We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The best motel in Ft. Bragg!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Paradise, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best motel in Ft. Bragg!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Beachcomber has it all! We stay here once or twice a year and the rooms are always clean, well appointed, everything works, good showers, very good beds, great looking rooms for a very reasonable price. They are pet friendly too and our dog just loved to play in the ocean. Speaking of the ocean, it is just literally steps away at one of the most picturesque beaches in Northern California. Bring your camera because you will want to capture the beautiful views that surround this wonderful motel. Wether you play in the ocean, take a long walk on the wildflower covered bluffs, or sit on your balcony and listen to the waves while you watch the sunset you can't go wrong when you stay at The Beachcomber.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paradise_Pair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcombermotel, Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
You are too kind! We appreciate the title very much. I have to say nature provides a very picturesque setting for our Motel. We are excited to hear you enjoy all we have to offer. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    210
    52
    24
    32
See reviews for
169
321
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

First time here and the people were great helpful and loved the room along with the view. The bed was very comfortable (109) the view was amazing and beautiful. I loved hearing the ocean as I woke up the next day. Decided to stay and extra day and the staff was very helpful. Joe was great friendly and helped in anyway he could. great customer service. The only thing I would like to add is the water pressure was not that good, but overall it's a great place to stay. I will be coming back in the future and will stay here again. I came from Corona area and it was a drive but well worth it. Thanks you all for a pleasant stay :) This will be my favorite motel in Fort Bragg Ca. We celebrated our 10 year Anniversary and took some great pictures. I highly recommend this motel to anyone. LE.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcombermotel, Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. It is always rewarding to hear that a guest has had a great stay with us. We strive to be as helpful as possible in order to ensure a relaxing enjoyable time for all our guests. We look forward to having you back soon! Don't forget to ask the front desk what incentives there are for returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have been vacationing at this hotel for years. We've stayed at other hotels in Ft. Bragg at the beach, but none compare to the Beachcomber. Their recent upgrades to the rooms rock....very comfy beds, flat screen TV's. Our favorite rooms are upstairs-you get to watch sensational sunsets from your balcony.
Nearby are good organic & vegan restaurants. Oh...and did I mention, the rooms are really clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaisleySeashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcombermotel, Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear you have enjoyed the property. Definitely sharing this with our Housekeepers, they are happy to keep things clean and tidy for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We've been coming to the Beachcomber for years and we always enjoy our stay,The beachfront view is Spectacular!We have many memories in Fort Bragg,and the Beachcomber is definitely part of that.The room is always neat and clean,and having the balcony with 2 chairs and a table is perfect for enjoying a bottle of wine and the sunset.My favorite Motel in Fort Bragg.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcombermotel, Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. We are so happy to hear that your visits to the Beachcomber have been all you hoped for. We look forward to your next visit, make sure you ask the front desk what specials we have for returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed 3 days, 2 nights in this hotel, but will never return! Coming "home" late from a redwood trip on the first night we found our room had not been cleaned. The bed was not made, the trash wasn't emptied, and the towels were not replaced. There was a tub leak out into the entrance hall that had been there quite a while and had left a stain and smelled. For the price, we expected more! They advertised a gym - there was no gym!!!!

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Else L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcombermotel, Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. I apologize for your visit not being as pleasant as it should. Please call me anytime to discuss it further, 707-964-2402. Hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were not sure about this property but wanted something right on the ocean so we took a chance. Very standard looking old-fashioned motel. But our room had been updated. We had a very comfortable king (206) with a balcony overlooking the ocean. Beautiful sunset! Good bed, flat screen TV, sink outside bathroom, very tiny but clean toilet -shower area. Very simple breakfast of coffee juice pastries in lobby included. Staff was nice but lacking in helpfulness when it came to things to do or restaurants in the area. They could at least have copies of menus in the lobby. There was a sign posted that they are asking for a permit to have a bar on the premises.

Room Tip: Upstairs on ocean side is best. Make sure you have a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abbiedax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcombermotel, Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. We are happy you enjoyed the room and the views. We will definitely let our front desk staff to be more informative about our local eateries. The town is quaint but it is packed with great food! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The Beachcomber is a motel off Hwy1/N. Main Street just north of "downtown" Fort Bragg. I brought my dog for a one night getaway and will be sure to return for more getaways, but for longer than just one night. Our dog friendly room had a sliding door that opened up to the deck with tables, chairs and BBQs. A great place to enjoy a glass of wine that you can pick up on your way up here. Just a few steps up and you are right on the pedestrian bike path. Just a few yards further, OK maybe about 50 yards further and you are on the beach. Lots of paths to walk down with your dog. By the end of the day, both me and my dog were pooped! The weather was perfect; I felt bad going inside to rest a bit, but my dog fell asleep immediately. Lots of folks bring there dogs here, all our neighbors had their dogs with them. Great deal for a comfortable room and breathtaking sunset!

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank YankeeFan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcombermotel, Manager at The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy you brought your pet to visit our property! We pride ourselves in being a pet friendly property and having comfortable accommodations for all. Please visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
2.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Surf and Sand Lodge
Surf and Sand Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
10.8 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Property: The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Address: 1111 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach 1*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Fort Bragg
The Beachcomber Motel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing