We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Burgers with a View”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cliff House - CLOSED

Cliff House
Price range: $15 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Since 1985 the Cliff House Restaurant of Fort Bragg has been providing tourists and locals with the finest dining experience on the coast. With breathtaking views of the entrance to Noyo Harbor and the Pacific Ocean, you can’t find a better seat.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
312 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Burgers with a View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We tried this restaurant because we wanted something besides fast food for lunch and were not disappointed. Beef and blue burger was great with tasty fries. Most of the tables were configured to take advantage the full wall of windows overlooking the river and beach. Nice place, anxious to try dinner the next time we are in town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    82
    53
    31
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We walked to the Cliff House and the meal was very good and the service great. All 4 of us enjoyed every item brought to us, I had the Crab Stuffed Prawns and they were a "10"

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank larry e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Time forgotten”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had to sit in the bar area away from the views, because my wife wanted a sandwich from the bar menu which was not on the dinner menu so they wouldn't serve us in the main restaurant. Food selection was good and the food was ok. Service was slow. Seems like it would have been a nice place to go 20 years ago. Would not go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank VacationStings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Different Choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

When we showed up, there was a wait (45 minutes) and we found out that they take reservations. So we snagged a table in the bar area (under 21 allowed at the tables) to get some drinks and go over the menu. Turns out, you can eat in the bar on a first come, first served basis. They ended up calling us about 5 minutes after we found this out, so we ate in the dining room. The service was good, the food was better. However, it really isn't a family, small-child kind of place. We felt a little out of place. Had we known that in the beginning, we would have chosen another place, or even eaten in the bar.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachfam94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, California
Level Contributor
740 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Nice Experience!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I see a lot of negative reviews for the Cliff House. Fortunately for us, we had a very good experience. Had the early bird which included a bottle of OK wine. Even got to take the leftover wine with us. The dinner was OK although my medium rare steak was much more medium than rare. Service was good. Atmosphere was fine with a nice view. Noise level was pleasant even though a large birthday party was nearby. Not the best food, but surely OK.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cliff House also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing