We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Park A must See”

Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens offers everything from colorful displays to thunderous waves. The mild maritime climate makes it a garden for all seasons, attracting gardeners and nature lovers. With manicured formal gardens, a dense coastal pine forest, native flora and habitats, fern-covered canyons, camellias, rhododendrons, magnolias and conifers, heaths and heathers, and flower-filled coastal bluffs overlooking the blue ocean, the garden is a jewel on the Pacific Coast. Open daily except the Saturday after Labor Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas. March-October 9am-5pm, November-February 9am-4pm. Rhody's Cafe, located in the Gardens, serves fresh, locally made lunches, coffee drinks, desserts, and Cowlicks'Hand Made Ice Cream. Picnic lunches are available. Open April-September, 11am-4pm. The Garden Store and Nursery on the Plaza are open daily. There is no admission charge to visit the Store, Nursery, or Cafe. ~Our mission is to engage and enrich lives by displaying and conserving plants in harmony with our Northern California coastal ecosystems.~
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Allenton, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Park A must See”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Oh My Word...so much to say about the park...we went star fish seeking and found various colors. What an experience for Midwestern people who have never seen the beauty of the Ocean this way. The sea lions kept watch over their young. See the whale bone exhibit PLEASE...what a site.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ShellyB128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    185
    25
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Volcano, California
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This 40+ acre garden is filled with paths which wander through a wonderland of plants and flowers.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank rwwaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I wish we could have spent more time here.”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Mendocino coast botanical gardens is a lovely place. I was surprised at how big it is. I visited in early June and the rodendendrums (sp?) and the other flowers that look similar were in full bloom. Sorry not really knowledgable about the names of flowers. Any way... I was here with my husband, mom, and 2 daughters (2 and 6) and the whole family enjoyed it. We couldn't stay as long as I wanted to since the kids were running out of steam but I would definitely return. We had a picnic there and then walked around on what seemed like an endless amount of trails. There is a very pretty walk out to some coastal cliffs that was very beautiful as well. The enterance fee is a little steep but I understand why they charge that much.

Helpful?
Thank travelingpants08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely gardens”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We have visited this garden before and made sure to visit it again on this trip. We went in a different month so there were different things blooming when we went this time. It is very beautifully planted and larger than you first imagine when you walk in. It extends all the way to the coast and there is a nice path that ambles around the coast. The inner garden is more formal and then you go through a gate (meant to protect the plants from deer) to an outer, wilder area and the coast. This time we went in June and the fuchsias were blooming. Last time we were there in August and the dahlia garden was spectacular. Not only that, but there was a special event _"Art in the Gardens" which was a special annual event where artists and craftsmen show their work in the gardens, among the plants with demos and music. There is a well stocked nursery where you can purchase many of the plants in the garden and a store that carries interesting gifts and other items. There is also a place to buy food and sit down to rest as well. We enjoyed the visit again and will go to visit again I am sure. I have only one negative and that is that the adult admission seems excessive at $14. I would expect something more in the $8 range.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank dafnaanfad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A Must-See When in Fort Bragg”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

No matter the time of year, the walk through the formal gardens out to the coastal bluffs is always remarkable. We especially enjoy the gardens after a rain when the creeks are running full.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SnmaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Been to Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing