We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
North Cliff Hotel
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

What a nice surprise after a drive up through Napa. Very clean, friendly, romantic hotel. The ocean view with the jacuzzi and fireplace is amazing.

I was a bit worried by the inconsistency of some of the other reviews. This is a very nice hotel at a reasonable rate. I would highly recommend for a romantic night stay.

The associated restaurant is overpriced with poor food quality. Make a different choice for a truly perfect evening.

Room Tip: Fireplace & Jacuzzi tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CayenneinAlpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCliffHotel, Public Relations Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    203
    51
    25
    19
See reviews for
70
424
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I spent a weekend here to de-stress and we were not disappointed! The view, the peaceful lull of the ocean waves and the fresh smell of the salt air were healing. Our room looked just as the photo above. Nice fire going in the fireplace and a jacuzzi with a glass (or two) of excellent champagne helped make this a relaxing weekend. Yes, we will go back.

Room Tip: My husband booked a corner room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetieJ2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCliffHotel, Public Relations Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and look forwarded to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gualala, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the North Cliff House. We've been to Fort Bragg hundreds of times but decided to stay close to home for a 50th birthday night. We loved our room overlooking the harber. The price, especially with AAA was very reasonable. The staff was friendly and helpful with a special order I made. We got a discount for the Cliff House for dinner which was also wonderful. We will definitely stay at the North Cliff House again. Beautiful location and very comfortable.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor which gave us the high domed ceilings. We also had a fire place in our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pakevti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

How nice to sit in our hot tub and look out at the ocean. Our room was on the ocean side and we felt like we were sitting on a cliff. I guess we were. We had fire place next to the hot tub, so we could watch a fire while sipping on our wine and snacking on our bits. The rooms are not updated, but you could tell they were beautiful for the time they were built, but the rooms were very clean. There is nothing like hearing the ocean waves. Would recommend for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteB694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Carpets are dirty place is in need if some serious work. Contential breakfast was stale and banana was growing. It's about a three star place. No pool or anything else. Just a room. Nasty bed cover a little better than super eight. Great view! Other than that would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrConstruction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmett, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our room was on the second floor and when we looked straight down from our balcony we saw a large dirt hole in the ground. BUT, when we soaked in our plenty-big-enough-for-two jacuzzi we could look out at the ocean and hear the fog horn and smell the surf and it was lovely. We left our balcony window open and could see the beautiful ocean from our bed and slept great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Don't listen to the negative reviews! You can't beat this hotel for the price. The room was well-kept, clean, spacious, and comfortable, and the view of the Pacific was spectacular. Many of the hotels, motels and B&Bs in this area are dirty, run-down dives that don't have the ocean views they claim. North Cliff Hotel was a pleasant surprise, and lived up to the description on their website. The in-room continental breakfasts and Bath & Body Works toiletries were nice touches. The staff was also friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
2.3 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.4 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#8 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.8 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cliff Hotel

Property: North Cliff Hotel
Address: 1005 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — North Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding Ocean View Suites with gas fireplace, balcony and complimentary hot breakfast served in upstairs dinning room. Enhance your stay by booking one of our Spa Suites. The North Cliff Hotel is the perfect place to enjoy boats entering and leaving the harbor, waves crashing upon the cliffs, and the sunsetting over the Pacific Ocean. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your North Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Cliff Fort Bragg
Hotel North Cliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing