We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A breath of fresh air on our coast trip”
Review of North Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
North Cliff Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, CO
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air on our coast trip”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

After a series of "average" hotels driving down the Oregon and California coastline, we were really looking forward to the North Cliff as a break of luxury...and it absolutely was. Beautiful room, great amenities and service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AuroraDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCliffHotel, Public Relations Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing the North Cliff Hotel, we appreciate your review and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope you stay with us on your next trip to Fort Bragg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    209
    52
    28
    19
See reviews for
77
440
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
CHICO
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Got a deal on line for hotel, botanical gardens, and $50 dinner voucher to Cliff House across the bridge. Came with a bottle of wine. We loved the view from our room! When we arrived, the room was like 80 degrees and the rooms have no A/C. We were told to open the slider to the patio and open our hotel room door to get the cool air to flow through it. Uh, hello? it's a "romantic" weekend, we aren't gonna leave the door propped open! So we left the patio slider open and had to leave the room for a few hours to let it cool down. Once the evening came, we were nice and cool. I would recommend asking the maids to not leave the curtains open. I left a note for them to keep the curtains closed so it wouldn't be so hot when we came back to the room in the afternoon. It helped. Only weird thing was that they left your breakfast in the fridge the night before so you really don't have a choice of what you get. I'm used to going to a lobby for the continental breakfast. I am diabetic so I couldn't most of what they gave us. Also, a pet peeve is that the balcony is close to the next room's and if someone smokes and you have your slider open, the smoke comes into your room. It's supposedly no smoking, even on the balcony, but people were still doing it...total bummer when you're trying to enjoy the fresh sea breeze...There's no beach access so if you want something closer that you can walk to this isn't the place for you.

Room Tip: Check their websites to check out the view from each room. We really wanted a room with a jacuzzi tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LISA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCliffHotel, Public Relations Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

After a long drive up California Highway 1 from San Francisco, we stopped at the North Cliff and were VERY pleased with our stay. Everything from the friendly check in to checkout was first class. The room was beautifully appointed and spacious with a fireplace, king bed, palatial bathroom and balcony with a breathtaking ocean view. The amenities were amazing. Dinner across the harbor inlet at the Cliff House restaurant was good, but a bit disappointing and not up to the excellent meals enjoyed there previously. Maybe just an off night, or maybe they need to be prodded to get back to former excellence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCliffHotel, Public Relations Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I loved this hotel. We had a jacuzzi room on the 2nd floor, and it was great. Fireplace, first class view, a very large room, and a variety of amenities that included a loaded breakfast tray left in the fridge upon arrival, bathrobes, wine glasses, a dvd player, and daily newpaper delivery.
Interior is a little dated, but very very clean... even the outside deck furniture was spotless. No air conditioning, and as we were there in the first week of Sept, it was warm. However, I was able to cool the room in about 5 minutes by opening the front door and the deck slider, so the room temp was never an issue.
This place was a nice suprise and l will be going back for another visit next year.

Room Tip: all rooms have great views, but there are many stairs and no elevater. Wasn't a problem for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judahjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCliffHotel, Public Relations Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and look forwarded to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTac, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

After reading the reviews I was disappointed with my experience. If you are traveling during warm weather please note this hotel does not have any air conditioning. The room has a large flat screen TV but the remote control does not work on the TV. While checking in the desk clerk recommended the Cliff House restrauant next door. After driving through town looking for a place to eat we decided to go to the Cliff House. That was a huge mistake!!!!! The clerk told us we could get 50% off our drinks if we paid in the bar and 15% off of the food. We did not get any discounts after letting them know we where staying here. The service was awful. We finally ordered a sandwich to split and brought it back to the room. The waiter dropped it off and said that they were out of bags so we had to carry several food items back to the room without a bag. For the price of the room I was expecting more for the money. I would not recommend the restraunt or the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCliffHotel, Public Relations Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am sorry you did not like the experience with our hotel, and understand your frustration.

Happy Hour at the Cliff House Bar is all night and when you order drinks at the bar you automatically receive 50% off, I am sorry our front desk staff did not explain this properly and we will inform all our desk staff on the specials of the restaurant and how to present them.

Unfortunately most of the hotels in Fort Bragg are not equipped with air conditioning because our weather stays in the lower 70's all summer long, and upon request we can offer a box fan for your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The North Cliff Hotel is located right on the main street and has gorgeous views of the Pacific. You have amenities which make the stay very comfortable: bathrobes, a walk-in, closed-door shower (and really quality toiletries by Bath & Body Works). The refrigerator is filled with great stuff: croissants, See's candy, scones, fruit, juice. The balconies overlook the ocean. You can walk to nearby restaurants, stores, or make a drive without much bother.
I would definitely recommend this place. Worth the money. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: If you want a view, you can get it from any floor. We were on the lowest level, while our friends we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCliffHotel, Public Relations Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and look forwarded to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

What a nice surprise after a drive up through Napa. Very clean, friendly, romantic hotel. The ocean view with the jacuzzi and fireplace is amazing.

I was a bit worried by the inconsistency of some of the other reviews. This is a very nice hotel at a reasonable rate. I would highly recommend for a romantic night stay.

The associated restaurant is overpriced with poor food quality. Make a different choice for a truly perfect evening.

Room Tip: Fireplace & Jacuzzi tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CayenneinAlpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCliffHotel, Public Relations Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
2.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.9 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
336 reviews
1.8 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#13 of 23 in Fort Bragg
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cliff Hotel

Property: North Cliff Hotel
Address: 1005 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — North Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding Ocean View Suites with gas fireplace, balcony and complimentary hot breakfast served in upstairs dinning room. Enhance your stay by booking one of our Spa Suites. The North Cliff Hotel is the perfect place to enjoy boats entering and leaving the harbor, waves crashing upon the cliffs, and the sunsetting over the Pacific Ocean. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your North Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Cliff Fort Bragg
Hotel North Cliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing