We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coast Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coast Inn & Spa
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
1 review
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hostess was warm and welcoming. Lovely personal touch in every detail, from silk bedsheets to blooming flowers. Each room is decorated differently in soothing tones and hardwood floors. My favorite things were the massage chair and jacuzzzi. Very clean, comfortable, and peaceful throughout. Highly recommend this sanctuary.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    28
    13
    17
    32
See reviews for
31
63
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

For the area the cost was reasonable. Nice, spacious room with fireplace and heater. Talked to the proprietor several times, she was very friendly and helpful. Also provided alkaline, ionized water for those who want it (and understand the health benefits). I happen to be a water scientist and had some test equipment, so tested the tap water and the ionized water. Both were very high quality as to pH and anti-oxidant content was good in the ionized water.

Room Tip: You can actually go on-line and choose the room, as the styles are all a little different, so you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaDawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were given this two night getaway as a gift for Christmas. It was a great gift and we had been thinking it was time to return to the Mendocino area. The rooms were clean, but it is more like a motel, not a spa or B&B. Our gift included $30 towards a spa or use in the restaurant. The restaurant was closed and the massage prices were not worth using the $30. The staff was friendly ad accommodating, but given there were so many vacancies in the area, I would have expected a better value.

Room Tip: This motel is on the main highway, so a room in the back would have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Or
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Pictures at the website actually make it look ok...not so!!! 50's decor...but not in a cool vintage way...like a worn, flea-bag way.
Might be worth $50 a night but tried charging $129!! Checked out the room then left...manger wouldn't refund...check the room out before you agree to book.
Walls are paper thin...you can hear everything next door...room stinks...ancient, dated decor...worth half of what they're asking...wouldn't step foot in the "spa"...what a joke!!!
Cliental looks like a bunch of meth cooks.
Nuff said.
Stayed at the Surf Hotel just down the road...loads nicer and only $89!
Think my review is harsh? Check out other reviews at booking.com.

Room Tip: Don't do it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJ_Smith_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Bragg hotels

Hollywood, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here on a trip cruising up the cali coast over the summer. The owner's mother is the most amazing chef. They fed us really well.... I remember the owner speaking with local fishermen who had just caught some fresh fish for the restaurant! They also had some freshly harvested seaweed.

The owner explained alot of naturapathic medicines / alkaline based water systems for detoxing our bodies.
I enjoyed spending a chilly evening in the hot tub that was just outside my room.
Room had an infrared fireplace that was perfect for that chilly misty summer night.

I look forward to my next visit to Coast Inn and Spa

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chef E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

My mom and I spent a relaxing weekend in the Mendocino/Fort Bragg area going on hikes, walks on the beach, whale watching, and eating delicious food. My mom randomly chose to stay at the Coast Inn and Spa, and she really couldn't have made a better decision! For a very reasonable price, not only were we extremely comfortable in our room, we were treated like family by the lovely owner, Chong.
Our room was perfect for us. Everything was very clean, and our room was painted a beautiful, warm orange. Our beds were SO comfortable! Our sheets were made of egyptian cotton! Both of us slept so well.
When we checked in, Chong was extremely friendly and welcoming and gave us many ideas for fun things to do in the area. She also invited us to the office for tea and a sit in her massage chair after dinner for good digestion and relaxation! We took her up on it, and on both nights during our stay we visited with Chong in the office while we drank her delicious herbal tea. The massage chair she has is incredible and was so nice to sit in after a day of activity. The Coast Inn and Spa also offers massages and a variety of other health and wellness activities for an extra charge. Chong was so generous and welcoming to us throughout our entire stay.
The Coast Inn and Spa is a lovely, comfortable, clean place to stay. I think that Chong and her staff's service make this place truly exceptional. It is very clear to me that the staff at The Coast Inn and Spa put a lot of care, intention, and dedication into their services and accommodations. I definitely plan on staying there the next time I'm in the area, and would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5, which had two extremely comfy queen sized beds. The room also has a great showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Clean and pleasant accommodations for a competitive price. The property is older but well-maintained. The very gracious owner warmed up a nice bowl of soup for me, even though the inn's restaurant wasn't open. Located a short distance from the ocean and downtown businesses. Acupuncturist and massage therapy available on site but didn't have time to utilize their services. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepidtraveller366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
7.6 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.6 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#8 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
3.3 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Inn & Spa

Property: Coast Inn & Spa
Address: 18661 N Highway 1, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8759
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coast Inn & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coast Inn and Spa have beautiful grounds with organic vegetable garden in back. It is quite and has great accommodations. Remodel Eco friendly rooms some rooms with Cal King Garden Sleep System 3 Layer Hybrid Breathable memory Foam Technology Supports, with Jacuzzi Tubs, electric Fireplace and 48" Flat screen T.V. Most room sheets Sheets are 100% cotton 400~800 thread count. Some rooms with full Kitchen. All rooms have a Flat screen T.V. Refrigerator, a Microwave, and in-room Coffee. Wireless Internet. Out door hot-tub. Cleaning station with barbecue grill, picnic tables, Fire pit. Natural Healing Spa and Massage rooms. Walking distance to Beach. Less then 1/2 a mile to Botanical Garden. Close to Glass Beach, Noyo Harbor, Skunk Train, Shopping, Point Cabrillo Lighthouse, Whale Watching, Fishing, Diving. Kayaking, Horseback Rides, Museums, Mendocino Art Center, Mendocino Music Festival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Coast Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Inn And Spa
Coast Motel Fort Bragg
Coast Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing