We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Restaurant”
Review of North Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
North Cliff Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2011

My wife and I spent our second anniversary at the North Cliff Hotel and it was wonderful. It was very romantic. We had a Sauna room that overlooked the ocean which was an amazing view. We were able to enjoy the ocean view from the sauna. The hotel staff was very nice and welcoming. Larry and Jessica made our stay at the hotel very joyful. The Cliff House restaurant is next to the hotel and their staff was great as well. They gave us a chocolate moose cake that was very good. Tom was our waiter and he was very funny. Relaxation, romance, a beautiful view, and great dining what more can you ask for. Thank you North Cliff Hotel for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ayayog a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
There are newer reviews for North Cliff Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 623 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2011

We needed a weekend on the coast and found them through LivingSocial. We loved everything about this place... Friendly staff, clean rooms, AMAZING views of the sea, location, value/rate.. We will definitely be returning here soon. Tip: Go to Piaci's for pizza, best pizza Ive had in years.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sr108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

I bought this room through Living Social. After I made the reservation I read some not so good reviews and became scared as I was bringing a romantic partner and hoped I was not going to be disapointed. First, I do not know where all the negative comments could have come from. This hotel is one of the BEST HOTELS I HAVE EVER STAYED IN and that includes timeshares as well! Friendly and accomidating staff from the person who took my reservation, check in, and the maid! The room was FABULOUS! Great view of the harbor and ocean from the bed, the blacony, and the fireplace. In fact the only time I couldnt see the ocean was when I walked to the sink and bathroom which by the way was very nice, great shower! Loved hearing the soft fog horn and bouy chimes mixed with the sounds of the waves and fishing boats. If I closed the slidingdoor to the balcony I could not hear any noise. We however, chose to leave the door open even a little just so we could hear the sounds. Now for the sto ked refrigerator. Really? Someone actually complained about this? The refrigerator is medium size and had room after being stocked for our purchases as well. The fruit juices and waters(all full size) were restocked ever day. The breakfast provided was more than enough and we always had aome left over to take with us to the beach or on our sightseeing drive for a nice snack. Some hotels/motels offer "a cooked breakfast" which consists of waffels you have to make yourself and cold ceral and packaged danishes and small cups for oj. This breakfast consisted of a LARGE muffin, two scones, two cheeses, an apple, two tangerines, a large crossiant, three varieties of good jam, twoo full size bottles of water, and two full size fusion juices in glass containers, and two Sees chocolates! We purchased grapes from a local store and that was the only addition we made. Very yummy!! I will ALWAYS stay here when I return! In fact I might plan my next visit JUST SO I CAN STAY at the North Cliff Hotel. Next time I might reserve the jacuzzi room. :-)

Room Tip: Every room faces the ocean. No bad room/view that I could see.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trudi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The view was great, the location was awful. The Hotel was dirty and not very safe. Homeless people slept at night under the bridge, Garbage everywhere, We spent $600 for 2 rooms for 2 nights not worth it. It was not a "upscale" hotel by any means. The front desk "Manager" was very abrupt. We got the feeling "outsiders"not welcome.

To top it all off upon leaving my nine year old daughter asked the front desk "Manager" for a complementary juice for the road and she was told no...After spending all that money. Not good customer service. Never going there again,

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Elissa1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCliffHotel, Manager at North Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2012

Thank you for the review of our hotel. I would first like to apologize if you felt that outsiders are not welcome because we are a hotel and we cater to outsiders. The bridge you speak of is not part of our property and is not a reflection of our hotel, if you felt unsafe in any way we would be more than happy to call the police for any situation in that manner.
I believe the situation with your daughter was a communication error. We were unaware when she entered the office that she was your daughter and was checked out of our hotel. She asked if she could have a juice, and we asked if she was a guest staying in a room. Your daughter informed us that she was staying in the room so we said that we would make sure to stalk the refrigerator with juice, which we do on a daily basis, she then left our front office. If she had informed us that you were no longer staying at our hotel we would have supplied her with a juice. I am sorry for the misunderstanding, but had we known we would have accommodated her.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I took my husband here for a romantic weekend get away, expecting luxury for $225/night. The positives were: A gas fireplace, a two person jetted hot tub, a view of Noyo Harbor with a slight view of the ocean, a balcony, and a king bed. The negatives were: The gas fireplace was on a timer, and kept shutting off after 60 minutes, the view came with a fog horn that went off every couple of minutes, in order to see the ocean you had to stand on one side of the balcony and crane your neck, and the "free breakfast" was one croissant, one muffin, two baby bell cheeses and two bottles of Nectar juice, and the king bed was really hard and uncomfortable, and there weren't enough comforters or pillows. Again, for $225 per night, we were expecting a lot more, and were honestly disappointed. We will not be going there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This hotel is WAY too expensive for the amenities, location, and even the view. We had a 'top floor' room with a hot tub, fireplace, and king bed. The room was NOT on the top floor - they label room '309' right next to room '208'. Also, this hotel is perilously close to the highway, as in - you could probably jump from the end room to the highway and I bet you can hear it from there too. Oddly it is ranked high for 'romantic' on Trip Advisor - maybe because of the hot tub, which WAS nice - but I took my boyfriend here for his birthday and it looked kind of like a cheap, old [...] that cost $59 a night and not $250 a night. It was NOT the surprise wonderful place I was hoping for and I should have listened to the more negative reviews.
Let me address the claims about this place, one by one:

Breakfast delivered to room: cold tray of cheap food in fridge upon arrival.
Balcony: very small and cold.
Hot tub fireplace: really nice!
Room: 70's style bed with hideous pink cloth asymmetrical headboard, lumpy mattress, polyester comforter and too few pillows
Ocean View: muddy parking lot, levy, and bay view from the 'top floor', from the bottom I imagine it's more of 'mud pit view'.

Go here for: loud drunken tryst if you have a 2/3 off coupon
DON'T GO HERE FOR: nice romantic surprise get away unless you want to spend a lot of money and still look cheap!

Room Tip: Ask SPECIFICALLY for one on the top floor and FAR AWAY from the highway!!!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

All night long the fog horn screamed. The view is great. The balconies are too close. The rooms are of an 80's theme. Great amenities. But I need a good night sleep.

Room Tip: If you go stay on the west side far away from the highway. The spa tub is worth the splurge.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simmonsgottlieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
2.4 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
441 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.9 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
315 reviews
2.3 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
341 reviews
1.8 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cliff Hotel

Address: 1005 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range: $197 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding Ocean View Suites with gas fireplace, balcony and complimentary hot breakfast served in upstairs dinning room. Enhance your stay by booking one of our Spa Suites. The North Cliff Hotel is the perfect place to enjoy boats entering and leaving the harbor, waves crashing upon the cliffs, and the sunsetting over the Pacific Ocean. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your North Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Cliff Fort Bragg
Hotel North Cliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing