We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Seating Was The Worst Thing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Breakfast Seating Was The Worst Thing”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I was a little hesitant to book this hotel based on some of the reviews but it really is a pretty good hotel. Clean and modern rooms and a nice sized parking lot. The hotel is a little ways off of 101 on a side road and good for those using Fort Bragg as a stopping point for the night. If you really want a spot that is within a close walk to the ocean I would look elsewhere. The biggest negative was the seating area for breakfast is small and did not have enough seats for guests. The front desk staff was friendly although they forgot to put my room number on key card holder.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wxtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    146
    54
    15
    6
See reviews for
108
130
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at this place years ago before the renovations, before the new owners. It was pretty bad. We called see if there were any changes to the property and if so, to make a reservation and to our pleasant surprise, the woman on the phone said they had remodeled the hotel and was now under new owners.

We gave it a try and I declare, it is one of the most improved renovations I've ever seen.

The rooms are much brighter. The furniture is now up to date. They now have AC (last time they didn't.). Service is so much better. Room was very clean.

The fitness room has no name equipment but it is good enough. Maybe one day you can put in a little higher quality equipment, but it is better than other offerings in town, so i am not complaining.

Not sure about the breakfast. Didn't look quite as appetizing as other chains like Hampton so we skipped.

If I didn't know about how improved they are, might only give three stars, but I want to give the extra star for the effort they put into the renovation.

Hope the quality stays over time. We plan to be back! Thanks.

Room Tip: Pay the extra fee for a room away from the road. It is very quiet back there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

HI Express has upped its game over the past couple of years and this hotel is up there with the best of them in terms of room cleanliness and quality, hotel consistency across the chain and staff service. We did get a sea view as promised, but only a little bit of one, in the far distance and at a real angle if we stood right by the window and cricked our necks - front-on it was just an overgrown thicket. We found a nice restaurant (Silver's) a short drive away at North Quay, and there were several others we could have tried had we been staying for more than 1 night. If we are in the area again, I'd book here again as it looked the best around and it is in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I had made arrangements at this hotel for a wedding party. The rooms were clean, comfortable and nice. Great location at the intersection of Hwy 20 and 1. The pleasant staff, led by Pamela, made it even more comfortable for all our guests. Thank you.

Room Tip: Get rooms with an ocean view though the ocean is a bit far. Make sure you enjoy a cup of tea at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docLosAltos_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Be careful, what you pay for isn't always what you get! We paid extra for a River View, well you can't see or even hear the river from this hotel. You can see a creek full of trees bit definately not a River View. When questioned this to reception the answer we got, well we can't do anything about the trees! Which is fine but why advertise & sell the room for extra knowing you can't see the River?
We did get a $10 refund, big deal!
Our room was ok nothing special and on the small side with 1 king bed, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron & ironing board. The room was also quite noisy, walls very thin so you could hear next door, plus upstairs moving around. We could also hear running water, from other guest room; showers & baths.
When i went to use the shower the next morning i discovered that it was broken, i went to reception to report this, the female receptionist quite rudely said it was working yesterday even before she had asked my room number. A Maintenance chap came and did a temporary fix so we could shower but not really a very good fix as water was leaking all over the bathroom floor.  After this experience I wouldn't stay here again, and probably wouldn't choose Holiday Inn again, 1st & last time. Not impressed with whole package, staff rudeness, lack of customer care and general attitude towards a paying customer.
Lastly Breakfast was ok, not a bad selection, yet very busy and not enough tables as usual.
My opinion give this one a miss.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJLSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear SJLSurrey,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast.

However, We’re sorry you received poor customer service from our staff which was unacceptable. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

It was quite expensive for motel style accomodation ($190) but I guess prices go up here in the summer. Rooms are ok, clean and quiet. Comfortable beds. Standard breakfast. Quite large pool.
Seems like it is one of the best hotels available in this area. Book if you can get better price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawel_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

We were happy to find a clean room and hotel. They also have a nice swimming pool and gym.
This hotel is placed in a quiet zone, in Fort Bragg. With the car, it takes five minutes to reach the centre of the town or some stunning beaches or parks on the coast.
I had a wifii issue during my stay, but they were able to fix it promptly.
When i asked for some hints, they pointed me to the best places.

My room was big enought, beds were comfortable, bathroom is wide. Furnitures are new. Breakfast was ok, but they are missing an espresso machine to be perfect:-)

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 187849Gsquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
0.7 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
619 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.4 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
476 reviews
7.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.8 mi away
Seabird Lodge - a Signature Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg

Property: Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
Address: 250 Highway 20, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5789
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express is among the newest hotels located on the Mendocino Coast, in Fort Bragg Ca. Overlooking Hare Creek, Holiday Inn Express offers a relaxing and serene environment with spectacular canyon views. Located at the south end of town the hotel is just minutes from downtown Fort Bragg and only 8 miles north of the Mendocino Village. Whether you're planning a leisure vacation or traveling on business, the Fort Bragg/ Mendocino coast has an abundance to offer. Coming to enjoy whale watching or fishing? We are conveniently located across the street from S. Harbor Dr. boat docks. If a train ride is your desire, we are less than 2 miles from the California Western Railroad Skunk Train Depot. We are also just minutes away from several California State Parks including MacKerricher, Van Damme, Jughandle and Russian Gulch. Accessible facilities are provided for our guests with disabilities. Our guests enjoy the use of our fitness room, indoor heated pool, spa and our complimentary breakfast bar. Our friendly staff is on hand 24 hours a day to meet our guest's needs. Whether you're here on business or a relaxing getaway the Holiday Inn Express Hotel is your place to stay and play. It is important to note Fort Bragg hotels do not have air conditioning as temperatures rarely exceed 70 degrees! Wireless Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg Hotel Fort Bragg
Holiday Inn Fort Bragg
Fort Bragg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing