We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, great location, average room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clara, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great view, great location, average room”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I was a walk in and they had a room for me with a kitchenette. The service staff was very helpful. The carpet in the room needed replacing and the room could use a few updates. The room was located right next to the ocean. There was a walkway right behind my room that was great for taking a walk to the bridge in the morning. There were several trails to the beach as well. I had a fantastic view of the sunset. For the price the room was average with a small bathroom (the door hit the curved shower rod).
It would've been great to be able to just exit out the back door and leave the room locked and go walking on the walkway. Instead I ended up walking around to the front lobby to where I could go in between the buildings to reach the walkway and still leave my room secure.
Overall I might consider staying here again if I was passing through.

Room Tip: Go for a balcony room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingPamB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    222
    56
    25
    33
See reviews for
175
344
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have stayed overnight here before. This time I was here 6 days. The staff as usual were all very nice. The room standard but kept very clean. The bed very comfortable. I slept well. They had an extra sm. fridge put in my room. I enjoyed being next to the walk having my dog with me. We took lots of walks and met many nice people and dogs. I felt safe and enjoyed my stay very much. I will definatly be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachangelNevadaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This motel on the north edge of Fort Bragg has a spectacular setting: right on the water, with the coastal trail running alongside, north to MacKerricher State Park and south to the picturesque trestle bridge and cliffs; wind-sculpted cypress trees in front of the lobby windows and deer in the field across the road. Our room was on the ground floor back, with the only window facing the parking lot. It would have been worthwhile to upgrade to either a second-floor room or a room on the water side, where we could have kept our curtains open without every passerby being able to see in. Our room was small, the bathroom large, the tv a little bit tricky. The breakfast offerings were adequate, but the lobby, where breakfast is laid out, got crowded in the morning, and the few tables available are not nearly sufficient for this large-ish establishment. However, we enjoyed our coffee and tea and bagels and muffins outside on the steps looking out at the fog and cypress trees.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirl108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

This place was a little pricey,but it was nice. Great views! The rooms were very clean. We were so close to the ocean we opened the patio door and could hear the ocean from our bed. Each room has a balcony that you can sit out and watch the surfers, it was pretty cool. I got a couple nice photo shots. They have a nice flat screen tv, but we never turned it on. The view was too beautiful. Beachcomber also has lots of easy walk ways to the ocean. They also have a nice boardwalk along the ocean. They were close to town where you could walk if you wanted, less than a half mile.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mdsanoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda Dunes, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were disappointed that the accommodations were less than we expected for the cost of this place. We enjoyed the balcony facing the ocean, but the room was just fair and the breakfast was very minimal and disappointing. I think we could have found a better deal elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at the Beachcomber this week for 3 nights. This place is Awesome... Great views of the ocean, free breakfast every AM and coffee/tea 24 hours a day.

The front office staff was extremely friendly, courteous and helpful.

We had a blast and WILL return.

Room Tip: Any room with a view is GREAT !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Beachcomber on the recommendation of other family members and we were not disappointed. The room was very clean and the staff couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. The access to the beach or the old logging road that runs parallel to coast was awesome! This really is a great stay for a family or couple for that matter.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Perry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
2.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
2.5 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach

Property: The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Address: 1111 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Fort Bragg
The Beachcomber Motel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing