We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change from the motel chains”
Review of Colombi Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Bragg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colombi Motel
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had been traveling on a cross country trip and came upon this family run motel via trip advisor. The motel is a family run motel and is spotless. Although it is not fancy, it is spotless and has a comfortable feel with the little personal touches such as throw pillows etc. It felt as if I was staying at my grandmother's house. There is even a little kitchen in case you are traveling with some breakfast items. It's very quiet since the owners really discourage any noisy or intoxicated tenants. While our stays at the motel chains ran together in our minds, this little place really stands out and we would not have found it had it not been for the reviews on Tripadvisor. There is no pool and we checked into the motel in the evening and left in the morning.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a kitchenette which was roomy and had a homelike feel to it. Our room was a...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Colombi Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 155 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Colombi Motel is a quirky hotel two blocks up from the heart of the historic Fort Bragg business district. This hotel is family owed for a number of generations and the family also owns the Columbi Market & Deli across the street where you go to check in. The hotel has a number of different room configurations having one or more bedrooms. Some rooms have kitchens. Each room has a garage so if you are traveling with motorcycles and like to park your bike off the street in a covered location, this hotel will make you happy. They are very specific when you check in about “THE RULES” . You will have to read and sign a document that states clearly if you break “THE RULES” that they can remove you from your room. In all fairness, “THE RULES” are basically to keep the noise down and not to pack 20 people into a room for 4. The only one that made me go hmm? was the no ice chest in the room rule. Whatever, I left mine in the car. The rooms are clean but not fancy. If you are looking for a place in town where you can walk to dinner or the shops this motel will server your purpose. It is not close to the harbor or beach access. Nor does it have a view. There is no coffee in the room but you can go across the street in the morning and get some at Deli. The sandwiches at the deli are also very tasty.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SAS8721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Clean, quiet, convenient, firm matress and wonderful free coffee, tea & hot chocolate across the street at the market. You are required to read and sign a sheet of rules which help insure that there are no noisy or rude people on the premises. A nice walk or bike ride to downto

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodtalk46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booked room several months in advance. When we arrived they questioned how many people in the room. We reserved a room for 5 people and it only had 2 beds! One person had to sleep on the cement floor with a sheet and blanket. Thank you Keith! You were the only thing good about the hotel. Complained to the owner and asked for a refund for the night. She informed us that we already paid less than we should have. I asked if she would sleep on a cement floor of a hotel room and she said no. They put us in another room the second night but no microwave or second tv. The view out our window was grocery carts filled with linens and cleaning supplies. She also said I was being unreasonable with my request for an adjustment. She did refund us $20.00. NEVER AGAIN! Chiropractor was $60:00. And oh the bed was just as hard as the floor. Just saying. BUT they give you a little bitty bag of ice each day. One more thing,our second room smelled like smoke!!! YUK

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thegramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

There were 5 of us who stayed here for an overnight. This family owned property is surprisingly clean for an old quasi apartment style rental that comes with a carport next to the unit. It is in a quiet street. It has a bedroom and 2 full beds in the living room, a full kitchen but you need to bring your cookware, dinnerware and cutlery. You can also pay $5 and they will rent the kitchen items.

Next to the property is a laundry place that the owner owns. Across the street is a good size grocery/supermarket that they own also. Major tourist attractions are minutes away. The famous Samoa Island is 10 minutes away. It's 15 minutes north of Mendocino where lodging is more expensive.

We will defnitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosjimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Friendly service, a clean room and low price are the attractions at the Colombi Motel in Fort Bragg. You check in at the family's market across the street, where they will also give you coffee/tea and ice if you request it. Our room actually had two rooms, with a television in each. The bathroom was clean and everything worked. There is nothing spectacular about the town, or the hotel, but I would certainly stay there if we were passing through Fort Bragg again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This motel is off the highway a few blocks. They must have had problems in the past, because I have never seen so many rules! When you check in (at the Market) you have to sign a rule list. There is a rule list tacked on the room wall. There is a rule list on the phone table. The rules are funny; no drunken behavior, no guests in the room etc. The view out the kitchen window is of a very seedy trailer park. The motel grounds are nice and the room was clean. But it was very small with no where to sit. The bed took up the entire "living room" area. The kitchen is large but has those cheap plastic patio chairs. Keep in mind the kitchen comes with NOTHING in it. If you want a cup or a spoon, you have to pay $5 for a container of utensils and plates. We bought instant coffee from Starbucks since there is no coffee maker provided. Boiled water in a pot...better than no caffeine. Each unit has its own little carport. But many of the SUVs don't fit in them. Our car fit fine, just let all your passengers out before you park. We were there for the busy season. It is better priced than the places on the highway, but at $90 a night, its no real bargain. A real problem...there is no code for the wifi and I'm sure the entire neighborhood is using it! It was super slow, almost impossible to use. A simple code for guests would help!

Room Tip: The two room units are just two beds, no sofa or chairs. If you only need one bed, the kitchen units...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank norcalhummingbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.7 mi away
Fort Bragg Travelodge
Fort Bragg Travelodge
#16 of 23 in Fort Bragg
368 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
441 reviews
1.3 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Fort Bragg
Motel 6 Fort Bragg
#20 of 23 in Fort Bragg
188 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
488 reviews
1.0 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombi Motel

Address: 647 E Oak St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3735
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range: $75 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outside view of Colombi Motel ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colombi Motel Fort Bragg
Colombi Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing