We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”
Review of North Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
North Cliff Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our trip to this hotel could not have been any better. I had high expectations based on pictures on the internet and previous reviews, and they surpassed every single one. The room was perfect and had everything we needed. The breakfast provided was just enough for the two of us, had lots of variety, and it was so great to be able to wake up at our leisure and enjoy it in the room while reading the complimentary newspaper! Big coffee mugs, wine glasses (great idea!), water glasses, and bottles of juice and water in the fridge were all provided. The hot tub was so relaxing and was an amazing place to watch the sunset. The balcony was the perfect place to enjoy lunch. And my favorite thing was being able to fall asleep to the sounds of the harbor. I would go back to North Cliff Hotel in a second and will absolutely recommend it to anyone I know heading up to the Fort Bragg/Mendocino area. This trip was my first time to the area and I loved it. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friendlygnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCliffHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your travel needs. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    208
    51
    28
    19
See reviews for
74
438
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We purchased a TravelZoo package to stay two nights at the North Cliff Hotel in Fort Bragg. A bargain and a super pleasant experience rolled together!
It was a spectacular experience! The location is outright stunning with the hotel perched on the cliff overlooking the inlet to the Fort Bragg harbor.
Think Monterey/Pacific Grove coastline.. This EASILY matches that and I think exceeds it.

It's a fairly small hotel and was very quiet. The rooms are well appointed and each has its
own balcony with the best view you could ask for. Staff was extremely courteous and the rooms were well maintained.

The restaurant associated with the hotel is called the Cliff house and is perched exactly
across the channel from the hotel.. an easy and very safe walk across the bridge on the main street.The food at the restaurant was excellent with a stunning sunset view.

Hotel has tons of amenities. Free drinks in the fridge, plush robes .Free and fresh
continental breakfast is waiting for you in the fridge the night before so you can sleep in
and wake up and have food and coffee at your pace, not the staff's! Our room at a two person jet tub. Ahhhh! Swivel mounted TV means you can sit at the sofa or point it full view and watch from bed...nice!

Small complaints:
Parking area is a bit narrow but there is room to back up and get out okay.
Recycling cans near the ice machine were overly full and should have been taken away more frequently.

The overall experience was absolutely excellent. Stunning views, quiet uncrowded location, friendly staff and very comfortable rooms with great food nearby. We are definitely going back and highly recommend this place. We stay at lots of really nice hotels all over the state. This is definitely one of the nicest.

Room Tip: get the king suite with jet tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank El9100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCliffHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your patronage is greatly appreciated and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Rooms are large and beautiful. Hotel (like most in area) is right on Hwy 1, so ask for a room away from the road. Beautiful views of harbor and ocean, so you can watch ships come in/out and whales out in distance. Great balconies on all rooms, large rooms, clean, nice. We had 2 adults and 2 two year olds and the room was just perfect, they could run around and play and we could lie on beds exhausted.
The breakfast they leave in your fridge, and it is really really good scones, crossiants, and muffins from a excellent local bakery. It was really lovely to stay in room and watch ocean / boats in front of fire while eating breakfast.
Only reason not 5 stars is I felt the beds could have been more comfortable and the pillows were really flat. But it is clean, and lovely, and we will be back.

Room Tip: ask for one away from hwy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orbital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCliffHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Got a good deal for 2 thru travelzoo which also included dinner at the nearby North Cliff restuarant and 2 tickets to the botannical garden. We had a nice jacuzzi room with a great view. Room was spacious and had a gas fireplace as well. Nice little continental breakfast was left for us in the frig. each morning. Friendly, helpful hotel front desk - good choice at decent price!

Room Tip: Book room on second floor or top floor - watch for deals on Travelzoo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TruGrits1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCliffHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

As many have mentioned, the views from the rooms are top notch! We were on the second floor (definitely heard some heavy footsteps but not too terrible) and the jacuzzi hot tub + view were wonderful. The fireplace keeps the room quite warm and provides a romantic atmosphere. The decor is a bit dated and my biggest piece of feedback would be to get rid of the 80s comforters, and replace them with down alternative comforters. That would easily freshen the place up. The furniture is probably a bit more expensive to replace so it didn't bother me too much though the couches did look pretty worn. On the positive side, the room is extremely spacious.
In room amenities also include refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker + coffee, safe, hair dryer, and plush robes! Loved the breakfast platter, thought that was a nice touch. The towels are very nice and fluffy, not like the chain hotels. Foghorn didn't bother us too much but had to keep the door closed as it was the winter! Bed felt worn and could probably use an upgrade as well. Great atmosphere though and again, the view really makes it special.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sharkchompsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCliffHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your patronage and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Fort Bragg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The rooms were nice I loved the view. The hot tub was great as well. The fog horn took a little getting used to. But my husband forgot our phone charger so we went back. I waited for over 20 minutes in the parking lot to speak with someone. Finally some teenage twit appears with her boyfriend. She was rude & huffy with no interest in helping me. Finally she looked through a box of phone chargers and tried to give me someone else's forgotten charger. Did I mention as this twit was getting the chargers that her disgusting dingy pink thong underwear were hanging out of her pants?! Very classy. So as I said the rooms were nice but who knows what said twit was doing away from the front desk for so long with her boyfriend. Getting paid for doing two jobs simultaneously? Perhaps some new staff is in order. I realize it was our fault for leaving the charger in the first place, but wow I really expected better treatment than what we received!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelyladys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCliffHotel, General Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property and I am sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with our staff. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we strive for excellent customer service and will definitely look into this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I am so glad that I ended up getting a travel voucher for this hotel because I don't know that I would have chosen this hotel without it. I would absolutely go back and pay full price! The views are amazing and the way the hotel is situated every room has a great view. The rooms are large and warm with the fireplaces. The furniture is dated, but it would seem weird if they had modern furniture in that area...and it's still comfortable. I wasn't sure about the location, but it's only a few minutes into Mendocino and it's really close to the Botanical Gardens, Russian Gulch, and some really good restaurants in Fort Bragg. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful. The tray of breakfast goodies and drinks was very nice to have in the morning and it's the perfect setting to have a glass of wine on the patio and watch the sunset in the evening. We slept with the patio door cracked open so we could hear the foghorn and the water...I may be weird but I find that sound relaxing!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aknoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCliffHotel, Public Relations Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
2.3 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
428 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.9 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
305 reviews
2.3 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
331 reviews
1.8 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cliff Hotel

Property: North Cliff Hotel
Address: 1005 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — North Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding Ocean View Suites with gas fireplace, balcony and complimentary hot breakfast served in upstairs dinning room. Enhance your stay by booking one of our Spa Suites. The North Cliff Hotel is the perfect place to enjoy boats entering and leaving the harbor, waves crashing upon the cliffs, and the sunsetting over the Pacific Ocean. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your North Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Cliff Fort Bragg
Hotel North Cliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing