We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent location, great value, super clean, will definitely return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf and Sand Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surf and Sand Lodge
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location, great value, super clean, will definitely return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I rented two units for 3 nights over Thanksgiving and was very happy with the accommodations. As a previous reviewer said, do not pay attention to reviews from 2010 and the first part of 2011. The hotel is under new ownership and reopened in 8/11 and it shows. The rooms are modest, but updated and spotless, with new beds and carpet. The rooms I rented were ocean view, first floor, one with 2 queens, the other a king. I could see and hear the ocean from our rooms. Both rooms had porches leading down to a path which goes for miles to the north through a state park and to the south a ten minute walk to historic downtown Fort Bragg and Glass Beach. A short walk over the bluff leads to beautiful ocean views and steps down to the beach. Our units were in a building with only three other units and felt very private. Parking was ample. Storage for bikes in hallway of building. Managers and service were great. Direct TV cable now provided. New and easy to use thermostat. Only cons - no microwave, flat screen TVs, closets (rod in nook in queen, two hooks by door in king), towels could be newer (but adequate and very clean), no continental breakfast. But excellent value for being so close to ocean - $119/night for each of our rooms! I'll definitely stay here again! My 82 year old mom, 15 year old teenage daughter, and my husband all agree they'd like to return! Would recommend Home Style Cafe and Cafe 1 in Fort Bragg for breakfast. For those who need their coffee fix, there's a Starbucks in town too.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graceyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    98
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
66
149
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Have not been to Ft Bragg for several years and was not certain where to stay. After looking at various inn locations on the internet and the AAA travel guide, we picked Surf and Sand. Glad we did. Accomodations were very nice, everything in working order, the staff was very pleasant and helpful and the ocean views from the deck were outstanding. Do not pay attention to ratings below from 2010 or early2011. The property is under new ownership and management and everything is up to snuff. P.S. The room rates are reasonable too.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms provide best ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Excellent customer service ...excellent rooms... friendly service ...great weekend!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eteames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

My wife and I wanted to visit the Mendocino coast again and decided to try this place on the beach because of it's proximity to the coastal trail where we could ride our bikes. What a great decision!! We rolled our bikes right out the sliding glass door onto our own private deck and 10ft later we were riding for miles, unbelievable! The rooms were clean but a little dated. The location made up for it though and the staff was as friendly as they come. We will definitely stay here the next time we venture to the coast again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coolguyBoiseIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed at the Surf and Sand on business and was very happy with the accommodations. My room opened up to a private patio overlooking an ocean bluff. A park-like walking path is the only thing separating me from the Pacific. Great location just far away enough from Fort Bragg to be quiet, but close enough that you can walk straight into town to the Mendo Brewing company or Glass Beach. New owners were very friendly and welcoming. Next time I come, it'll be for a vacation.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juanalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We had an excellent stay and the accomodations were top notch for the price. The room was super clean, the bed was comfortable and the view was stunning. The room had a refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, flatscreen TV and fireplace. It was spacious but very cozy and it had a little deck that overlooked the boardwalk below. Easy walk to the beach and conveniently located just north of Fort Bragg about 1/2 mile. Lots of parking and the staff was courteous and professional.

I would recommend this is place to anyone and we'll definitely be going back.

Room Tip: End units are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinotguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Surf and Sand is now open again under the ownership of Bob Hunt, who also owns the Beachcomber south of it. It is much as it was, clean and on the beach. The beds and linens are no longer new and some things look a bit worn, but the location is great and the price is right.
Only one building with perhaps four units will accommodate dogs.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marilynb40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.1 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
2.3 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
2.7 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf and Sand Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf and Sand Lodge

Property: Surf and Sand Lodge
Address: 1131 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf and Sand Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Surf and Sand Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf And Sand Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf Sand Fort Bragg
Hotel Surf And Sand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing