We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, awesome staff, nice and clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2010

What I love about The Beachcomber is the fantastic location. I'm the type that likes to step out of my hotel room and venture out by foot.You can do that there. Easy access to beach, town, walking trails. The view is fantastic! The rooms have always been clean and the staff very friendly and eager to please. A great getaway from the hustle and bustle!!

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
Thank skygal92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 708 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2010

Great access to walking trails, the beach and ocean views. Close enough to town to walk or a quick drive, but not too close where you are bothered by noise. Staff is friendly, helpful and informative about events and things to do in the area. A+ . We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wpr2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

We had previously stayed at the Ocean View Lodge. There are 3 hotels on the North Side of Ft. Bragg right on the 10 mile trail right on the bluffs overlooking the Pacific. All three places have great views which is a big part of what you pay for. Ocean View has more powerful whitewater view and noise, but less panoramic. Have not stayed at Surf and Sand (the one in the middle.) Beachcomber is the Southern most of the 3, outstanding panoramic view and better sunset views than Ocean View. Also 5 minute walk to best beach in the area with few people. We went to Beachcomber primarily because same amenities, prices and rooms as Ocean View but Beachcomber takes dogs, Ocean View does not. It was well worth it. If you stay in a dog room, travel everything you need for your dog, even though they give you sheets for the dog if they sleep on the couch or floor, and some treats, be prepared with your own stuff. We never used the hot tub, but loved having the top floor room with staircase off back patio to take dog down to bluff. Our expectation was that this would be our "place when we have the dog with us." We are now going to make it our regular hotel in the area. Rooms are as good as Ocean View, closer to beach and walk down town... we didn't eat breakfast but free coffee, tea, hot chocolate around the clock was nice. Next time we would not pay for hot tub, just didn't use it but it looked nice, Ocean View hot tub is more of a big bath. Shower facilities were fine, had microwave and min-frig. Price of room is worth the walk to the beach. We visit because we love the area, the restaurants and the day trip possibilities.

There are a few negatives to be aware of, but did not affect our decision to return in the future.

Beds- not good. 1. Bed sheets, terrible, they have no elastic on the end so they come un-tucked the moment you move at night and I woke up a couple of times with my face on the mattress. Bed covers were warm though. 2. Also, only one pillow so bring your own if you need them. 3. Didn't stand out to me but the my wife commented that the middle of the bed sagged badly. Ocean view lodge beds were much more comfy.

Walls very thin. You can hear the neighbor's hot tub and since there are no time restrictions, when someone checked in late on our first night they used the tub, plus the tub runs on its own to clean every so often. If you do not want a tub, ask for this and be sure it is a room away from other hot tubs. Also, plan on hearing little kids if they are next door. Adults know how to keep voices down. We read about complaints about traffic and they were valid, affected hearing the ocean during the day, not so bad at night.

To us, all of the negatives are well worth staying. If you don't have a dog, you will find the Ocean View lodge to be great too. A little quieter.

Restaurants of interest- We love North Coast Brewery, Mendo Bistro, Eggheads. The Noyo restaurants are tourist traps but still worth a visit. Le Petite Riv in Little River is very expensive but worth it for special occasions. Try the Bamboo Garden Spa.

Check out Pt. Cabrillo Lighthouse, provides for a nice hike, wildlife and the best restored lighthouse complex we have seen. Several vista points between Ft. Bragg and Westport are worth the short drive. No trip to Ft. Bragg is complete without glass beach.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tennisbronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

The Beachcomber is great. I've stayed there many times because of it's fabulous location. The views are spectacular, especially beautiful sunsets. Easy access to the beach and love that it's right on a walking trail which leads to tidepools and other beaches. I came with my fiance and we were never bored! We didn't even have to drive anywhere to enjoy our mini vacation; everything we needed was in the motel's back yard. The staff was very sweet and the room was clean. I would recommend this motel to anyone who plans on staying active during their visit to Fort Bragg.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachLove67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

I loved everything about The Beachcomber, especially the room and the views. It was amazing. The room was spotless and fresh. The staff was so friendly I didn't want to leave. The Beachcomber Management offers several discount programs like "The Beach Nuts Club" where you get discounts all over town. Love it! But sometimes it was even hard to leave my room and jacuzzi tub and private deck overlooking the ocean! This is the kind of place you want to treat yourself to at least once a year. I plan to return frequently for a wonderfully rejuvenating experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midlifecelebration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

we picked this hotel because it accepted pets and was right on the ocean. our pet does not have fleas but we found over 5 of them on her and one right on our pillow while we were there. not clean at all! would not stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenayenaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

This property is right on the dunes/cliffs just outside of Fort Bragg, right on a walking path and easy beach access. It is very clean, nicely laid out and well kept/updated - the rooms are above average for this type of motel and very comfortable.

The pet agreement is mostly standard except dogs are not allowed any where on the grounds or they claim they will charge you $250; not really a huge issue considering the dune area is right across the pathway but it didn't feel "friendly".

The downfall for us was the highway noise, the thin walls and the "continental breakfast". The highway noise does slow down through the very early morning hours, but only for a few short hours. Anytime someone walked by the room we could hear their conversations and foot steps, and we could hear the people in the next room watching TV and talking - the walls are very thin.

The breakfast was really lacking, it was 7-11 style danishes and muffins, with a few apples/oranges, instant oatmeal and coffee/tea. Considering the care that has been spent on the rooms I was surprised to see this, if they upgraded to a healthy homemade/bakery muffins, or at least some juices and maybe nice toast it would really be more in line with their nice rooms and breakfast area.

We paid $149 (not including tax) including the pet fee for a double queen kitchenette on the ocean side. We would recommend this motel only if you are a very deep/heavy sleeper who has no issues with noise.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strattc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
449 reviews
2.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
222 reviews
2.5 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Address: 1111 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range: $144 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Fort Bragg
The Beachcomber Motel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing