We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Romantic Peaceful Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
North Cliff Hotel
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Kelseyville, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Romantic Peaceful Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very nice and relaxing hotel. Zacuzzi tub, fireplace, bubbles and even comfy robes are provided. Nice private balcony facing the ocean with great views to watch the sunset. Have been here a few times and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funNcancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again at the North Cliff very soon!
-Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    187
    47
    25
    19
See reviews for
66
390
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cloverdale, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We are sitting in our room right now! When you arrive, you walk in to two fantastic views..a large window and sliding doors leading to a cute, private deck. It was breathtaking! We just got back from a wonderful dinner, also. Very attentive waiter and wait staff. The food was a tad expensive, but we have NO complaints...none. Why didn't we give it a five star...simple...although nicely appointed, the furnishings need updating...they are clean and comfortable, but...it's time to upgrade! We have NO complaints and plan to come back! Thank you for a quiet, relaxing panoramic view and good time!

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view...when booking, you might want a room with a jacuzzi...we didn't mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us your valuable feedback! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Your comfort is important to us and we hope to make some updates to the rooms in the near future. We look forward to seeing you at the North Cliff Hotel again soon!
-Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

How can you tell if you really love your hotel room?
If you ask for checkout time extension (and get it), and then when the time comes, you are still there, begging the cleaning lady to come later :-)
What other reviewers wrote about the hotel being on a highway is true, and it really does not look promising when you approach your room. But once my wife and I went in, we forgot it all! The room (with a tub) looks even better than the Tripadvisor photo. The tub with the fireplace and window to the ocean is amazing. I just enjoyed sitting there there and gazing at the ocean waves for hours. The room is very spacious. The bed is good.
The breakfast is really just a tray with some food stored on the night before - we found it the only downside. Not so appetizing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MosheO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We also appreciate your valuable feedback on the breakfast we provide in your room. We strive to exceed our guests' expectations and are always looking for ways to improve.
-Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel is on a freeway; it's cheap and noisy and across from a strip mall. I bought two nights on Travelzoo for $270 and am checking out early to stay at the Mendocino Hotel. Definitely not worth it, even at a discounted rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank SLSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
I'm very sorry that our property didn't meet your expectations. While we are situated on the highway, the rooms are well insulated and quiet. We hope to see you again if you visit Fort Bragg in the future.
-Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el cerrito, california
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The North Cliff Hotel is located in Fort Bragg, the largest town on the scenic coast road between San Francisco and Eureka. It is a 15 minute drive north of the cute, touristy, and substantially more expensive town of Mendocino. It is also arguably the best hotel in town, with expansive views of the Pacific Ocean from almost every room. The rooms have a small balcony fronting the sea; to the left is Noyo Bay, where the Noyo River exits to the seas. The marina is on the Noyo River a bit upstream. There is easy parking.

Some of the rooms have hot tubs. All rooms have Wi-Fi, as well as a gas-fired fake-log fireplace, which was very nice. That is, if it works. Ours worked some of the time. In the morning, when everybody in the building turns on their fireplaces to ward off the morning chill, ours didn’t work. I suspect it has to do with the location. I presume that in our room, the gas pressure was so low, it didn’t activate the gas valve. But later in the morning, when everybody else had their rooms heated up, ours would turn on. There was no point of complaining to the reception; they don’t understand, because if they waited long enough before sending over a repairman, the oven will turn on when he comes in to check. And they will think we are just daft.

The rooms are large; ours was about 1000 sq feet, including dressing area and bathroom. Breakfast was in the refrigerator; it consisted of a scone, croissant and large cupcake, which you heat yourself in the microwave supplied. There were also fruits, bottled water, and orange juice, as well as cheese and marmalade. It was pretty good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the heater will work early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ploddinghappily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback about the fireplace. We will definitely look into that. We hope to see you again at the North Cliff Hotel!
-Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My friend and I stayed on a Thursday and Friday evening on a travel zoo certificate that also included a $50 dinner coupon for the Cliff House Restaurant adjacent to the hotel. Our room was lovely, the continental breakfast was perfect as well as the juices included. I was surprised at how quiet it was! Nice views of the ocean and the fireplaces and terry cloth robes were a nice touch. I would make this a regular yearly stay when going back to Fort Bragg....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jannylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCliffHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed out hotel and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here two nights in January. The inn was running a promotion which was an excellent bargain. Our room was large and comfortable, with a terrific ocean view. The staff was very friendly. Enjoyed the complementary breakfast platter and paper each the morning. The entrance and exit are tight for your car, and parking can be a bit tricky, but these were minor issues and really not a problem. We definitely enjoyed our stay and highly recommend the North Cliff is you are staying in Fort Bragg.

Room Tip: Don't worry about what floor you are on, they all have an excellent view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bewickwren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCliffHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed out hotel and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
2.3 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
2.3 mi away
Surf and Sand Lodge
Surf and Sand Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cliff Hotel

Property: North Cliff Hotel
Address: 1005 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — North Cliff Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding Ocean View Suites with gas fireplace, balcony and complimentary hot breakfast served in upstairs dinning room. Enhance your stay by booking one of our Spa Suites. The North Cliff Hotel is the perfect place to enjoy boats entering and leaving the harbor, waves crashing upon the cliffs, and the sunsetting over the Pacific Ocean. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your North Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Cliff Fort Bragg
Hotel North Cliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing