We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting plants”

Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens offers everything from colorful displays to thunderous waves. The mild maritime climate makes it a garden for all seasons, attracting gardeners and nature lovers. With manicured formal gardens, a dense coastal pine forest, native flora and habitats, fern-covered canyons, camellias, rhododendrons, magnolias and conifers, heaths and heathers, and flower-filled coastal bluffs overlooking the blue ocean, the garden is a jewel on the Pacific Coast. Open daily except the Saturday after Labor Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas. March-October 9am-5pm, November-February 9am-4pm. Rhody's Cafe, located in the Gardens, serves fresh, locally made lunches, coffee drinks, desserts, and Cowlicks'Hand Made Ice Cream. Picnic lunches are available. Open April-September, 11am-4pm. The Garden Store and Nursery on the Plaza are open daily. There is no admission charge to visit the Store, Nursery, or Cafe. ~Our mission is to engage and enrich lives by displaying and conserving plants in harmony with our Northern California coastal ecosystems.~
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Guys Mills, Pennsylvania, Usa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting plants”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Some of the trees and flowers were in bloom. The forest trail that could have been beautiful was past prime for blooms. I like rose gardens. This one was small and not very interesting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jagriffith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    755
    172
    24
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The gardens are lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We just missed the rhododendrons and azaleas, but the dahlia garden was in full bloom, and the veggie garden emerging into greatness. The landscape designs are well thought out with cold and depth. Sculptures add to the visual pleasure. They sell plants, and I always find things in the gift shop, and enjoy lunch in the cafe garden

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hours of enjoyment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

I'm not at all a flower person, but hiking the 45+ acres was great. With the different zones from the coastal to the woodland to the dahlia garden, taking pictures and soaking in the landscapes was so much fun. The weather couldn't have been better either! One of the guides joked the whole time about us spending so much time in the dahlia garden and even saw us near the end remarking that we were STILL there. As a photographer, the options are abundant. With flowers, woods, coast, and birds, there are tons of options. This is a must go and one can easily spend hours there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best botanical garden in Northern CA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Mendocino Coast Botanical Garden has it all, LOCATION on the gorgeous Mendocino Coast with great ocean views; VARIETY everything from cottage garden type plants to cacti to an unsurpassed collection of rhododendrons; ACCESSABILITY most of the extensive gardens are easily seen by wheelchair and there are even electric cart available for loan; FRIENDLY over many years of visits I've never heard a staff member or fellow visitor speak in any way other then open, helpful and welcoming.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MLFCatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
431 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“A Must See When In Mendocino”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

The garden was recommended by the staff at the B&B we stayed at in Mendocino. We were so glad they told us about this place because this garden is beautiful! The flowers are lovely, the gardens well maintained and manicured. We were surprised at how big this place is. You can also walk all the way to the coast. I suggest bringing a packed lunch or you can buy food at their cafe and sit in one of the many benches near the shore or in the observation deck. It is really remarkable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ToniLuvsScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Been to Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing