We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See When In Mendocino”

Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens offers everything from colorful displays to thunderous waves. The mild maritime climate makes it a garden for all seasons, attracting gardeners and nature lovers. With manicured formal gardens, a dense coastal pine forest, native flora and habitats, fern-covered canyons, camellias, rhododendrons, magnolias and conifers, heaths and heathers, and flower-filled coastal bluffs overlooking the blue ocean, the garden is a jewel on the Pacific Coast. Open daily except the Saturday after Labor Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas. March-October 9am-5pm, November-February 9am-4pm. Rhody's Cafe, located in the Gardens, serves fresh, locally made lunches, coffee drinks, desserts, and Cowlicks'Hand Made Ice Cream. Picnic lunches are available. Open April-September, 11am-4pm. The Garden Store and Nursery on the Plaza are open daily. There is no admission charge to visit the Store, Nursery, or Cafe. ~Our mission is to engage and enrich lives by displaying and conserving plants in harmony with our Northern California coastal ecosystems.~
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
464 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“A Must See When In Mendocino”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The garden was recommended by the staff at the B&B we stayed at in Mendocino. We were so glad they told us about this place because this garden is beautiful! The flowers are lovely, the gardens well maintained and manicured. We were surprised at how big this place is. You can also walk all the way to the coast. I suggest bringing a packed lunch or you can buy food at their cafe and sit in one of the many benches near the shore or in the observation deck. It is really remarkable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ToniLuvsScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    797
    184
    25
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

What do you mean, you aren't going here? That's crazy; you MUST go! This is more beautiful than can be imagined. The pictures and descriptions can't do it justice. Just go see for yourself. An added bonus is the very friendly, knowledgeable staff and the cafe which as really great food. I highly recommend the veggie panini. So scrumptious! Seriously, stop reading the reviews and just go already!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank iodoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, TN, USA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Botanical Surprise”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Take a couple hours to enjoy this well laid out and labeled botanical preserve. Lots of different varieties to check out. Well maintained. Great calming experience in a busy touring trip. Take the time to wander out to the coast at the end of the trail - beautiful views!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DanandMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willows, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spending the day at the Botanical Gardens”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

If you are staying for even a day...maybe two...and if you are a plant,and or flower lover..then this is the place you won't want to miss.Be sure and bring a light sweater,or jacket...if you tend to get cold.Oh...and do not forget to bring a water bottle,(or two).There's lots of walking involved in the gardens.If you have a knee problem,(as I do),there are electric scooters for rent.Only $5.00,for the day.What a life saver that was,for me.If you like to take pictures...then,do not forget to bring your camera.If you want to bring a picnic lunch...there are places in the gardens,especially for that.We go to Fort Bragg,at least once a year..and we always visit the Botanical gardens.There's always something different blooming,each time we visit. The only way I can describe it is......AWESOME!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We loved the Botanical Gardens! Flowers, trees abound!. There are trails to different flower gardens, including handicapped accessible trails, whether wheelchair and scooter. I saw more types of flowers and plants than I never knew existed. I loved taking the trail to the ocean! The most beautiful view! There is a very nice snack bar, where I had a delicious raspberry iced tea. Don't miss Mendocino Botanical Gardens!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank birdie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Been to Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing