We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for the first time. We loved the property, location, accommodations, views, environs (e.g., paved and unpaved seaside walking trails), and the friendly and helpful staff. Excellent experience and value for price. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Try for a 2nd-floor room. All have balconies and great view of ocean (some w/white-water). Try to av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 706 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding and was pleasantly surprised overall. The staff was friendly and laid back though they did mention that quiet hours started at 9:30pm. It was very quiet overall so not sure if it's just because it's enforced or because most folks come here for some R&R anyway. We stayed in one of the "spectacular king" rooms on the 2nd floor and definitely did not regret that decision - the view was breathtaking! Place was very clean and while there's other hotels/motels around the area, this one had both the views and the very easy access to the beach. Great place to just get away and relax!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was our longest stay yet in Ft. Bragg and we couldn't have been more pleased with the Beachcomber. This time we stated in a room with a small kitchen (micro, stovetop, toaster, sink, frige) and cooked all our own meals. Fantastic new BBQ for guests to use on deck, also. Relaxed family atmosphere. Walk 2 minutes down bluffs to beach. Bike trail right outside. Totally dog friendly. I just can't say enough good things about how well they take care of you at the Beachcomber. God bless the housekeeping staff, because those ladies are miracle workers for getting rid of all the beach sand we trudged into the room each day. We have recommended the Beachcomber to so many friends that we actually ran into coworkers on this trip who took a spontaneous trip to ft. Bragg!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msandersoncmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights with my daughter on a road trip round the north California coast. I booked it for the views and proximity to the beach and was not disappointed. We spent lots of time playing on the beach which had beautiful pale sand. The room was fine. The beds seemed especially comfortable as we had been camping the previous 2 nights. The breakfast was probably the most disappointing thing about the whole visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelnelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

It was time to get away for some R&R and this place was perfect. what a gem of a place and lovely staff. The room we had was a king 2nd floor with a view to die for, bed that was soooo comfortable and all the amenities we needed (fridge, micro). On the far side of town but only 5 mins to everything. Just wonderful

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here while making a Spring Break family trip. The location on the ocean between a walking path and the highway was perfect. Just far enough out of town and close enough to Mendocino. Views from room were amazing, especially at night. The room was very good and similar to the Hampton Inns properties we frequent when making family trips. Would not hesitate to stay again. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable. Staff was very friendly and you can tell they take pride in maintaining a quality establishment. Continental breakfast was plentiful with variety of morning breads, cereal, oatmeal, juice, coffee, etc.

Room Tip: Go for the upstairs room and enjoy the sea breezes after sunset from your deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VisitLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcombermotel, Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you got to stay with us and enjoyed the great views we have. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stopped in Fort Bragg after an amazing day in the Avenue of the Giants. This motel gave us a tiny but cozy and clean room, with a partial ocean view for a great rate. The beach was beautiful, the staff were friendly, the complimentary continental breakfast in the morning was good and we loved it all so much that we stayed for a second night. We definitely would return. Thank you, Beachcomber!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcombermotel, Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about our property. The avenue of the Giants is spectacular, then to get to Fort Bragg Hwy 1 is a beautiful coastal cruise. We are glad you chose us to be your spot here in Fort Bragg, we are proud of our ocean views! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
449 reviews
2.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
222 reviews
2.5 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Address: 1111 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range: $143 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Reservation Counter, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Fort Bragg
The Beachcomber Motel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing