We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, lovely view, friendly and professional service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliff House - CLOSED

Cliff House
Price range: $15 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Since 1985 the Cliff House Restaurant of Fort Bragg has been providing tourists and locals with the finest dining experience on the coast. With breathtaking views of the entrance to Noyo Harbor and the Pacific Ocean, you can’t find a better seat.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food, lovely view, friendly and professional service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We ate here 3 times as the food was good and it was a short walk from our hotel. Twice we were lucky to have Olver as our waiter, he was delightful and extremely professional

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AesRochester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina A, Owner at Cliff House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are pleased you are your friend enjoyed your meal at our establishment. We are glad she enjoyed her birthday and hope you will dine with us again on your next visit to Fort Bragg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    82
    52
    31
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
CHICO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and always a special going on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had a $50 voucher that came with a bottle of wine. The staff was helpful and nice. They let us combine coupons with our voucher so we got A LOT of food for $50! Appetizers, dinner, and dessert and still had $20 left to spend! So we just got two desserts to take home for the next day. Food was delicious, hot and the presentation had us taking pictures of all of it!!It was my friend's bday so I called ahead and they had a dessert with a candle for us after dinner. Very nice!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LISA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina A, General Manager at Cliff House, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review and patronage with our establishment. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Calif.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Really Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We got to the restaurant around 5:30 pm to watch the sunset. We had a nice booth and were surprised that they have a special before 6 pm. Two dinners and a bottle of wine for $30. We both had baked sole and it was excellent and so were the vegetables. The portion size was perfect for us and we were so happy with the meal we ordered dessert. I had cheese cake and my wife had creme brule. I had only one glass of wine so they put the bottle in a bag so I could take it home. The view from the restaurant is really nice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mgsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina A, General Manager at Cliff House, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. We appreciate your patronage and hope you keep us in mind if you visit Fort Bragg in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the North Cliff Hotel and upon check in received a discount coupon for the Cliff House which was right across the bridge. Despite some negative press in trip advisor and from locals, we decided to give it a shot. We were seated right away at a window seat which gave us an awesome view of the Noyo Harbor. It was a Thursday night about 6:00pm and the restaurant was already 3/4 full which was a good sign. The host and the servers were very polite and helpful, and we felt comfortable right away.
The food was very good.. my wife had the salmon, which was perfect, and the portions were generous. The only negative I have was with my dish... i ordered the prime rib, and asked for rare/medium rare... it was not only served medium (no pink at all) it was tough. Probably had been cooked on a different day and frozen. I almost didn't dock them star as I know better than to order Prime Rib on a Thursday night, but they really shouldn't have offered it... just substitute a nice Filet or Rib Eye which can be cooked individually.
That being said, I did eat it all so it couldn't have been that bad, and everything else was great. We will be going back next year.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judahjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina A, General Manager at Cliff House, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry about the quality of your prime rib, please let us know if you have any problems with your food when it arrives, we could have definitely gotten you a new prime rib cooked to your order. We would like to thank you for your patronage and hope if you come back ino town in the future you will keep us in mind and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Views Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Was there last year, had the crab cake appetizer so when in the area again this year I had to return for another. Their food has beautiful presentation, and amazing flavor. The portion size was smaller this year.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank pugybuny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina A, General Manager at Cliff House, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for returning to our restaurant while you were in town. We appreciate your patronage and the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cliff House also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing