We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE Reliable Choice on the Mendocino Coast”
Review of Mendo Bistro - CLOSED

Mendo Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Sierra Foothills, CA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“THE Reliable Choice on the Mendocino Coast”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Simply one of the best combinations of food, relaxed atmosphere, service, price and attention to detail we have ever seen! Every server I've ever had has been hustling and concerned about all the customers at all times. A sign of very good management. Tables are widely spaced in this large open-space dining room, giving the experience a very relaxing vibe. The wine list is excellent, with an emphasis on local wines, and best of all- very, very reasonably priced. Everyone understands and cares about gluten-free dining, and I really appreciate that! This is our go-to option anywhere close to Ft. Bragg and Mendo, and I highly recommend it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevis15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    98
    43
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Food was very good, I had the grass fed filet mignon. Service was good, we went on a Tue evening & they were busy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paulalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We found this restaurant thanks to many positive user reviews and Mendo Bistro did not disappoint. Our party of four was seated immediately on a Saturday night! Located on the upper floor of a charming historic building, the food was absolutely delicious-- I recommend the risotto.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank puttopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, CA
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Don't Let The Sunset Articles On The Wall Fool You”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We went into Mondo Bistro very hungry after our trip up the coast. After visiting Yelp we saw many good reviews and thought we would give it a try. While walking up to the place we noticed lots of Sunset Magazine articles regarding their BBQ and Italian food so our mouths watered.

We got seated then got some bread. After waiting for a long time we got our food. I ordered the ribs. I love BBQ food and I am not picky at all. The ribs were so tough that I literally could not chew them apart with my teeth. I literally could not eat them at all. My kids ordered flat bread pizza. It was literally a paper thin piece of dough with sauce and bit of cheese. It was also about 4" x 8" in size. My guys looked up at me with a frown. They ate a couple bites then stopped! They did not like it as all! My wife ordered one of the pasta dishes and that was fine.

REALLY disappointed. Don't go here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnFromSantaClara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Consistently Delicious”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a very delicious and romantic restaurant in the heart of Fort Bragg. I would recommend arriving early because it inevitably gets packed so you can get a window seat. Also, take some extra time to browse the photo galleries downstairs. As for the food, a nice glass of wine and the Seared Sea Scallops with Corn-Chive Custard and a pasta main was perfect.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kasong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mendo Bistro also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing