental breakfast. Especially since breakfast for four can be pricey. What a dissappointment. It included (mind you for the entire property) only two choices of cold cereal, approx 12 tiny danishes in a case, and instant oatmeal if you wanted it. That's it.... and all housed in the small office lobby across the street that only fit four people with no-place to sit. We went to McDonalds across the street on the second morning.
If value is what you're looking for, do not consider the offering of a "Breakfast" as part of the deal. You are paying for the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacynkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    113
    42
    10
    10
See reviews for
77
153
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oakley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

easy to locate and closet to everything, very helpful front desk,nice breakfast in lobby, good directions to places we wanted to see. rooms were clean and very quite. they have a miniture golf course that looks like a lot of--just ran out of time to play.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diana w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda Heights
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stay here for one night. Reasonable rates.Clean room with ok bath. ADA room set apart from rest of rooms . Small Fridge but No microwave. Usual continental breakfast fare. Took back to room to eat. Friendly staff and we were able to purchase our tickets for the Skunk Train at a discount .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinnyHaciendaHeights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The inn is right by the highway but the way it situated the noise wasn't real bad. The room itself was in very good condition, good size, clean, nicely decorated, with a good mattress. The breakfast was very skimpy, basically a true continental breakfast of pastries & coffee, with the addition of oatmeal & cereal. Ok as long as you know not to expect more. The problem was the breakfast bar is very small and is in the small lobby. Items are situated so it is hard for more than one or two people to get their items as one time. This created quite a traffic jam and was rather unpleasent on the weekend. It was also hard for the staff (of just the desk clerk, I guess) too keep the items stocked, & we got the last two trays (trays are necessary since there is no breakfast room. The small breakfast room wasn't a big deal on the much less crowded weekday we were there. I'd be willing to stay there again but I wouldn't make a point of it. When you can get a weekday special of $59 or so it is probably a good value, but the weekend rate of $135 was ridiculous. I think you could get better values elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westerntravelwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed in a room across the street from main building. King bed average size. Room seemed recently redone. Fresh paint and wall paper Bath area tiny with tub/shower combo and toilet very very small all new fixtures very clean. Dressing area seperate with large marble top and sink. Overall room nice ,small but very workable. Had coffee pot and small fridge. Free wifi worked on and off hubby not very happy with that service.Good value tru Groupon included tickets to Mendo Botanical Gardens. Pkg included free mini golf but closed for winter hours the two days we were there. No sub offered. Dessert or appetizer at local restaurant would have been a nice touch since it was in the pkg. Continental breakfast was vvvvvvery sparce. Pkg oatmeal ,cold cereal, TTTTTTTiny sweet rolls. Fruit maybe apples,bananas or oranges or maybe bagles,muffins or toast would have been nice. Super 8 offers that.Would we go back. Perhaps on a good pkg deal and bring my own fruit or yogart.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The room had a very strange odor! Had to buy air freshers. The coffee maker did not heat water,so we had to walk across the street to the office to get hot water! No microwave in a 3 star hotel? We were told there was mini golf at the hotel but no pool. The mini golf was not included in the price of the room. The price for the room was double the normal price because of the holiday. Not very impressed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thegramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and couldn't have been happier. It was very clean, affordable, and was easy to get in/out of from the main road. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We purchased our Skunk Train tickets through the hotel and received a very good discount on them. The only minor issues we had was that there was no microwave in the room, the continental breakfast was very basic, and the placement of the mini fridge continually caused us to bump our head on the clothes rack near it. These are minor issues, however, and for the value and cleanliness, we will certainly stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mytwodogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
2.2 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
2.7 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Dolphin Inn

Property: Emerald Dolphin Inn
Address: 1211 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Emerald Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest Inns on the Coast, Emerald Dolphin's guest rooms bring luxurious comfort, gracious hospitality, and first class service to the Mendocino Coast. Located within walking distance to the Hare Creek beach and ocean cliff walking trail. Some jetted spa & fireplace suites. Complimentary continental breakfast, WIFI and many other amenities. Pet friendly rooms available with advance notice. Onsite you will find a family hair salon, 18 hole Miniature Golf Course, family fun center with arcade & private party room. You will also find fabulous restaurants, shops, galleries, beaches, parks, Skunk Train, Botanical Gardens, and theater nearby. AAA approved- Three Diamonds Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Emerald Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Dolphin Hotel Fort Bragg
Emerald Dolphin Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing