We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blissful weekend get-away spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surf and Sand Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surf and Sand Lodge
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Blissful weekend get-away spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

I was referred to this place by my brother who is a frequent visitor to the area. I checked them out online and found them to be suitable for a quick weekend get-away from the SF Bay area. We stayed in the King room with 2 person whirlpool tub (only one in the place) and killer view. Well, honestly about 70% of rooms have a great view. The hotel is built such that there are a number of separate home-like buildings with each containing 5 rooms if like the one we were in. Each building is keyed differently you can only get into your own. Our room was on the second floor of the Sunset building and we had a private balcony; as is for all 2nd floor rooms. 1st floor rooms have private patios accessible by sliding glass doors. The hotel itself is set back from the cliffs of the rugged coastline and adjacent to the "Old Haul Road" trail that runs north and south for many a mile. There are a couple beaches in short walking distance, if you can navigate your way down some of the precarious trails to them. Some of them have large areas that support lots of different sea-life. We saw lots of star fish, sea anemone even small crabs and fish. Lake Cleone and Ten Mile Dunes is also a nice walk a few miles from the hotel. A very short walk south is the Pudding Creek Beach and old trestle bridge which is also part of the Old Haul Rd and free to walk across.

This place is a quite setting and is pretty much a room and a view. Not much else. If you seek frills, best look elsewhere. Room was pretty standard. Small tube TV, VCR and coffee maker. The room did have a small refrigerator, which I didn’t ask for, but was a blessed surprise. It came in handy for our 2 night stay. The price per night was reasonable at just under $200/night in July.

I would recommend this hotel because it was clean; the staff was friendly and was a good value. If you want a peaceful place to relax, watch a great sunset, use a hub for outdoor activities than this is your place. For those seeking high style, fancy accommodations/amenities you won’t find that here. We liked it so much that I am sure we'll become regulars here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j3mmr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    102
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
69
165
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
REDWOOD CITY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

Having been coming to this area for 25 years ,occassionally we try a new hotel just to see what they are like and what they offer.
This hotel has a great location . You can sit on your balcony and watch the parade of locals walking back and forth throughout the day. Most will nod and say hello.
As for the room , it is on the small side(402) but thats what we wanted. They have bigger rooms available.
The room was clean as was the bathroom.Towels were soft and they stocked enough for bathing twice if you chose to do so.
Coffee supplied is a major brand and the quality is good.
Wi fi is not available . The tv and vcr are old ,old,old . They need some serious updating.
The price is ok but you can do just as good or better at other hotels in that area and get more amenities than this business offers.
We have a regular place we usually go to so I do not forsee going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFFOG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2009

We stayed at the Surf and Sand over the MLK weekend. We were looking for an affordable, oceanside room close to town. The room was fine, very clean and comfortable. This is not a fancy hotel, but it was wonderful for a weekend stay. It was quiet, and the balconies are private.

Even though the motel is on Hwy 1, there is no traffic noise in the room, since the sliding door faces the ocean. I kept my door open all night so I could hear the waves! The motel is perched above some bluffs, and many paths lead down to a sandy beach with rock outcrops. The beach was quiet and very few people were using it, even on the holiday weekend with sunny, warm weather.

I would recommend getting a 2nd floor room for the better view.

The motel has a VCR in the room, with an eclectic assortment of free movies in the office. The Old Haul Road makes for an easy walk into town, or down the coast to other beaches.

We enjoyed dining at North Coast Brewing Company, and walked to a few bars in downtown. The organic breakfast at Cafe 1 was huge and delicious.

I would happily book another stay at the Surf and Sand.

  • Liked — Truly an oceanside motel, reasonable price
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pachamama57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2008

I booked a 2 Queens first floor room for myself and my elderly mother and was most pleased. The room was very spacious and met our needs nicely. We put one of the comfy chairs at one end with a lamp so she could read, while I was at the opposite end with my laptop on the table. We each felt as if we had a little "private" space which is a nice feature if you aren't used to sharing a room with someone other than a spouse!

(Speaking of laptops, the Surf and Sand doesn't have WI-FI, but the neighboring hotel does so there was no problem getting on the internet.)

The small deck was nice and access to the path along the bluffs was perfect. (Get a second floor room if you want the best view.)

The vanity is in the room. While the tub/toilet room was spacious enough, it would be nice to have a small shelf and some hooks on the wall for clothes/robes.

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay.

P.S....if you have room, stop at Roundman's Meats on Main St and take home some of their wonderful bacon, jerky or other meats!

  • Liked — Spacious room and proximity to the ocean.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank cobble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Ridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2008

We've been to the Surf & Sand Motel a few times now, with our sweet and grand kids and then just the two of us. We really enjoy it there, would highly encourage anyone with or without kids to stay there. The staff are very nice, the view is outstanding and the walk to the beach is just beautiful at night. The sunsets are breathtaking from the balcony. It's the best motel we've stayed in at Ft. Bragg. The Smith Family

  • Liked — The short walk to the beach/views
  • Disliked — don't have anything bad to say about it.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvHockey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sac
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2008

we stayed at the second story king size tub in room with fireplace it was gorgeous and quiet and peaceful.
You wake up in the morning and look out hear the seagulls, the waves pour some coffee and sit in your tub enjoying the ambiance it pays to get the second story and pamper yourself.....

  • Liked — tub in room and location next to ocean and fireplace
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2003, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wmndevildog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2008

I found this place on Trip Advisor and I am so glad that I did! I did alot of research and found that this place was the best looking place to stay at. I am a leary traveler as you can see by my screen name and I could not have been any more PLEASED with this hotel!! It is beautiful! It has great parking first of all. The thing I liked the most was the fact that the rooms were inside of a house like structure that had a locked door. You opened that door, and it looked like a home with stairs and rooms and you went to your room and unlocked your door to your private room. It to me felt VERY safe. The view was EXCELLENT!!!! The beach is only yards away on a short walk through a meadow. You do have to climb down and up the bluffs which might be hard for older people. But it was a great little beach that was right there. The rooms were VERY clean and the beds were comfortable too. I heard that the beds might be hard. Now if you sleep on a theraputic type bed you will feel these beds are a little bit hard. But I sleep on a pillow top and found these beds to be extremely comfortable. The pictures of the room dont do it justice. It is a good sized room and again VERY clean! I love the private balcony too. The only thing that I can say that is somewhat bad about this place is the front desk staff doesnt know ANYTHING and they dont seem like they are really there to help you. We asked about a good place to get some steamers and the person at the front desk had no idea. It is like, umm.. do you LIVE here? Anyway...they just didnt seem really willing to help.

Now for eating!!! The first night we got there we were looking for a good place to eat. Silvers at the Wharf was suggested. Some people just call it "The Wharf". DO NOT EAT HERE!! It was HORRIBLE!! They plate prices were outrageous. The food was bland, and the service was TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE!!! They wanted to herd you in and herd you out. They never came to the table to ask us if we needed anything after we got our plates. Only to see if we were done so they could clean off the table and get more people seated. We also ate at the Homestyle Cafe for breakfast the next morning. Good food, but again HORRIBLE service. I really was starting to wonder about the service in Fort Bragg until we ran across SHARONS BY THE SEA. THIS PLACE WAS FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If you are looking for steamers they have the best in town. The service was outstanding, the food was so good all I could hear at our table through the entire meal was, MMMM, oh god this is so good, Mmmm!! Oh yumm!!! I am serious. The flavor of the food was so good you didnt want to stop eating! DONT BE FOOLED BY THE LOOK OF THE OUTSIDE OF THE PLACE!!! It is really good eating!!!

So all in all we had a great trip to Fort Bragg. I would without a doubt stay at the Surf and Sand Lodge over and over and over again every time I come here, and I would eat at Sharons by the Sea for lunch and dinner!

  • Liked — The location of the beach and the cleanliness of the rooms.
  • Disliked — The unhelpful staff
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LearyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.1 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.1 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
2.3 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.7 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#8 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf and Sand Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf and Sand Lodge

Property: Surf and Sand Lodge
Address: 1131 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf and Sand Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Surf and Sand Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf And Sand Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Sand Fort Bragg
Hotel Surf And Sand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing