We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than we expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
North Cliff Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better than we expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We booked on a special, based on the views in the advertisements.
The room - clean, spacious, comfortable furniture, GREAT view from the window and the balcony. Nice little fridge and microwave, large flat screen TV. Real coffee maker that accepts real filters and coffee (we always bring our own). Nice amenities: robes, big towels for the spa-tub and the gas fireplace. Free WiFi worked well and broadband was fairly fast.
The staff: helpful and friendly.
Minor problems: The binder had instructions for the "VCR" - it has a Blu-Ray player. We figured out how to get it to work, (probably would have been faster to call and ask). Instructions need to be updated. There was half-and-half in the fridge but we didn't know it - first time we've had that - would be nice to have a little sign to tell us.

And we liked the fog horn...

Room Tip: An upper story room would have an even better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
I'm very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! We do provide some amazing amenities. Our goal is to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.

Thank you for your feedback on the guest book. We will definitely update the instructions for the Blu-ray player.

I appreciate you taking the time to send your comments. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sharon Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    203
    51
    25
    19
See reviews for
70
424
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Nice place..great rooms. Needs better parking., if you arrive in evening, tough to find a place to park. The breakfast is weak, more variety of pastries. Front desk ladies could not have been better. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed the rooms and I will be sure to share your feedback with the front desk staff!

We are currently working on expanding our parking. Thank you for your feedback on the breakfast selection. We try to have a variety for everyone but it's difficult to please everyone!

I hope to see you again!

Sharon Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

The newly remodeled rooms are fabulous and the views can't be beat. Sitting on the private balcony watching the sunset is magical. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Love the new breakfast served upstairs with many choices from hard boiled eggs, waffles, oatmeal, cereals yogurt and more. Thumbs up to all the new changes and additions and with TravelZoo deals a great value. Will be back soon.

Room Tip: All rooms great but higher floors have better views. No elevators and lots of stairs so be ready for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
It was so nice to welcome you to the North Cliff again! I'm so happy that you liked all of the changes we've made. We're very proud of how the remodel came out. We'll look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sharon Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

My wife took advantage of a special offer for a short "get-away". Our room was spacious, well-appointed and the gas fireplace made for a "cozy" atmosphere while watching the pounding surf on a stormy day. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful with information. A complaint, beyond the hotel control, is that the fog horn off the coast sounded about every 30 seconds throughout the day and night. Closing the sliding door muffles the sound of the horn but then you lose the soothing sound of the surf. In the future, this will be my first choice of accommodations when I head to Ft. Bragg.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
I'm so glad that you enjoyed our newly remodeled rooms. I will pass your comments along to the front desk staff as they pride themselves on making our guests feel welcome and comfortable.

Thank you for choosing the North Cliff as your first choice in Fort Bragg! We will look forward to your next visit.

Sharon Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Vista, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We have absolutely no complaints. The remodel of this hotel is a complete success. The rooms look beautiful, clean and provide any amenity you could ask for. The view is stunning and sitting on the balcony watching the boats come in and out with a hot cup of coffee each morning was delightful! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We thought the continental breakfast was more than adequate and tasty. We will be back every year to celebrate my birthday at this hotel and who knows maybe a time or two in between!!

Room Tip: This photo is the view from our room #107. Spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 823sallyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Wow! I'm so pleased that you had a fabulous stay with us!

Thank you for your comments. We're very excited about the remodel, it was a lot of work but we also think the rooms came out beautifully!

We'll look forward to seeing you again for your birthday trip (and hopefully sooner!).

Thank you for staying with us.

-Sharon Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

After reading the reviews in the terrible section I have to say it was not that bad.
However, when I made my reservation I read that parking was limited and I would be assigned a parking spot. After checking in I asked about the parking since my husband has a medical disability. She took me to the window and showed where I was to park. For two nights when we arrived back to the hotel our parking space was used. The second night we had to park on the check in level. I was told upon checkout that they were full the night before and did not have enough parking. What happened to my parking space I was assigned.?
The rooms have been renovated and they where very nice. We had a dog friendly room. The one chair did smell, however, we care spray with us. Very nice to provide juice. Even though we were on the bottom floor and under the bridge we could not hear any noise and no one was sleeping under the bridge.
I would stay again only if I was guaranteed a second floor room and I had a assigned parking space.

Room Tip: Ask for the second level. This is where the cars park. Don't stay out late. You won't get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I appreciate it.

I apologize for the confusion on the parking. We do not assign parking spaces and guests can park anywhere they like. I'm very sorry if that was not made clear when you checked in.

Our remodel is now complete and all rooms have brand new furniture and carpet.

I hope we will see you again the next time you visit the coast!
-Sharon Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I am reviewing this stay as not to expectations. The main reason I booked through Trip Advisor was due to the many positive reviews and feedback from others. Our stay however, was not as fortunate. When we checked in, the room temperature was 78 degrees (in January). I called the front office thinking that there must air conditioning units, but there were none – only a box fan. I don’t know, perhaps A/C is not typical for on the coast units and I haven’t stayed there in the summer. The sofa and chairs showed their age as they were visibly soiled, stained and not very comfortable. The continental breakfast was rather basic and juices quite watery.

To end on a positive note, the view is wonderful, the bathroom and carpet was very clean. The staff was friendly and check-in/out process was fast and easy. Sorry North Cliff - all said and done, this stay was no more pleasurable than a middle of the road chain hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments. I appreciate your valuable feedback. We have just finished a complete remodel of the entire property. All rooms have elegant new furniture and carpet. I encourage you to view the new photos here on Tripadvisor.

I hope you will visit us again and give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
-Sharon Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
2.3 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.4 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#8 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.8 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cliff Hotel

Property: North Cliff Hotel
Address: 1005 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — North Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding Ocean View Suites with gas fireplace, balcony and complimentary hot breakfast served in upstairs dinning room. Enhance your stay by booking one of our Spa Suites. The North Cliff Hotel is the perfect place to enjoy boats entering and leaving the harbor, waves crashing upon the cliffs, and the sunsetting over the Pacific Ocean. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your North Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Cliff Fort Bragg
Hotel North Cliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing