We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of The Q

The Q
Ranked #31 of 85 Restaurants in Fort Bragg
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: just opened (in April 2012?) at the south end of Fort Bragg on Highway 1. Attracting lots of interest.
Buckeye, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a good place to eat. Prices are a little on the high side but that's fort Bragg for you. The places is small and parking isn't the greatest bit the food made up for it. We had gotten the combo with 3 meats. The beef ribs were a little over done and dry but not enough to be inedible. Also had the brisket which was really good and the sausage had a really good flavor. Seating area is small but has a great view. Overall was a good place. We would go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    58
    20
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great BBQ - Worth Seeking Out”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Locals tell me that this place needs more people showing up. It's easy to miss and parking is a bit challenging, but make the effort. The barbecue is excellent and the surprise - oysters - really make the meal. They serve them 4 ways and the cajun ones are amazing. We had a pulled pork sandwich that, with the oysters, was enough for 2. 3 sauces are available to add that little kick you want. And you can enjoy some good beer with your Q. Check it out - it's south of the main drag of Ft. Bragg on the right if you are heading north.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not worth the expense”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was good food, but I nearly had a heart attack when the bill for 4 fish and chips and three soft drinks was over $50. It's a shack on the side of the road. I cannot fathom how it should cost so much.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank NorCal_Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BBQ? Eh1”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We went to this Que joint last weekend. I have been cooking barbeque for over ten years. I have always used an offset smoker with charcoal and hardwoods for the smoke. With the advent of computer controlled pellet smokers, anyone can cook que. This place proves the point.

We had a full portion of baby backs and a half order of beef ribs. Now these two designations are a bit confusing. When I cook ribs a full order is a complete rack. For these folks the difference between a full and half order is not the amount of ribs but that you get one side order with a half order and two side dishes with a full order.

The ribs are cooked with rub only. No sauce. No mop sauce. Nothing. This makes the ribs a little dry. The flavor is good but for my money there should be something to keep the ribs moist.

For sauce they offer it on the side. Memphis style, Carolina style or spicy tangy. These are served in thimble sized plastic cups that don't hardly afford enough sauce for two ribs let alone a half rack.

For sides we had the potato salad, mac and cheese and beans. The potato salad was bland. The mac and cheese was passable. But nothing more than just maccaroni and cheese. And the beans? Nope. Uh-uh. No way. The beans were chalky and the flavor was minimal.

The biggest kicker of all was the price. Half a rack of back ribs, TWO BEEF RIBS and three sides came to almost 45 dollars. That was with no drinks.

So all in all? Mediocre que cooked in a computerized smoker. Sides that were almost an after thought and prices that make you say WOW!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“A local's opinion”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Fort Bragg proper hasn't had a BBQ joint in a long time so this one is most welcomed....We have eaten here twice now (lunch & dinner) and it is all very tasty....The sides are just as enjoyable as the smokey meats...It is quite pricey for a dinner ordered at the counter, and served in a basket with paper liner though...Also the ambiance is a little on the rough side..Lots of take-out means a lot of doors opening and closing making it burr-cold inside..We had to wear our coats, indoors...The larger patio dining area has more seating with heaters on but the noisy traffic of Highway 1 is just a few feet away...Sorry, too full for dessert this time!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwoTeaTotalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Q also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Been to The Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing