We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view, exceptionally clean room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome view, exceptionally clean room”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed at the Beachcomber for 4 days in October-November 2013. The view from room 205 was exceptional! Bed was comfortable and the room was updated with newer decor. It was also one of the cleanest motel rooms I've ever seen. I highly recommend it to anyone traveling to the Fort Bragg / Mendocino area.

If you are traveling to the area, I recommend Fort Bragg over Mendocino. Mendocino is a teeny tiny town with few amenities while Fort Bragg is much larger with many food choices and a great main street with lots of shops. Glass Beach is located in Fort Bragg. (There are three beaches.)

Room Tip: Room 205 is the most southern room available. It has an unobstructed view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank x916x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachcomber_Motel, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
x916x, I'm so glad our enjoyed your stay so much! Thanks for the exceptional review! It's true that we have just recently updated our decor and mattresses so I'm glad you noticed liked it! It means a lot to us to get such great reviews so thank you again. We'll look forward to your next stay with us!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    228
    57
    25
    33
See reviews for
182
348
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
limestone
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We try to come to Fort Bragg from the Sacramento area at least once a year. We found the Beachcomber about 10 years ago. We've stayed there since then. The rooms are well cleaned and average sized. It's all about location. We like that they offer the Breakfast too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monicalimestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachcomber_Motel, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you monicalimestone for your great review and years of patronage! We are definitely pleased to be your annual/semi-annual coastal getaway from the capital. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts on our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back time and again for many more years to come.
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Maybe I have been watching too much Hotel Impossible, but this place could be 5 star with some easy fixes. Let's start with the good: They let us check in an hour early. We had the Spectacular King room and we found it to be clean and comfortable. It looked like it had been recently updated and featured a granite vanity, microwave and mini refrigerator. The bed was more comfortable than some and the sheets were nice.The view was simply amazing! Now the areas of work....there were no toiletries when we checked in. Our patio furniture was old, mismatched and covered in bird feces. I felt like the Captain's Deck was a missed opportunity. With some newer furniture and some color, that could be really awesome. Some of the lampshades in our room were ripped and the coffee pot had not been cleaned. These are just some small areas of constructive criticism and please do not let it sway you! This place is great, especially at the price. You won't be sorry if you choose the Beachcomber!

Room Tip: Go for the 2nd floor. Much more private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmb616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachcomber_Motel, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thanks for the great review and recommendation, mm616! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and would suggest us to others. As for the improvements you suggested, we always love hearing guest feedback. I'm sorry about the toiletries and coffee pot; that must have been a one time oversight because our housekeeping is always attentive to details like that. Again, thank you so much for recommending us and taking the time to give us a positive review; we really appreciate it! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next Fort Bragg trip!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We (my husband and I) stayed here for 3 nights and it was a perfect getaway spot. I would recommend staying on the second floor for the view of the ocean. It is a perfect location just about a mile away from Ft. Bragg. The path in front of the hotel takes you to glass beach in one direction and to a state park in the other direction. I walked to Glass Beach and we rode our bikes to the state park and had a picnic. We were very pleased with our room and also enjoy having a little breakfast right there. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We loved the upstairs room. The downstairs was nice but the view better on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

As my fiancé an I continued our trip up the coast in we made reservations at the Beachcomber. Loving the location an all it had to offer. When we got there an got there check in was a breeze. The staff made it so easy an were very nice as well as knowledgable about where to eat an go. I love Pam the owner she is a breath of fresh air an gave us great tips. As we made our way to the room which let me say had the most beautiful view of the beach, which is right out your back door, we were very pleased with the accommodations. The room was great an had all we needed. Very clean an quaint. It's a very romantic an quiet hotel. Perfect for us. I only wish we had time for the spa which would have been nice. All in all it's the perfect location an the staff impeccable. A great hotel I would stay at again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We (my husband and I) spent two nights at the Beachcomber Motel and Spa and we couldn't ask for better accommodations. The room was updated, clean, and private. The staff were welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The location was PERFECT; it is right on the beach and about a one mile walk from Glass Beach. It is within driving distance (mere minutes) from many good restaurants. Perfect for vacationing couples and families. Can't wait to come back with our children.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 1 bedroom Queen without a view. It was exactly what we were looking for as far as pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We arrived without reservations. A room with two queens and a fireplace was available. The price was $200. It was on the second floor and one of the staff assisted us in getting bags upstairs. His name was Javier and he was fabuloso.
Once we were in the room we could not figure out how to turn on the fireplace. Called the office and we were brought a remote control. When asked how it worked he apologized and said he did not know. After 15 frustrating minutes of button pushing we actually found the control (which looked like a thermostat) in the room and turned it on with no problem. Later, this was the least of our problems!
Unbeknownst to us, we shared a balcony with 2 other rooms on the second floor which also had stairs to the boardwalk below allowing anyone to access our sliding doors. My daughter and I opened the slider to enjoy the ocean breeze....BTY the view was beautiful. About 9:00 my daughter was reading when she heard strange sounds coming from the deck. She looked and found the screen door had been opened...though we knew it had been closed. She shut it again and went back to her book. Several minutes later she again heard sounds and again found the screen opened. She closed the sliding door and locked it, knowing something was strange. She stopped reading and watched the door. She suddenly saw someone with their head against the window trying to see in. He then tried to actually open the now locked door which of course, he couldn't. Being a most amazing woman, she quickly opened that door and yelled "MAY I HELP YOU!!! He ran down the stairs while people in other rooms came out to see what the ruckus was.
The police were called by the hotel staff (again, Javier on his first day) . It took them 30 minutes to arrive, pounding on the same sliding door. They interviewed my daughter and assured us that they would be watching and called us an hour later ....about midnight. To tell us they hadn't found him.
Would you think the hotel might have at least contacted us the next morning to see if we were okay, or to apologize or to comp the room? Well you'd be wrong.
PS the screen door had holes near the latch so this may have not been the first attempt. Needless to say, we were not happy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
428 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
211 reviews
2.5 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Property: The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Address: 1111 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Reservation Counter so you can book your The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Fort Bragg
The Beachcomber Motel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing