We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, charming and friendly!”
Review of Colombi Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Bragg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colombi Motel
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique, charming and friendly!”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

A visit to yesteryear with apartment like features including garage for your vehicle.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bogey909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    59
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
34
66
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MDEnce
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife booked the Colombi Motel for our family, as well as her brother's family, two of her sisters' families and her parents (5 units), for her parent's 50th anniversary get-together in Fort Bragg.
I got off work early, so we went a day early, and they were able to accommodate us with an extra night in the same room, which was appreciated.
Our room was basically a 1 bedroom apartment, with a sofa and 2 queen beds in the living room for the kids, a queen bed in the bedroom for my wife and I, a bathroom, and a small but full kitchen. While definitely not new, the unit was clean and well maintained. The beds were also more comfortable than I expected.
Although not the speed I have at home, the wifi internet always connected to both my phone and my netbook and worked fine. However, the TV in our unit was small, and there was only the one TV in the living room. Good thing we weren't there to watch TV.
We rented the dishes (a deal at $5 for the whole time we were there), and got our daily free bag of ice (an bought other items) at the Colombi Market across the street, and were always treated well by the friendly staff there.
My wife's sisters complained about all of the rules posted in the rooms, but we never had a problem with any of them. We weren't even hassled by the management when we inadvertently left our empty ice chest in the room over night.
Bottom line, it was nothing fancy, but more than sufficient for our needs.
If I end up going back to Fort Bragg for any reason I'll stay at the Colombi Motel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDEnce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2011

My family and I recently stayed at Colombi Motel in Fort Bragg. We were very pleased with our room which was clean and comfortable and we were also very impressed with the friendly and thoughtful service we received.

Room Tip: Free parking and xtras, Unit 7 had a full kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marissa1960, Manager at Colombi Motel, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for leaving such a lovely comment about Colombi Motel. I am usually so busy with the motel and the other businesses (Colombi Market and Colombi Laundromat) that I do not have time to respond to customers comments but I wanted to take the time out to respond to yours and thank everyone for their great support! We have had such a wonderful bunch of customers! Thank you all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hercules, California
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I went on a last-minute trip to fort bragg for the Memorial Day weekend. Luckily, booking a room over the phone was a breeze. It's our first time to stay in a motel, and we expected the worst. Surprisingly, the unit we were assigned to (unit 12) was immaculately clean...from the bedroom to the bathroom to the kitchenette. Unbelievable!!! They've raised the bar so high that I don't think any other motel will come close. This is indeed as good as it gets! Our unit did not have its own carport but parking was not a problem since there's a parking area a few steps away. We highly recommend this place. ps- if you are particular about noise, don't get unit 12 ; it's next to where housekeeping does the laundry so it can get pretty noisy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuchsiapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

I stayed for one night in room IA, the tiny room tucked in between others. Only $60 and clean as a whistle. The family that runs this place is super friendly and helpful. While I was out for the evening, the whole town went down to a power failure. When I got back to the room, there was a nice hand written note explaining the situation on the door and a flashlight hanging on the door knob. The power went back sooner than anticipated, but it was so great to know that they were thinking of me! In the morning I asked for ice (there is no ice machine) and was told, well, you get a free bag of ice from our grocery every day you are here. The family runs the grocery, laundromat, and motel, that are all adjacent to one another. The motel office is in the grocery store, so don't get lost looking for it.

I will be back! Just the BEST!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbleetondro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Perhaps if you're gonna stay for a few days or a week this place would be a good choice. It's clean, decent, and doesn't smell much. That's all the good I can say. I ran out of hot water in the shower. The internet is ridiculously slow and inconsistent. The door doesn't deadbolt. Do yourself the favor we should have done. Spend the extra few dollars to stay at a chain.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ATX455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

You just can not beat this old-school motel. For the holiday weekend, cost $65/night. Comfy bed, very clean, kitchenette, each unit is separated from the next by a carport. Tucked into a real neighborhood, it is located about 4-6 walkable blocks from the downtown shopping/eating/movie theater scene. This was our 2nd stay here. Would have liked faster internet and HBO. Otherwise, just what we like. The tacqueria across the street is well-regarded, though we did not eat there. Sadly, the Colombi family patriach had just passed away this week, a loss for the community.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
1.3 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
305 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fort Bragg Travelodge
Fort Bragg Travelodge
#16 of 23 in Fort Bragg
359 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Fort Bragg
Motel 6 Fort Bragg
#20 of 23 in Fort Bragg
177 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombi Motel

Property: Colombi Motel
Address: 647 E Oak St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3735
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outside view of Colombi Motel ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colombi Motel Fort Bragg
Colombi Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing