We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Problems with Booking, Noisy and Poor Wi-Fi for Starters”
Review of Harbor Lite Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbor Lite Lodge
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Problems with Booking, Noisy and Poor Wi-Fi for Starters”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had stayed at the Harbor Lite Lodge before and really liked it. But this last trip had us cancelling our second night. It just wasn't the same.

First, things got off on the wrong foot when we showed up and the price quoted to us over the phone was wrong. We needed to pay more each night. Since we were there and had a good experience before, we decided to stay.

But things continued to go downhill. Our harbor view was essentially a trailer park below, but that really didn't matter. What did matter was the incessant creaking of the floor above. It was like a herd of elephants were on safari. Plus the average door apparently needed to be slammed, not gently closed.

It was then when you started to notice the little stuff, like the light switch to the bathroom is on the outside, but not within reach from the inside. So a late-night bathroom trip meant illuminating the entire room. The bathroom door also didn't close well, so that was noisy. But probably the biggest bathroom complaint was there wasn't a hair dryer in the room. It didn't bother me, but my wife was highly annoyed as she didn't pack one because I told her all motels have them nowadays.

Also, like others have mentioned, the Wi-Fi connections stink. Although there were a few throughout the motel area, none managed to connect for more than a minute or two. I have a Nexus 7 and it never has problems locking in. But it did here.

So the next morning we just left and went to the Surf Motel and Gardens where we had a nice experience.

One thing that will doom families is that the motel has a policy of not booking families with kids on the top floor. In theory, it is a good policy as you don't want a bunch of kids jumping up and down above you. But since the floors moan and creak with just adults walking around, even quiet families are stuck in a noisy room if the above floor is booked.

It's sad to say, but there are better choices in town.

Room Tip: Pick an upstairs room as the floors are noisy. If you have kids, you will be booked in a downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoyoteIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSH120, Owner at Harbor Lite Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We should have a fix on the wifi within a week (by 7-29-2013). We have one radio serving almost 70% of the total rooms and it's over capacity since people now bring multiple devices, rather than a single laptop (which has a stronger radio than a cell phone or tablet). We appreciate the changing use of technology and wireless devices.

If any guest feels like their rate is incorrect, they should let the office know and we'll explain or remedy the situation very quickly. In general, our rates do not change on a nightly basis so there must have been an error we would be happy to correct. Unfortunately, our children downstairs policy isn't perfect for everyone.

The other concerns are valid and unfortunately, not correctable. The light switches have always been on the outside of the bathroom door and yes, our building does creek... it's 40 years old this year and all wood construction.

The Surf Motel and Gardens is a good property if you're worried about building noise as they are a one story facility in a U shape, which is also easier to provide Wifi, although they do not have private balconies and views of Noyo Harbor. Our property definitely doesn't suit everybody, but we wish to accommodate everybody as best we can if they bring their concerns to our attention before departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    89
    35
    7
    5
See reviews for
48
103
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

this is an older motel with rooms facing a parking lot but a good value in a pricey area. We were here to attend the Mendocino music festival and did not want to pay Mendocino prices. We requested a room facing Noyo,harbour with a great view of all the fishing boats coming and going. It is fairly quiet but is close to a bridge and some traffic. Very close to harbor restaurants and many places to eat in Ft. Bragg. We shopped at a nearby Safeway and sat on the balcony with wine and cheese and enjoyed the view. Beds were comfortable and the room was clean. There is a modified breakfast with sweet rolls, hot oatmeal, fruit, cereal, etc. With a very good rate I recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lnlcris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Harbor Lite Lodge. The staff was friendly and can tell you great places to eat. They also will gladly tell you about the history of the town and great places to take pictures. They serve a good breakfast too.

The group I was traveling with stayed at other similarly price hotels and were not as satisfied as I was with the Harbor Lite Lodge.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with someone special get a room with a view. Since I was alone I chose a le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very clean rooms with great amenities. We had one over looking the marina with a nice view.
The only complaint was wifi did not reach our room so we enjoyed the view instead.
Coffee and light b-fast included in the AM.

Room Tip: Choose the ones overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaddyMakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSH120, Owner at Harbor Lite Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are making an effort improve our Wifi coverage. Could you please send me what room number you were in so we can get better information on how to improve it. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernley, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My mom and I had the opportunity to spend the fourth of July here and really enjoyed the view of the harbor, the fishing boats and the quiet.

The only drawback was having to contend with a group of Model A enthusiasts who consistently took over the common areas and were pretty much drunk all the time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solvang, California
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were traveling from southern Calif. north to the Pacific Northwest and unfortunately did not have air conditioning to help us survive the heat wave we encountered so thus changed our travel plan and headed to the coast instead. This all might have been fine but we failed to realize it was Fourth of July weekend...oops! After much searching for lodging we were SO lucky to find Harbor Lite!! We really could have not been happier and would definitely go back! The buildings are probably not brand new but nonetheless have a sort of timeless appeal -- a number of three story weathered wood structures perched right on the edge of a cliff overlooking the harbor where the mouth of the Noyo River meets the Pacific Ocean! When we drove up I was impressed with the overall look of the place and its attractive architecture and landscaping. The staff seemed friendly as did the other guests. The clientel appeared to be of good quality. Our room had lots of light from a large picture window and a nice balcony where one could look right down (and it was quite a distance down!) on the river and boat traffic below. We spent quite a bit of time watching the waterfront activity! The balcony also looked out on a parking lot and an assortment of commercial buildings below but that didn't seem to be a problem for us since the river was such a commanding attraction. The steep hillside between the lodge and the river was covered with lots of vegetation and wild flowers and very pretty. Our room exceeded my expectations and was very nicely and stylishly furnished. The bed linens were attractive and the king bed very comfortable. There was a large, stylized wooden fish sculpture on the wall which fit in very well thematically with Fort Bragg. The best part was the woodstove! I was thrilled to see it in our room and my husband and I enjoyed a nice evening cup of tea in front of a cheerily crackling fire! There was a metal tub filled with all the supplies to make the fire, and more wood outside if more was needed. If you like a real wood fire as much as I do then be sure to ask for a room with this feature! We walked down the somewhat rugged trail from the hotel to the river below to have dinner at Silver's at The Wharf. It was a totally interesting and delicious evening! We were lucky enough to be seated right by the window in the main dining room right behind the lounge so we sat and watched the harbor activity while dining! Our food was excellent and the staff and other guests super friendly! In the morning we walked across the bridge and across the street to the Pomo Bluffs Park which was WONDERFUL! We were so glad we had asked in the front office for a suggestion for our exercise walk and that this was where they directed us! The ocean views were beyond beautiful! NOT TO BE MISSED! There are no guard rails however so if you happen to have young children this may not be appropriate as the cliffs are high and sheer. Be sure and stay at the Harbor Lite if you like nature and something a little different -- you will love it! PS The only reason I did not rate this Excellent was that it was not the same experience as say a top resort hotel in Hawaii, but it really was a great experience so don't miss out when you visit Fort Bragg! You can also walk down the path and to the sand beach just under the bridge. GREAT LOCATION!

Room Tip: We really liked Room 122 (see above)! On the corner so only shared one side with another guest room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirl93463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. Our room was down several steps as the motel was built on a slope. The large room had two queen beds, armchair, desk, plenty of space to put away our things. There was a flat-screen tv, mini-fridge and microwave. Our small balcony had a great view of a parking lot, and we didn't use it at all, even though the weather was plxteasant.

Breakfast wasn't as extensive as in other places, but there was home-cooked oatmeal and waffles were made to order. Yogurt would have been nice.

The check-in clerk was rather surly, but the rest of the staff was very pleasant.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so you might want to avoid rooms on the second floor unless you don't mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeemavenswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.3 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
613 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
2.5 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
428 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Lite Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Lite Lodge

Property: Harbor Lite Lodge
Address: 120 N Harbor Dr, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbor Lite Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Harbor Lite Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbor Lite Hotel Fort Bragg
Harbor Lite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing