We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the higher resort area price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Well worth the higher resort area price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife wanted to spend a weekend (Fri-Mon) near Mendocino so I bit the bullet to pay this higher than usual resort area hotel price (we used Hotwire.com). But it was well worth the extra money! Our room looked like it had just been recently renovated since everything seemed brand new, carpet, beds, furniture, TV, walls, etc. Great shower, granite counters in bathroom, and the breakfast was the best free hot breakfast we have ever had in any hotel anywhere! I think someone complained about the food choices, but we could not understand why. Here is a list of what they offered (please excuse our memory in case we forgot something!) - boiled eggs (already shelled), scrambled eggs (or small omelettes on another day), bacon (ham slices another day), low fat or fat free milk, cold cereal, pancakes, toast/bagels, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, Yoplait yogurt, cinnamon rolls (these were really good!), hot water to make hot chocolate or cider or tea. The eating area might get a bit crowded at times during the breakfast hours (6:30-9:30am) but they had a few extra tables just outside a sliding glass door as well as additional seating in their lobby area.

This hotel even had a nice indoor pool and exercise room. Free wireless internet. Location was excellent on 20, just a few blocks east from Highway 1, but far enough away to avoid most of the traffic noise. Some convenient shopping just across the street included Rite Aid, Harvest Market, Papa Murphy, Subway, etc. McDonalds also very close by. Safeway and Starbucks also close.

If you stay at this hotel, you might ask if all their rooms are recently renovated. If not, ask for one that is newer and ask for a room with an inside hall access. I noticed some of their rooms opened directly to the outside.

Room Tip: Try Hotwire.com or Priceline.com and select 3 star hotel in Ft. Bragg. No guarantee you will get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RevfromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    142
    52
    15
    6
See reviews for
103
126
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nicely updated hotel. Good breakfast. Nice large size room and very clean. We came Presidens day and did not make reservations until last minute [forgot it was long weekend!] No king available, but the two queen bed room was large and the beds were very comfortable. Did not have a view because of the late booking, but most of the time was spent sight seeing, so it didn't matter that much. A little ways from downtown, but put us closed to the restaurants in the bay and the town of Mendocino. Did not use pool or spa, but looked nice.

Room Tip: Stayed on 2nd floor, a little sound above, but not annoying, still probably would have taken 3rd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for President's weekend. It is a nice hotel. It is pet friendly, nicely updated, complimentary breakfast and an indoor pool with a hot tub. It is close to everything in Fort Bragg: Glass Beach, downtown shops and restaurants (Cowlick's ice cream is yummy!), MacKerricher Park (nice bike ride along coast and tide pools to explore), and an easy drive to downtown Mendocino. Didn't see any whales this time so I guess we'll have to come back again. Would probably stay here again!

Room Tip: Not all view rooms have the best view to the ocean. Might want to check with staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plumas lake
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a nice hotel, off the beach so priced resonably for sight seeing.

Heated pool, nice....rooms nice; we had a great view out the back windows.

Centrally located for getting out and seeing the local sites, awesome!

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Had a wonderful time in Fort Bragg! the Holiday Inn Express is easy to find and well located in relation to the downtown, beaches, and points of interest. The hotel is nice. If you are familiar with HIE, they offer a continental breakfast. The dinning area was a little small for the number of people having breakfast, but the selection of food was nice and the service at the hotel overall was fantastic! Very friendly and courteous. We had booked a room with a view through Orbitz. We got a room on the first floor and even in the dark of night there was clearly no view.... they changed us to 205 on the second floor immediately. The view is pretty, but it is trees, not the ocean. The room is spacious with two queen beds. Two adults and one teenage girl were very comfortable. The room was very clean and had all the usual amenities. We particularly loved that the little refrigerator also had a freezer so we could re-freeze our cold packs for the travel cooler. Would have liked a safe. A selling point for the hotel for us was the indoor swimming pool (also has a spa). It is not huge but the water was wonderfully warm (if a little over-chlorinated) and all the children swimming - including our teenager and her father - had a wonderful time. It was very cold out - icy - but the trip to the pool was only a few outdoor steps because there is an interior stairway for access. Felt completely safe in the hotel and parking lot. A number of international guests. If you go, don't miss nearby Glass Beach! Very interesting. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gracebeavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
208 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

It's a clean reasonably new hotel and the staff are very friendly. The breakfast was pretty good. We did not use the pool but it seemed like it was popular with a lot of the families. The only problem we had was that our TV reception was fuzzy and the front desk could not fix the problem. We were not offered a new room because we were told the problem is with the cable service so it was a problem in all of the rooms. As noted in other reviews, the rooms don't have a view. The price is not cheap but it was not ridiculously priced either.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hitokiri_Battosai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Hitokiri_Battosai,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

No very good value considered the price that I paid and the room that I got. There are no view at all for my room even they call it that way. Our room was at the edge and practically no wifi signal. It is at the edge of the town but most of the restaurants are short driving distances.

Room Tip: Try higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BA_Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
7.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.3 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
3.0 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.7 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg

Property: Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
Address: 250 Highway 20, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5789
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express is among the newest hotels located on the Mendocino Coast, in Fort Bragg Ca. Overlooking Hare Creek, Holiday Inn Express offers a relaxing and serene environment with spectacular canyon views. Located at the south end of town the hotel is just minutes from downtown Fort Bragg and only 8 miles north of the Mendocino Village. Whether you're planning a leisure vacation or traveling on business, the Fort Bragg/ Mendocino coast has an abundance to offer. Coming to enjoy whale watching or fishing? We are conveniently located across the street from S. Harbor Dr. boat docks. If a train ride is your desire, we are less than 2 miles from the California Western Railroad Skunk Train Depot. We are also just minutes away from several California State Parks including MacKerricher, Van Damme, Jughandle and Russian Gulch. Accessible facilities are provided for our guests with disabilities. Our guests enjoy the use of our fitness room, indoor heated pool, spa and our complimentary breakfast bar. Our friendly staff is on hand 24 hours a day to meet our guest's needs. Whether you're here on business or a relaxing getaway the Holiday Inn Express Hotel is your place to stay and play. It is important to note Fort Bragg hotels do not have air conditioning as temperatures rarely exceed 70 degrees! Wireless Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg Hotel Fort Bragg
Holiday Inn Fort Bragg
Fort Bragg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing