We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I needed”
Review of Coast Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coast Inn & Spa
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Boonville, California
1 review
“Just what I needed”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Wanted to have a quick get away, so I googled Fort Bragg pet friendly Inn's and the Coast Inn and Spa was one of the first few places to pop up. I called that day for a reservation and booked a room with a jacuzzi tube. The lady on the phone was very nice. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable room. It had a nice piece of land behind it so I could take my old puppy out to stretch her legs and do her business. The location was good only 5 minutes or so to the downtown area. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margotlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    28
    14
    17
    32
See reviews for
32
63
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had not had a chance to study any reviews prior to coming over to Ft. Bragg whatsoever - Now I am glad that I didn't. I am not certain as to what the other guests had encountered, save one; On Friday Morning, I had questions that needed answering - the message on the door said the office would be back at 9:00am. However, they were not available until around 9:30.

That said, I can assert the owner and staff were all friendly. It may not be a full-service spa as others had stated, but they are extremely accommodating and helped when we needed anything during our 3 day stay. Additionally, they did offer holistic healing, massage and our room was clean; they are pet friendly - with 4 acres in the back to walk you animals in the morning; Fresh linens and towels offered as well as room to be made up daily; refrigerator, microwave and soft linens all made for a cozy stay.

We highly recommend the Coast Inn to anyone but those snot-nosed, whiny, social climbing high-brows. If you happen to be one of those, sorry, there doesn't appear to be a Waldorf Astoria near by.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Coast Inn and Spa is an old motor lodge that has had minimal upgrades. Our room was large, but the walls were paper thin. The beds were okay, but the blankets had numerous cigarette burns. The baseboards in the bathroom were furry with dust and grime, and the plexiglass shower had a broken dial. The whole place felt sad and in disrepair. If we were paying motor lodge prices, I wouldn't complain, but we paid $220/night. Way too much for what we got. I still may not have written a bad review, but when we got back to the hotel late at night, we found that there had been no housekeeping service- beds were still unmade, overflowing trash cans. I went in to complain about the lack of housekeeping the next morning, but the office was closed until 9 AM, and we had to leave before that. What motel doesn't have someone on duty until 9 AM? I would not stay here again, and certainly not at that price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Bragg hotels

Grass Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights with some family my father had a stroke and has a hard time walking with out being helped and sometimes carried they have no ramps so we carried him up s couple stairs .and the next morning he was woke up and kicked out .the manager knew he had problems, was constantly patrolling by are room made us feel very uncomfortable..I wouldn't stay here again if you paid me. They discriminate against disabled, and charge way to much.nothing good about the place but the location

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veryupset13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
238 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have stayed here three times (one time we blew off Santa Rosa and drove back to Mendocino for the town and this motel) and it is always excellent, and there's always something special. On this particular trip I happened upon some Korean gentlemen who invited me to join them in some fresh-caught (by them) rock cod sashimi and Korean wine.
This motel is convenient to Mendocino and to Fort Bragg, and the laundry facilities make it an ideal midway point for exploring the California Coast and the Wine Country.
Coast Inn & Spa gets full points for being a fine motel in a great location, and extra points for having some special magic mojo that has helped make two special vacations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodiePilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had a great night at the Coast Inn. The room was very clean and the bed was incredibly comfy. The owner was very accommodating and informative about the surrounding area...gave us great tips and directions on the morning we were leaving. We got a king room for a great deal. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I really liked this Inn. It was nice and quiet and the owner was very accommodating. Our room had a king bed which was very comfortable with nice blankets and pillows. The room was very clean as well. It is just south of Fort Bragg which I liked because then we didn't have to worry about being right in the middle of everything, including traffic. I plan on using this hotel every time I stay in Fort Bragg. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maegan664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
7.6 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
2.8 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Inn & Spa

Property: Coast Inn & Spa
Address: 18661 N Highway 1, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8759
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coast Inn & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coast Inn and Spa have beautiful grounds with organic vegetable garden in back. It is quite and has great accommodations. Remodel Eco friendly rooms some rooms with Cal King Garden Sleep System 3 Layer Hybrid Breathable memory Foam Technology Supports, with Jacuzzi Tubs, electric Fireplace and 48" Flat screen T.V. Most room sheets Sheets are 100% cotton 400~800 thread count. Some rooms with full Kitchen. All rooms have a Flat screen T.V. Refrigerator, a Microwave, and in-room Coffee. Wireless Internet. Out door hot-tub. Cleaning station with barbecue grill, picnic tables, Fire pit. Natural Healing Spa and Massage rooms. Walking distance to Beach. Less then 1/2 a mile to Botanical Garden. Close to Glass Beach, Noyo Harbor, Skunk Train, Shopping, Point Cabrillo Lighthouse, Whale Watching, Fishing, Diving. Kayaking, Horseback Rides, Museums, Mendocino Art Center, Mendocino Music Festival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Coast Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Inn And Spa
Coast Motel Fort Bragg
Coast Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing