We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best. Crabcakes. Ever.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Restaurant

The Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 84 Restaurants in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best. Crabcakes. Ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We loved the food, and the staff & owners were friendly and kind. I will definitely be back that way again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueSkySal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    39
    16
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Caspar, California
Level Contributor
188 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A jewel of consistency and good taste”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Jim Larson opened this restaurant about the same time I opened mine, and here's the difference: he's a great restaurateur, and I'm a great eater. Thanksgiving Restaurant closed after 4 years, and Jim's still at it after almost 40 years.
I'm not saying he's never served a bad meal, but I'll set this restaurant up against any other for longevity and consistency due to one human. Jim comes from "restaurant people" and has that essential and unlearnable sixth sense it takes to make a restaurant survive and excel.
We always start with a bagna cauda, and pay careful attention when the specials are told. The oysters are wonderful, the blackened salmon superb. Jim takes great pride in using the tastiest, freshest ingredients.
While we wait, we love reviewing the Olaf Palm paintings on the walls.
The staff is lovely, a good balance of small town intimacy and serious good service.
Other restaurants on the Mendocino Coast are more pretentious and self-conscous; The Restaurant is authentic and reliably superb. Thank you, Jim, for being our Event Restaurant of Choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunhawk95420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have been enjoying The Restaurant for more than 30 years. Jim Larsen, the owner and chef, makes delicious, consistent food with fresh, quality ingredients. My personal favorites are the blackened rockfish and the various pastas of the day. The service is just right, there when you want something and otherwise out of sight. You can bring your family or a large group. Reservations are often helpful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DebraT26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were visiting Fort Bragg and tried this restaurant after reading all the rave reviews. We were not disappointed. Service was very good, very friendly and attentive but not bothersome and they were absolutely wonderful with children. They provided great activity pages, crayons and a very good kids menu. The food was excellent, even the children's dishes off of the children's menu were great. We especially liked the corn chowder and the crab cakes. The rockfish and prawns were delicious also. The food is all very fresh and they use many local ingredients.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GMCNAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cozy, friendly service, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Had pasta special, he had cheeseburger. Both tasty and satisfying. Iced tea wasn't our favorite, but all else awesome! And good local info from wait staff! All in all, a great stop!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cjmckendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Been to The Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing