We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic spot, sound of the surf, great walks on boardwalk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here, with a comfortable room, great views of the ocean, and great trees right near the water, strange marmot like squirrels living in tunnels in the cliffs, loads of wildflowers, room for biking or jogging, exploring the beach, very relaxing spot. Breakfast was fine, but not enough room in the reception area, so it was grab and go, back to the room or our little terrace on the oceanside. the place was full so they must be doing something right. No noise from neighbors - must be good insulation. Nice toiletries. A coffee maker and coffee. good spot. Bikes for rent. I'd go back in a minute!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happycamper914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 706 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

I would have given the Beachcomber 5 stars except the breakfast was not up to standard. They did have juice, coffee, pastries, bagels, raisin bread, and instant oatmeal. But no fresh milk. Just try instant oatmeal with hot water and no milk, not good! Most places this expensive have dry cereal and fresh milk at least and some have yogurt, or even hard boiled eggs. Also there was no toaster, just foil wrapped cream cheese for the cold bagels.
Other than that the room was great, the view was wonderful if you are on the south end and upper floor, the staff was welcoming and very helpful. Also there was a paved walking/bike path. Like I said a great place but the breakfast was the worst we have had for years at motels. We went for a late brunch to "Egghead" in town, excellent.

Room Tip: top floor toward the south have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dulciana77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Last night here and what an awesome week we have had. The best place to stay. One night in one room and then we got a kitchen room. Front desk is very accomodating. Very romantic here. The beds were amazingly comfortable and feels like a spa. Love the kitchen room as we've been extremely lazy. Close to the shops and the beach is beautiful. It was about a 6 hour ride for us on our Harleys and this will become our favorite destination to ride to. Little misty in the mornings but when the sun breaks thru it is beautiful! Staff is very friendly. Thanks for a great stay!!!!!! Can't wait for our couples massage later today!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nrgyxtra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had such a good time here. Heard the surf all night. The place is just fabulous! Tim and Erin made our stay even better with great service at the front desk. A great story for a family owned motel. Tim gave us a coupon for the Cliff House and made dinner great also.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonnybear47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed here whilst visiting my family whom reside in California and regularly visit this little gem. The room we stayed in was really clean, the beds where comfortable and the bathroom, although small was clean. The Breakfast was quite sparse with only pastries and toast, fruit and a small selection of drinks available and room for about 6 people to eat at the same time but this was not an issue at all because the location of this Hotel was perfect and the views where lovely. I would recommend the Beachcomber to anyone who simply wants to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simplysar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here on our recent vacation to the redwoods, and I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness, features (sliding glass doors with access right to the beach), and location (right on the beach AND a short walk to Glass Beach. Most of all, the value was hands down better than the other hotels in Fort Bragg. The trail right behind the hotel is great for a morning walk/run/bike (the hotel has bikes available) and provides stunning views of the pacific ocean. There was no a/c but the nights were cool enough. I agree with Linda T, a ceiling fan would be a great amentiy. The breakfast was a little sparse -some pastries and some fruit, but we had planned to go to Eggheads anyway- so it wasn't a big deal for us.

Room Tip: Bottom floor has sliding glass and easy beach and trail access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caligulas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our trip up the coast. The hotel is located convenient to restaurants and the beach. Our room was on the second floor and on the end by the walking bridge. We had a nice balcony to sit on and enjoy the view. The bed was comfy and the room spacious and clean. The one downside is that there was no aircon or screen for the sliding glass door or ceiling fan for the room. As our room faced the west, it got pretty warm by the end of the day. When we returned in the evening, we had to open the front door of the room as well as the sliding glass door to get any breeze in the room to cool it off. Would be good to get at least a ceiling fan in the room.

Room Tip: Get a room with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
449 reviews
2.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
222 reviews
2.5 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Address: 1111 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range: $143 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Reservation Counter, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Fort Bragg
The Beachcomber Motel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing