We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely and pet friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coast Inn & Spa
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely and pet friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is a nice clean hotel right near the beach. I brought my dogs (bonus points for being pet friendly) and we took some great walks exploring the nearby area. The facilities are pretty basic but the location, hospitality and value are very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    26
    12
    17
    33
See reviews for
31
63
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Great location at an affordable price. The hotel was very clean and pet friendly. We had a room with a little kitchenette with a private porch. I love supporting local and independent businesses. The owner Chong was very friendly and is willing to let you in on beaches that the local tend to keep to themselves. The beach she recommended was secluded and quiet...it felt like the beach was all to ourselves. She grows her own vegetables and runs a small cafe in the hotel. The hotel offers spa services at decent prices where my girlfriend received a relaxing prenatal massage. There is also a fire pit located on the property where you can roast marshmallows meet other travelers. They may even share the fresh abalone they caught earlier that day. All in all a greeat deal and warrants a return trip for me!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garberville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Hi!
Yum! The Korean Mud Clay room! Ionization helping us heal pains in our bodies as well energize, cleanse, rejuvenate our spirits. Chong the owner of the Coast Inn and Spa was so thoughtful!
Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funandadventure2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

This place is relatively cheap for the area so don't expect too much. The rooms are spacious but in dire need of a touch-up. The spa is a hot tub outside that looks as if it hasn't been in use for some time... However, if you just need a place to crash this will do fine.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Bragg hotels

Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This motel was touted as a spa with jacuzzi, massage and many more therapies. What it actually was was a converted single story dated motel from the 60's or 70's. It was expensive! We paid $149 for Thursday night and $189 each night for the weekend. And for our money we got a small room plus one bar of soap and one small shampoo for two people for three nights. The floor was swept after the first night but not after that, the towels were dingy, there was no screen in the bathroom window, rust on the toilet plumbing and the paint in the bathroom was bubbled up from water leaking from the ceiling. The room had two fireplaces which sounds great but they were framed electric "fire" heaters. One was placed on top of our dresser and the other one was hung up in the corner of the room with an electric cord that competed with the refrigerator and microwave for an outlet plus the refrigerator and microwave sat in front of the "fire place". The bed was so uncomfortable we were exhausted during the day. We only stayed that long because it was the 4th of July weekend and there was NO place else to stay. WAY too much money for such a poor experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mammabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This place looked COMPLETELY different than the photo I saw online when I booked it. In fact, we drove right by it on our way for that very reason. The lady who checked us in was very friendly, however, when she said she was airing out our room, I was starting to get skeptical. The room seems like you have gone back in time to the 60's. Everything was OLD. There was even dried nail polish on the floor by the sink. The whole place needs to be painted and the gardens weeded. We also saw that there used to be a pool, but now it is a weed fest.......filled with dirt and weeds.
I will say that the bed, though the linens seemed OLD, was comfortable. That was about the only thing that was positive.
I am surprised that it is called a spa. That name does not fit.

Room Tip: I don't believe any rooms are good. Sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpeas8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Someone stayed here and didn't like it, so said that positive reviews are fakes. No, people have different experiences and expectations. We stayed here for two nights, at the very last minute at the beginning of abalone season.

My husband looked at the room before deciding to stay. The motel is an old motor-court style - I think people would be misled by "Inn and Spa." There are 22 rooms, all on the first floor. Ours had two queen beds. The room was clearly older but it was by no means dirty. We never turned on the TV so don't know or care if it worked or not. The vanity and sink were in the back of the room, with the WC and shower-tub in a separate room, larger than they usually are with this arrangement. The room key is an actual key on a plastic fob that gives the name and address of the place, as well as the room number, so don't loose it.

Our beds were clean and very comfortable. I'm a stomach-sleeper, so I appreciated the squishy pillow.

Because all the rooms are on the ground floor facing the driveway, you probably don't want to leave the windows open at night. Unfortunately, because our vanity and sink were across the back wall, there was no window there. So we opened the window in the WC to get some fresh air while we slept. Both the room and the WC have separate electric wall heaters, so they warmed up fast when we got up.

We didn't see much sign of a spa, except for the nutritionist who has an office on the grounds, and a closed-off area that looked as though it might be a small pool or jacuzzi.

We paid $89 for our room, which was good value for money.

If you are looking for an "Inn" or resort or spa experience, this isn't the place for you. If you want a basic, comfortable Travelodge or Best Western type of accommodations at a good price, you shouldn't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adeliegentoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
7.6 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
3.3 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
1.0 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
0.6 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Inn & Spa

Property: Coast Inn & Spa
Address: 18661 North Hwy 1, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coast Inn & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coast Inn and Spa have beautiful grounds with organic vegetable garden in back. It is quite and has great accommodations. Remodel Eco friendly rooms some rooms with Cal King Garden Sleep System 3 Layer Hybrid Breathable memory Foam Technology Supports, with Jacuzzi Tubs, electric Fireplace and 48" Flat screen T.V. Most room sheets Sheets are 100% cotton 400~800 thread count. Some rooms with full Kitchen. All rooms have a Flat screen T.V. Refrigerator, a Microwave, and in-room Coffee. Wireless Internet. Out door hot-tub. Cleaning station with barbecue grill, picnic tables, Fire pit. Natural Healing Spa and Massage rooms. Walking distance to Beach. Less then 1/2 a mile to Botanical Garden. Close to Glass Beach, Noyo Harbor, Skunk Train, Shopping, Point Cabrillo Lighthouse, Whale Watching, Fishing, Diving. Kayaking, Horseback Rides, Museums, Mendocino Art Center, Mendocino Music Festival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Coast Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Inn And Spa
Coast Motel Fort Bragg
Coast Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing