We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An awesome overnight Getaway”
Review of North Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
North Cliff Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeport, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An awesome overnight Getaway”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed in the Luxury King Suite with a Jetted Tub. we absolutely Loved it!! They provide nice luxurious robes for in room use. Beautiful Ocean views it was just overall Amazing. We did not have the Continental Breakfast because we were enjoying the room to much to even go get it, haha. Overall we have decided to make it a yearly excursion. It is a very Romantic place and just Amazing views from the balcony and bathtub. All you see is the Ocean. Priceless!!!!

Room Tip: The King Luxury Suite we had was like our own studio apartment, it was very hard to leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coral g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We're just thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay and have decided to make it a yearly getaway! We'll look forward to seeing you again next year. Thank you for choosing the North Cliff!
-Sharon Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    206
    51
    26
    19
See reviews for
72
430
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with girlfriend. We had the top suite over looking ocean with gas fireplace and hot tub. Nice balcony. Breakfest was good..but @1030 they cut off the power ending the breskfest time. Kinda tacky. Overall a romantic room we would stay here again

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sixpack069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send your valuable feedback. I apologize for the power outage in our breakfast room. The circuit tripped and cut the power momentarily. I hope you will visit us again. We are also remodeling so the next time you stay with us we will have all new carpet and furniture. Thank you for staying at the North Cliff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, California
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a getaway weekend. Room had a great view of the ocean and was quiet. Breakfast was nice. Coffee was good. Overall we were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness & location of the hotel. We would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronAa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are in the middle of a complete remodel so the next time you stay with us we will have all new carpet, paint and furnishings. We are very excited. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This place had a couple of reviews that scared me. So glad I didn't let it stop us. Breakfast was fannnnnntastic!!! We had a great time, great service, biiiiiiig rooms, best of all and mosssssst importantly CLEAN. Yeah so what, the rooms are little outdated. Jacuzzi tub and the view makes up for alllllll that! Ohhhh and the fog horn?? Barely can hear it!! Ok... If it still bothers you, go to Safeway down the street and buy some earplugs. Problem solved. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JnMBauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. We appreciate the feedback. I'll be sure to pass your feedback on to the housekeeping staff. They work very hard! I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concow, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The experience was great, there was no mold anywhere, very clean, spacious rooms, friendly staff, view was exceptional from our room, variety breakfast menu, we stayed in Nov. over Thanksgiving, very quiet, the price was good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corinewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again when you visit Fort Bragg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We recently stayed at the North Cliff Hotel and I would not recommend this to anyone. The rooms are in major need of repair and refurbishing. The only thing great about it was the view. Out of all the places that we have stayed in Fort Bragg I would fully recommend the Beachcomber. The staff there is so much nicer than at the North Cliff. We had an issue with our room and the manager didn't seem like she really wanted to help us. The girl at the front desk's boyfriend was hanging out in the lobby that looked really unattractive. The breakfast that they offer upstairs isn't all that great either. I will not ever come back to the North Cliff. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: All the rooms have good views with fireplaces. That's all. Not worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
I am so sorry that you were not happy with your recent visit. We are in the middle of a complete remodel and will have all new carpet and furniture in every room. I encourage you to call me directly at 1-888-962-2550 to discuss your experience here.
Sharon Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were here in September for a quick get-away. This is our 2nd time to stay here and we love it. The beds are fine and the peaceful location with a view of the Mendocino coast and a fireplace along with the jacuzzi tub... awesome. We came for a much needed break after my Mom had passed and always find a bit of Peace here on the Coast. The room comes equipped with a stocked fridge w/ free breakfast food and beverages. Although I am a gluten free person my partner loved His pastry and muffins. I love the sound of the buoys in the Ocean at the mouth of the Noyo River. It was a nice friendly environment and we get great customer service from the wonderful folks who run this place. We love to hike and explore the area so we do not spend much time in our room. Overall we look forward to our next trip up here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
I'm so glad to hear that you had such a pleasant stay and thank you for choosing the North Cliff for your much needed getaway! I hope to see you again soon on your next trip to the Mendocino Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
2.3 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.4 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
2.3 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cliff Hotel

Property: North Cliff Hotel
Address: 1005 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — North Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding Ocean View Suites with gas fireplace, balcony and complimentary hot breakfast served in upstairs dinning room. Enhance your stay by booking one of our Spa Suites. The North Cliff Hotel is the perfect place to enjoy boats entering and leaving the harbor, waves crashing upon the cliffs, and the sunsetting over the Pacific Ocean. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your North Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Cliff Fort Bragg
Hotel North Cliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing