We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
midwest
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, renovated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have stayed at the Beachcomber several times in the past few years, the previous time was four years ago. We have always loved the location, right on the beach, within walking distance of Fort Bragg over the old railroad trestle. We thought the motel was getting a little tired four years ago, but when we returned this summer, we found that the room had a complete overhaul. New carpet, furniture, wallpaper, vanity top, an easy chair, even fresh lawn chairs for the deck. We would stay there anyway, but it was nice to be in a fresh new room.

Room Tip: Just make sure you have ocean view. Almost all the rooms have it. We like the second floor so that p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiberart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    221
    55
    25
    32
See reviews for
172
339
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were checked in right away with friendly service. Plenty of parking spaces. Our room was clean and we had a pretty ocean view. We had to switch rooms the next day because we added on an extra night last minute. They transferred our bags and goodies in the fridge for us. Bed was comfy with plenty of pillows. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gretcha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I have been coming to Fort Bragg for the past three years. I am so delighted we found this wonderful hotel on the ocean. There are other nice places to stay but why not stay at a hotel which is right on the ocean? Our dog was welcome, the staff was lovely, the room was very affordable and very large!!!! We cannot wait to return, take care with the local restaurants, they were not so good, the locals said to drive to Mendocino for a good meal, we will next time. Silver's on the Warf was expensive and not good!!! Again, we loved our experience at the Beachcomber and most definitely will return very soon!

Room Tip: Ask for Oceanside room, even with a pet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Green2010092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here, with a comfortable room, great views of the ocean, and great trees right near the water, strange marmot like squirrels living in tunnels in the cliffs, loads of wildflowers, room for biking or jogging, exploring the beach, very relaxing spot. Breakfast was fine, but not enough room in the reception area, so it was grab and go, back to the room or our little terrace on the oceanside. the place was full so they must be doing something right. No noise from neighbors - must be good insulation. Nice toiletries. A coffee maker and coffee. good spot. Bikes for rent. I'd go back in a minute!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happycamper914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I would have given the Beachcomber 5 stars except the breakfast was not up to standard. They did have juice, coffee, pastries, bagels, raisin bread, and instant oatmeal. But no fresh milk. Just try instant oatmeal with hot water and no milk, not good! Most places this expensive have dry cereal and fresh milk at least and some have yogurt, or even hard boiled eggs. Also there was no toaster, just foil wrapped cream cheese for the cold bagels.
Other than that the room was great, the view was wonderful if you are on the south end and upper floor, the staff was welcoming and very helpful. Also there was a paved walking/bike path. Like I said a great place but the breakfast was the worst we have had for years at motels. We went for a late brunch to "Egghead" in town, excellent.

Room Tip: top floor toward the south have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dulciana77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Last night here and what an awesome week we have had. The best place to stay. One night in one room and then we got a kitchen room. Front desk is very accomodating. Very romantic here. The beds were amazingly comfortable and feels like a spa. Love the kitchen room as we've been extremely lazy. Close to the shops and the beach is beautiful. It was about a 6 hour ride for us on our Harleys and this will become our favorite destination to ride to. Little misty in the mornings but when the sun breaks thru it is beautiful! Staff is very friendly. Thanks for a great stay!!!!!! Can't wait for our couples massage later today!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nrgyxtra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galt
Level Contributor
147 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had such a good time here. Heard the surf all night. The place is just fabulous! Tim and Erin made our stay even better with great service at the front desk. A great story for a family owned motel. Tim gave us a coupon for the Cliff House and made dinner great also.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonnybear47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
2.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.5 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Property: The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Address: 1111 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Fort Bragg
The Beachcomber Motel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing