We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homemade pasta”
Review of Mendo Bistro - CLOSED

Mendo Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Monterey, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Homemade pasta”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Large bleak upstairs dining room in a shared retail building. Food was quite good but service and presentation could be better. We would still probably go back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank abbiedax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    98
    43
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice gem in the middle of Fort Bragg”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I loved how all of the ingredients served at this place are all locally sourced. Decent NorCal beer selection on tap.
Note that they are only open for dinner for four hours a day (dinner only), so recommended you get there earlier than later.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Creative and delicious menu in small coastal town”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We took a road trip along the north coast of California and stayed in several beach towns. This restaurant was by far the best on our tour. I had a seared scallop appetizer with pea shoots and grilled strawberries -unusual pairing but it worked and was very tasty. My husband had a Caesar salad-great creamy dressing with polenta croutons. Each of us had pasta which is made in house-very tender and cooked perfectly. One dish had home made sausage, capers and a light tomato sauce; the other was cream and Parmesan mixture with shiitake "bacon". The latter were fresh shiitake mushrooms which had been sautéed until crispy with surprising bacony texture and taste.Great! Don't miss this place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Retatty67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Mendo Bistro has the top floor of an attractive classic post and beam building, the space
is open and airy with lots of glass.

The chef is creative. For example, the caesar salad has a touch of horseradish [just a touch] and cornmeal croutons - delicious. I had the ling cod, which was served with green peapods on
boiled onions with a reduction of beets. Delicious.

The service was prompt but not intrusive and the price was reasonable for fine dining, which this was.

It's on the main drag right next to the town hall. Try it - you'll like it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome, affordable date night”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We came here after being disappointed in the menu at the Northcoast Taproom and were not disappointed! The atmosphere was great, private tables, lots of light. We had great service, just the right amount of attention and she even let us try tastes of two different wines before we committed to a bottle! We had the crab cake app (yum), peppadelle pasta with crab sauce and the special pasta of the day (with scallops). The crab was awesome and scallops cooked perfectly. For dessert, we ended with the fried banana split. My husband enjoyed the banana more than I did, but the gelato was awesome. I would definitely come here next time we are in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mendo Bistro also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing