We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have been here several times”

Cowlicks Hand Made Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Downtown Fort Bragg
Restaurant details
Description: Downtown Fort Bragg
Northern California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I have been here several times”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Excellent place, staff, icecream, and selections. whole family is satisfied. if your feeling adventurous try the candy top mushroom my fav. it tastes more like paralines and cream. not like musrooms :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank danilla3comet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    93
    17
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This shop is two stores combined into one, with tables in the front window and the freezers behind. All their ice creams are house-made. The people in line in front of us ordered Mushroom ice cream, and I was intrigued, so I had a taste. It's made with Candy-cap mushrooms, which are said to be very sweet. The Mushroom ice cream actually tasted like a sweet, rich vanilla, with a heavy dose of maple syrup, which is the mushroom at work. It was very good but too sweet for me, sort of like a really sweet butter pecan, so I ordered the chocolate. I liked it, but I'm a big fan of really dark chocolate and this was medium. My husband was delighted to find a half-banana split on the menu, made with a single scoop of ice cream, chunks of fresh banana, and the usual syrups, sprinkled toppings, and whipped cream. I also tasted the strawberry. I love strawberry ice cream, but not the bright pink stuff you get in most ice cream shops. This was very pale with chunks of strawberries in it, sort of like Haagen-Dazs. Prices are very reasonable. My single scoop cost $1.95 and his half-split came to something like $3.50. The place is clean and somewhat echo-y, but pleasant enough. If you go, try the Mushroom ice cream - most people rave about it, and my taste was delicious.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adeliegentoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I scream, you scream, we all scream for Cowlicks Ice Cream.”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Fun place for great ice cream. Our first time there a few days ago. Lots of flavors, generous scoops, nice seating, right on Main Street, friendly service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jupiterchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
1,049 reviews
483 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,666 helpful votes
“Ice cream good, service a bit lacking”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We love good ice cream, so of course had to try this place. We felt that the Chocolate, Vanilla and Peanut Butter were all excellent. The Cookies-n-Cream I thought was good enough, not outstanding in any way, actually not quite as good as some premium store brands.

The young ladies behind the counter did not have bubbly outgoing personalities - they were polite but that was it. I didn't realize until I read some reviews today that we could sample flavours! Certainly nobody offered any, even after I mentioned that the mushroom must be really weird. Oh well.

The building is quite 'echo-y' and with more than one or two children, would be pretty loud. It's right on Highway 1, so no tables outside. Parking is limited but we found a spot on the side street just to the north. There is no RV parking.

Would we go again? Probably, but now I know to ask for samples!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank half-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This place is awesome!! It smells so good when you first walk in. Everything is so fresh and home made. If you dont want to look like a cow I suggest you order mini scoops as opposed to other scoops. (: A mini scoop is a normal scoop you would get at any other ice cream place. The Ice cream is amazing and so many different flavors to choose from. Always a "must stop" when in Fort Bragg!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rlbglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cowlicks Hand Made Ice Cream also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Been to Cowlicks Hand Made Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing