We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens.”

Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens offers everything from colorful displays to thunderous waves. The mild maritime climate makes it a garden for all seasons, attracting gardeners and nature lovers. With manicured formal gardens, a dense coastal pine forest, native flora and habitats, fern-covered canyons, camellias, rhododendrons, magnolias and conifers, heaths and heathers, and flower-filled coastal bluffs overlooking the blue ocean, the garden is a jewel on the Pacific Coast. Open daily except the Saturday after Labor Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas. March-October 9am-5pm, November-February 9am-4pm. Rhody's Cafe, located in the Gardens, serves fresh, locally made lunches, coffee drinks, desserts, and Cowlicks'Hand Made Ice Cream. Picnic lunches are available. Open April-September, 11am-4pm. The Garden Store and Nursery on the Plaza are open daily. There is no admission charge to visit the Store, Nursery, or Cafe. ~Our mission is to engage and enrich lives by displaying and conserving plants in harmony with our Northern California coastal ecosystems.~
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Felton, California
Level Contributor
184 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens.”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We've driven past these gardens many times and never taken the time to stop. This time, we made it a point to visit and we are so glad we did. This is a very extensive place with a wonderful diversity of plant life. The day we visited, it was a bit warm which made for a nice stroll through the gardens and along the coast line (the next day, it poured down rain so we were quite lucky). I would love to come back when the Rhododendrons are blooming as I'm sure it's absolutely gorgeous.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CADreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    774
    181
    24
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada County
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful coastal zone gardens”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

One of the best botanical gardens at the coast. Large Rhododendrons, nice trails, great walks to the ocean, and more. Visit it whenever we are in the area. Best time is April/May when the plants are all mostly in bloom.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ridgetop20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Excellent way to spend a couple or three-four hours. There is everything from desert flora to coastline, kelp and rocky bluffs to see. Several trails wind and wave throughout the grounds, offering many photo opportunities. A great dragon sculpture half submerged in the ground caught my eye. We visited December 26 and not much was in bloom, but still well worth the visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Festival of Lights nice, but short”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We came for the Festival of Lights, which takes place from 5:00 until 7:30 p.m. When we asked in advance at the gardens, they told us it would take us about an hour to go through it. At a charge of $10/person, we decided we'd come back at 5:00 to do it.

It took us about 20 minutes, and would have been less than 15 if we hadn't taken a bunch of pictures. We were a little disappointed in that aspect of it.

The lights themselves were beautifully done. We did not stay to hear the choir which was due to perform at 6:00.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GPnorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Foggy Magic”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The morning was beautiful and sunny, but 2:30, the fog had rolled in, but we were just getting to the Gardens. Hardly anyone there; it felt magical. Will go again in the spring, when the Rhododendrons are in bloom. It will be amazing! (We stayed at Emerald Dolphin Inn and received two tickets to the Gardens. The $14 admission might have scared us off, otherwise.)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Winequine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Been to Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing