We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ocean front lodging” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ocean front lodging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Clean,friendly,family owned motel,older but well maintained.Small semi private balcony (no privacy from your neighbor),close to downtown area,awesome views and convenient for walking along the bluff,challenging to take a steep sandy path to the beach below.However many were able to navigate it ( just not me) and play on the beach.Average complementary breakfast with limited sitting room in the lobby. I recommend bringing the tray from your room and eating outside or in your room.

Room Tip: Second floor is best for privacy, lots of foot traffic outside first floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robertamac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachcomber_Motel, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review, robertamac9! I am very happy that you enjoyed the views and walking trail. The path directly to the beach is a bit steep but there is a longer alternative route which is easier to navigate. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Fort Bragg!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    192
    46
    23
    31
See reviews for
157
291
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The location of this motel is exactly what you would hope. You look out of your window to a stunning view of the beach and sea. We booked a three queen suite for a family of five, which worked well and had a good layout. Check-in was welcoming and easy, as was check-out. The room was comfortable and the views amazing. Breakfast is provided in the office area, so a little cramped, but we took our coffee, Danish and bagels back to the room where we had more space. Breakfast was typical motel continental, so adequate but not great.
We noticed some guests barbecuing on the first floor deck, so that can be a nice option for dinner. Not sure if the grills are available to all or only to those with rooms facing this deck. Might be worth checking if that's what you want to do.
Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachcomber_Motel, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you so much, Frances V, for your great review! I am so glad that we were exactly what you hoped for! The grills you mentioned are on a ground level patio called the Mate's Deck. There is also a Captain's Deck on the second floor at the south end of the motel with numerous grills as well. Both of these decks are open for all guests to enjoy. We hope to welcome you back to Fort Bragg soon!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband and I booked the king jacuzzi room, and were given a room directly above the lobby/breakfast area. When we entered our room it was very stuffy and had a strange odor so we opened up the sliding door and left it open all night, hoping to air out the room. The room was nice, and the view was beautiful! There is also a nice large double shower in the bathroom. After returning from dinner we tried to turn on the fireplace, but could not figure it out. We then started to run the jacuzzi, but I was worried about our neighbors being able to hear it through the thin walls, as we were able to hear them talking, and later on, snoring all night. The room remained warm throughout the night, and there was no AC to cool it down...needless to say I had a very restless sleep. I would have loved to sleep in the next morning but the noise from people eating breakfast downstairs and checking out woke us up early...again, thin walls and being above the lobby. My husband and I left for the day and returned at 6:00 p.m., and our room had not been cleaned. We told the front desk, and the cleaning staff finally gave us a few new towels and made our bed. I don't mean to sound snobby, but when we are paying about $600 for two nights, I expect my room to be cleaned at a decent hour.
The front desk staff was very friendly, the locations is great - just a short walk to the beach and cliffs with beautiful views.
I'm not sure that I would stay here again - loved the location, but when we are paying that much for a hotel room I'd like to feel like I have privacy, and that I don't have to remind the staff to clean my room.

Room Tip: I would choose a second floor room, just because the lower room look out onto a bike/walking path, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeriNan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachcomber_Motel, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you MeriNan81 for giving us a review! I’m so glad that you liked our location, although I’m sorry about your room not being cleaned on time. In the summer we do get quite busy, but you are right that 6:00pm is too late and I apologize for that. I’m sorry that you feel that the room was not very private; in the summer we often fill up all the rooms because when you have views as beautiful as ours everyone else wants to be here too! I sincerely hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit - we will be looking forward to welcoming you back!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We found this hotel after deciding we could not go any further down the coast highway due to a long day down the coast from Brookings, OR! Our original destination was Petaluma to stay with my cousin. After deciding we couldn't make it, I started looking at the map, not being familiar with the area at all, to me Ft. Bragg was pretty much our only option if we wanted to continue our goal of driving the whole coast highway from OR and down the CA coast. What a find as we had not planned on staying here. I had reservations our whole trip, but not this time. We drove thru town and back again, and decided to go into the Beachcomber. They were so nice, it was rather late, 7 or so, they had just one or two rooms left, we got the honeymoon suite for a bit of a discount.The front desk person was so nice, he truly was concerned about our well being (my daughter and I), he told us we were wise to have stopped and not try to go any further on the 1 that night. The room was so clean and comfy. The balcony wonderful with the ocean so close. We didn't have time to fully enjoy it as we had to be up early the next day to continue our journey. He told us if we wanted to get something to eat we better go before 8 as the town pretty much shuts down. What a lovely place. Oh, and you have to read the history about the place that is in the room. What a great story.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachcomber_Motel, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you so much Josie06 for your wonderful review! We love to hear that our guests have had a 5/5 quality stay! I am very pleased to hear that your visit with us was so enjoyable. It’s especially nice to hear how helpful you found our staff and I will be sure to pass your compliments on to them. I'm also glad that you got a chance to read the hotel's back story, which is very heartwarming. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

A wonderful location to get away and sit by the ocean. Watch the gorgeous sunsets. I loved that the ocean is right out your door. Immaculate room and friendly people. This is privately owned and definitely not a chain. We'll be back; definitely a repeat location for us...

Room Tip: Downstairs has direct beach access from your patio door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ardith Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachcomber_Motel, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you so much Ardith Q, for your wonderful review! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fort Bragg for your next ocean-side stay!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtice, Ohio
Level Contributor
316 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

As a non-chain hotel, the place is a winner from the get go, but the location simply puts it over the top. The ocean views and beach access right outside of your hotel door make for the perfect opportunity to explore and enjoy the area. The rooms were very clean and the staff friendly. The spa treatment was very nice as well. The breakfast can become crowded in the small lobby so be prepared to get there early but overall this was an outstanding stay for a nights stopover. Very family friendly!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PfeiffersOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachcomber_Motel, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for the great review, PfeiffersOnTheGo! I’m so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and our location. We always aim to be a winner! I’m also glad to hear that you got a chance to enjoy our spa. We hope you and your family will be back for a visit again soon!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We come every year, this time we stayed for a week. This time I rented a bike and rode it down the haul road. Helmet included, 8 bucks an hour, max 35. No extra charge to park your car, no extra charge for wifi. Walk into town and visit Egghead for breakfast, or the cowlick for ice cream, or eat at the restaurant on Laurel street near the train depot. Go to Mendocino and have lunch at the hotel. And we actually saw penguins (!) on one of the islands off Mendocino. Walk the ten mile haul road and you can see seals, sometimes deer. The view from the Beachcomber is the best anywhere. The room very comfortable. The staff very nice.

Room Tip: stay on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr. Sam Platts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachcomber_Motel, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you so much Dr. Sam Platts for your fantastic review. We love to know when our guests have had a 5/5 stay with us. You also mention some great things to do and places to go in the area, as well as the beautiful wildlife - pelicans, deer and seals are common but still exciting sights on this part of the coast. I want to thank you for your loyal patronage as well as your numerous reviews for our hotel. I am very pleased to know that you enjoy your stays so much that you come back every year and share your good experiences with others. We are looking forward to your next Fort Bragg visit!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
0.2 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
2.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#6 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surf and Sand Lodge
Surf and Sand Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
2.6 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Property: The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Address: 1111 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach 1*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Fort Bragg
The Beachcomber Motel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing