We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like Europe, in English, in California”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We just got back from a fantastic nights stay 5-18-13. Christine was fantastic, our room was clean, decorated in early 1900's style furniture, fireplace, bed was almost brand new, the shower water pressure almost knocked me over(I'm 6'8") and quiet with a nice ocean breeze through our windows. The breakfast Christine fixed would have cost $12-15, eggs Florentine, country style hash browns, sausage, fresh, toasted multigran wheat toast with homemade jam, orange juice, coffee and always a smile. So relaxing, private parking and a feeling like home, not a hotel. I would never stay anywhere else while "In the area" than the Country Inn. If you like the same ol' thing with chains, go there. If you want to have your socks blown off with a unique and fun experience, come here!

Dave and Kim Knudsen
Elk Grove, CA

Room Tip: We stayed in "Summertime", all the rooms have different names, not numbers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 212 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Country Inn B & B in Fort Bragg, CA is a very good place to stay. It is quiet. The rooms are clean and well appointed. The breakfast served is excellent. Christine will make food accommodations and her preparations are wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a nice, affordable bed & breakfast inn close to the town center and within walking distance of dining and shopping. We were very happy with our room on the second floor ("Summertime") with a working wood-burning fireplace, which we used every evening, although there is supplemental heating if you desire it. The decor was Victorian. The bed and bedding were very comfortable. There was plenty of hot water, and everything worked properly. We didn't notice any noise from other guests or the street, and it was apparently a full house both nights of our stay. Be advised there is no TV. There are two seatings for breakfast, one at 8:15 a.m. and the other at 9:15 a.m. You choose which seating the night before. Breakfast on both days was excellent, although we pretty much eat everything, but if you were someone with very specific breakfast wishes, you might want more variety of choices. Breakfast is served in the dining room. There is a comfortable sitting room with a wood burning stove and community refrigerator and microwave. The newish (five months) inn-keeper, Christine, was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our upstairs room very much - very sunny, and with a nice fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkateSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in January 2013. Tourists practically abandon Fort Bragg this time of year but the inn was almost full both nights we stayed here.

The inn appears to be a one-woman operation, but she does it well. Our room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was scrumptious. The parlor area was somewhat small, but no one (but my wife and I) used it either night. The inn is located on Main Street, which is also the state highway. Our room was in the back of the building so there was no road noise. Even though our room was next to the back door, which opens out to the parking lot, we were not bothered by the sounds of the door opening and closing.

The innkeeper, whose name neither of us can remember, was very pleasant and we very much enjoyed our stay at her inn.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richansen53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great place to stay! The room was comfortable and very clean!
The service was excellent! The inn keeper was very friendly, helpful and a great cook! Breakfast was excellent both days we stayed.
The location is great! Within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Very close to glass beach and the skunk train station.
I think it's great that the room lock and you get a key. I stayed at a different B&B where the only time you could lock a door was when you were in the room.
I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon0776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked one night at Country Inn for our coastal motorcycle trip last August. As luck would have it, we got a flat on the bike about 25 miles south of Fort Bragg. Once we were finally able to get cell reception to notify the B&B, they were very accommodating and mentioned that they would leave a key for us outside, since we would be arriving so late.

Innkeeper Cynthia was still awake when we arrived and checked us in promptly. The next morning, the proprietress (Lisa perhaps?) kindly checked in on us and offered help with locating nearby auto shops. With Fort Bragg being such a small town, no motorcycle shops were open on Sundays, so we extended our stay by one night.

Let me just tell you, we couldn't have picked a better town to get stranded in. This town is absolutely adorable, and we had a great time just walking around and exploring.

Recommendations: have a casual dinner at Piaci's Pizza & Pub or enjoy a slightly nicer ambience at Mendo Bistro - both are mouth-wateringly delicious. Skip dessert at the restaurants and visit nearby Cowlick's Ice Cream or Mendocino Cookie Co (cookies half off after 5:30pm or so). Then grab a beer at North Coast Brewing Co (try the Old Rasputin). You can also stroll to the beach and hunt for colored sea glass or just enjoy a nice walk.

Back to the B&B. While we enjoyed a full day on the town, we mostly retreated to our room once back at the inn. We did test out the hot tub, though, as others had mentioned, it wasn't in full operation. Note: if you're the kind of person who likes to socialize at B&Bs, this may not be the place for you. But if you are just looking for a relaxing place to enjoy alone time with your sweetie, then the Country Inn is a great place to do just that.

Overview:

Rooms - cute, cozy, and clean. Not 5-star quality -- but remember, you aren't paying 5-star prices either.

Location - convenient. Everything was within walking distance, and we didn't have a problem with the traffic noise on Main Steet.

Breakfast - delicious. The sign-up procedure was a bit unusual, but we got our food at the promised time. The first morning we ate at the communal table, and the second morning we opted for breakfast in bed.

Value - very good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shrug4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The best part of this BB was the location. It was right on the main street. We were able to walk to dinner and to Glass Beach. The room was nice and the bed very comfortable. The only problem is that breakfast was served at 9:00. As early risers we were hoping to be able to eat sooner. Cynthia did offer to provide us with a bagged breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbrb97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
1.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
627 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
449 reviews
1.8 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
2.3 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 632 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price Range: $155 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home on the Mendocino Coast. A full gourmet breakfast and farm fresh eggs are included each morning you stay with us. We are committed to a traditional B&B experience; including a scrumptious breakfast, round the clock coffee/tea/coco, snacks and food extras, and personalized attentive service. This 1890's residence has been beautifully and thoughtfully renovated. It's Just steps away from downtown shops, restaurants, North Coast Brewing Company, Glass Beach, and the Skunk Train. Enjoy the hot tub and private redwood deck after a long day hiking to north coast. All of our beds have tempurpedic bed toppers, down comforters, high thread count cotton sheets, and plush towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Country Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Fort Bragg
Country Inn Bed And Breakfast
Country Inn Fort Bragg
Fort Bragg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing