We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slllooowww and not special”
Review of Cliff House - CLOSED

Cliff House
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Since 1985 the Cliff House Restaurant of Fort Bragg has been providing tourists and locals with the finest dining experience on the coast. With breathtaking views of the entrance to Noyo Harbor and the Pacific Ocean, you can’t find a better seat.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Slllooowww and not special”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Maybe we hit it on an off night, but it was Friday, it was crowded and had good reviews. The service was horrendously slow. Food was merely average. Crab and avocado cocktail had no flavor. Caesar salad boring and lacked flavor. Atmosphere was like a 70s cruise ship. Day after we ate their the credit card we used to pay with was used in an overseas unauthorized purchase. Not sure if it was connected, but seemed the timing was suspicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Live2traveldaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    82
    53
    31
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you come before 6 PM, you get a very healthy and tasty meal for two for $30, including a bottle of wine. This great deal (at least at the time we visited), combined with the view and the sunset was a very pleasant surprise! The service was very nice too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MosheO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colusa, California, United States
1 review
“Cliff House deserves 50 Stars!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our daughter's wedding reception was held at the Cliff House last night and it was a perfect evening! Even from the initial planning stages, Trina went above and beyond to assure that every detail was covered. The Cliff House closed the entire restaurant for this special event, and treated us royally. Eric and his staff were attentive without being obstructive during the celebration. The appetizers and dinner were divine, and the banquet menu satisfied every taste of the guests who enjoyed the stunning views of the sun setting over the ocean as they were dining.

As parents of the bride, we never had to worry about a thing, other than having a great time! Thank you Cliff House! We hope others will consider your establishment, not only for a lovely dinner at the coast but for a special event as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leland E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el cerrito, california
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere and good food.”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The restaurant has a stunning view of Noyo Bay and the sea during the day, but unfortunately nothing is visible after sunset. We were there in the low season, so there were not many diners. I had the Zuppa di Pesce, which was on an earlier menu, but not on the current, but the chef agreed to make one specially for me. There was a little bit too much tomato sauce in the soup, a bit overpowering; on the other hand, there was a lot of Dungeness crab, because it was crab season. My wife had the filet mignon trio, which were three small pieces of filet mignon; they were excellent. Maybe a bit small for big eaters, but just right for us.

My wife mentioned to the waitress that it was my birthday, and we were served a nice chocolate cake as birthday present as well as one extra glass of wine. Service was very good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ploddinghappily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, California, United States
1 review
“The food sucks!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our food was gross. Fettachini Alfredo was like soup. The lettuce was brown, I had to pick through it. My sea food pasta with garlic herb butter sauce was like soup as well. I would not recommend it to friend not even a dog! I would not go back

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina A, General Manager at Cliff House, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are sorry your experience with our restaurant left you feeling disappointed. I hope you the future you will give us another try and if anything is unsatisfactory please bring it to the attention of the our management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cliff House also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing