We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Colombi Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Bragg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colombi Motel
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Nevada City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Clean, quiet, convenient, firm matress and wonderful free coffee, tea & hot chocolate across the street at the market. You are required to read and sign a sheet of rules which help insure that there are no noisy or rude people on the premises. A nice walk or bike ride to downto

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodtalk46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    59
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
34
66
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Helena, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booked room several months in advance. When we arrived they questioned how many people in the room. We reserved a room for 5 people and it only had 2 beds! One person had to sleep on the cement floor with a sheet and blanket. Thank you Keith! You were the only thing good about the hotel. Complained to the owner and asked for a refund for the night. She informed us that we already paid less than we should have. I asked if she would sleep on a cement floor of a hotel room and she said no. They put us in another room the second night but no microwave or second tv. The view out our window was grocery carts filled with linens and cleaning supplies. She also said I was being unreasonable with my request for an adjustment. She did refund us $20.00. NEVER AGAIN! Chiropractor was $60:00. And oh the bed was just as hard as the floor. Just saying. BUT they give you a little bitty bag of ice each day. One more thing,our second room smelled like smoke!!! YUK

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thegramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

There were 5 of us who stayed here for an overnight. This family owned property is surprisingly clean for an old quasi apartment style rental that comes with a carport next to the unit. It is in a quiet street. It has a bedroom and 2 full beds in the living room, a full kitchen but you need to bring your cookware, dinnerware and cutlery. You can also pay $5 and they will rent the kitchen items.

Next to the property is a laundry place that the owner owns. Across the street is a good size grocery/supermarket that they own also. Major tourist attractions are minutes away. The famous Samoa Island is 10 minutes away. It's 15 minutes north of Mendocino where lodging is more expensive.

We will defnitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosjimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Friendly service, a clean room and low price are the attractions at the Colombi Motel in Fort Bragg. You check in at the family's market across the street, where they will also give you coffee/tea and ice if you request it. Our room actually had two rooms, with a television in each. The bathroom was clean and everything worked. There is nothing spectacular about the town, or the hotel, but I would certainly stay there if we were passing through Fort Bragg again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This motel is off the highway a few blocks. They must have had problems in the past, because I have never seen so many rules! When you check in (at the Market) you have to sign a rule list. There is a rule list tacked on the room wall. There is a rule list on the phone table. The rules are funny; no drunken behavior, no guests in the room etc. The view out the kitchen window is of a very seedy trailer park. The motel grounds are nice and the room was clean. But it was very small with no where to sit. The bed took up the entire "living room" area. The kitchen is large but has those cheap plastic patio chairs. Keep in mind the kitchen comes with NOTHING in it. If you want a cup or a spoon, you have to pay $5 for a container of utensils and plates. We bought instant coffee from Starbucks since there is no coffee maker provided. Boiled water in a pot...better than no caffeine. Each unit has its own little carport. But many of the SUVs don't fit in them. Our car fit fine, just let all your passengers out before you park. We were there for the busy season. It is better priced than the places on the highway, but at $90 a night, its no real bargain. A real problem...there is no code for the wifi and I'm sure the entire neighborhood is using it! It was super slow, almost impossible to use. A simple code for guests would help!

Room Tip: The two room units are just two beds, no sofa or chairs. If you only need one bed, the kitchen units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank norcalhummingbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willits, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed at The Colombi Motel this weekend while attending a family reunion. The place was very clean! The room I stayed in had more than enough space for my family. My parents stayed accross the paring lot. Their room was amazing! I love the location as well as the covinenience of the Market right there.Very well priced. The ownwers were GREAT! They made my stay so much better! I would recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: Room 9 had the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed here with my family for two nights over the Fourth of July weekend. The room was immaculately clean. The grounds were well maintained as well with beautiful flowers everywhere. What I loved most was the fact that I could walk anywhere downtown in a matter of minutes. Another reviewer said you needed a car to get around. I didn't find that to be true. It was about a 10 - 15 minute walk to downtown. Another reviewer also mentioned noise at night. I didn't experience that either. This motel is located in a residential area near downtown and there is barely any street traffic or noise after dark.

Pros:
- clean
- walkable to downtown
- laundry facilities onsite
- local market across the street
- good mexican food across the street
- covered parking area
- refrigerator and hairdryer in the room
- very affordable

Cons:
- rooms were small
- no microwave in our room
- random rules like no ice chests in the room. Not a big deal, just a tad odd.

Overall, a very solid choice and I could definitely see myself staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
1.3 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fort Bragg Travelodge
Fort Bragg Travelodge
#15 of 23 in Fort Bragg
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Fort Bragg
Motel 6 Fort Bragg
#20 of 23 in Fort Bragg
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
476 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
1.0 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombi Motel

Property: Colombi Motel
Address: 647 E Oak St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3735
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outside view of Colombi Motel ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colombi Motel Fort Bragg
Colombi Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing