We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No-frills bargain”
Review of Anchor Lodge Motel

Anchor Lodge Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchor Lodge Motel
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Grass Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“No-frills bargain”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a great stop for motorcyclists. Check out the rooms across the parking lot for even better deals. Downstairs rooms have two beds. Nothing fancy, but very clean, and a coffee pot in the room. Walk across the lot to the Wharf restaurant for great seafood. A large bar area features lots of tv screens for sports viewing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJSwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

After reading the reviews here, my husband and I decided to stay on a Saturday night while I was in town on business. The place is nestled in between all sorts of harbor delights, from fresh crab stands to the coast guard station, a little mexican restaurant that looks like it was put up just for the fishermen coming in off the boats. The best part of the place, by far, is it's proximity to the fishing boats and the balconies that hang over the harbor. The rooms are all on the bottom floor, under Silver's at the Wharf Restaurant (good food, nice people, fireplace in the bar!). So, if you're a light sleeper, ask for room 18, it's the furthest from the bar. We stayed on a weekend night and had no issue with excess noise. The only disturbance was the welcome sight of the fishing boats coming in late after a day out on the sea. They're really close and it's a sight to see!

As for the amenities, come prepared to fend for yourself. The rooms are sparse, with a refrigerator but no microwave. The bed was large and comfortable, and the heater works well. The bathroom was spacious, but only one of the electrical outlets worked. Bring your own hair dryer, soap, shampoo and conditioner, as the only product offered is a dispenser with multipurpose cleaner.

We were delighted with the price and the place. It was worth the money just for the novelty of experiencing the ocean and the industry, and waving at the fishermen from the bed! HA! Great service too (they let us have late check out for free! as there were no reservations for that room for the night). Will stay here again (with more supplies).

Room Tip: Rooms over the ocean are the only ones worth booking. Ask for room 18, or one close to it, as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

For the price... without the view...HELL NO!

This is RUSTIC. This is NOT a 5 star chain.

The price is high for what you get....

But I am paying for the view....not the room quality.

I LOVE LOVE LOVE my balcony...love the view, LOVE the proximity to the water.... This was perfection...

Cocktails above at the wharf, watch the sunset...did I mention that balcony....oh yes... and just leave the drapes open...watch the boats go by...what an great end and great start to a day :)

Room Tip: Get an end room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuiteExcursions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The rooms are Quite clean and neet. The bathrooms amply equiped and roomy. Service impecable and staff wonderful. I go to Noyo harbor for the ambieance of a small fishing village which is what it is. I love the small horn that sounds at the entrance to the river, the beach within walking distance the seals in the river the guls that will land on the balchony. It may not be a city dwellers cup of tea but what else do you go to a harbor for anyway.

Room Tip: Get one on the river with a balchony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rabbigreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shore of Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We ware in the parking lot and not in the restaurant.
It was quiet and clean.
Wifi dosent cover the Lodge only the restaurant. For ice you need to ask the staff of the restaurant, there is no ice machine.
It really calm.

Im the morning you will see the fisherman preparing to go to see.
In the night wee saw a see lion in the pier :-)


Best deal in Fort Bragg (50$ during the week in off season)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SebTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

First of all, reserve a room over the water, NOT one in the parking lot. These waterfront rooms have a balcony extending over the river. The view is great, looking out to the ocean from the harbor. This is a working harbor with fishing boats. For me, it is charming. My family and I stay here often. We stop in SF on our way up, stay at the Westin St. Francis, and then here for a few nights. Trust me, it is not a disappointment. Nothing fancy, no frills, but clean and comfy. Yes, there is a restaurant above, but I have never heard noise after 10:30. This has not been a problem for me. You're right on the water. What more can you ask for? Oh, yes, the very reasonable prices!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donnie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

I enjoyed my stay at this lodge. It was unique having a room right on the river. We checked in after the restaurant had shut down so we didn't have any trouble with noise. Thoroughly enjoyed our balcony on the water and the affordable price. Rooms were basic, but clean.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#12 of 23 in Fort Bragg
216 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fort Bragg Travelodge
Fort Bragg Travelodge
#15 of 23 in Fort Bragg
359 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel 6 Fort Bragg
Motel 6 Fort Bragg
#20 of 23 in Fort Bragg
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
306 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge Motel

Property: Anchor Lodge Motel
Address: 32260 N Harbor Dr, Noyo Fishing Village, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5546
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anchor Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing