We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POOR SERVICE”
Review of Cliff House - CLOSED

Cliff House
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Since 1985 the Cliff House Restaurant of Fort Bragg has been providing tourists and locals with the finest dining experience on the coast. With breathtaking views of the entrance to Noyo Harbor and the Pacific Ocean, you can’t find a better seat.
San Ramon, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“POOR SERVICE”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I made reservation and still no service for 20 min. You can watch our other customers come in and received service. If you're a non-white, don't expect service. I let the front desk know and
she stated "oh we just about to see you".

  • Visited November 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANGEL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina A, Owner at Cliff House, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We are sorry you felt discriminated against, st the Cliff House Restaurant we do not discriminate against Race, age, religion, national origin, color, sex, or disability. We were training a few new staff members during your visit and fell a little behind in our timely service. We are truly sorry for the poor service we demonstrated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    82
    53
    31
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rediculous!!! Dont waste your time”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Food is BARELY average and WAAAYY over priced. You'll be more satisfied going to Safeway and cooking your own food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrett9811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina A, Owner at Cliff House, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We are sorry you did not enjoy your meal at our restaurant. Thank you for your review and opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
478 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Super view and excellent food”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our hotel recommended this place and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent and although it is a bit pricey, it is usual for this area. I would definitely recommend it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank barbgoodkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina A, Owner at Cliff House, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for the review and your patronage. We look forward to giving you exceptional service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food good service good view”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

You will find this to be most enjoyable in all ways. We walked over from the Nrth Cliff Hotel, Had a table by the window. Our server was very good, very nice Manager on duity. The food was hot, and soooooooooogood, take your time and enjoy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DiamondJim3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina A, Owner at Cliff House, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your patronage and review, we are pleased you enjoyed your meal. We hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“was not impressed”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

the service was slow and the meal was delivered wrong had to send back and then when it did come back it was cold and still not right.We didnt send back the second time affraid it would take all night to come back wrong and even colder then before.Would not recommend. Hopefully it was a bad night and this is not normal

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina A, Owner at Cliff House, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
we are sorry for the poor experience you had with our restaurant. We strive to offer good food and service. We hope you will consider giving us another try and if you experience any problems ask for a manager immediately so that the problem can be rectified and you may have an enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cliff House also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing