We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fun place to explore”
Review of Glass Beach

Glass Beach
Ranked #3 of 39 things to do in Fort Bragg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The sand at this unusual beach is covered with interesting-shaped and colored rocks and stones.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fun place to explore”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Following the directions of the other poster as to where to park and how to get to the section with the most glass was very helpful. Once you hit the beach you have to go south (ie left) to find the most glass. There are a lot of people collecting the glass, so no wonder that there isn't much left. There aren't any signs, but the glass needs to stay put for this to remain a destination. Check the tide charts and try to get there about an hour before the tide is at it's lowest, that way you have time to get to a good spot and explore the tide pools. It is a short steep, almost vertical trek down to the beach and back up. We wore our rain boots are were able to step in and around the areas where water is pooling and not have to worry about getting too wet on a cool day or cutting our feet on the sharp rusty metal bits or rocks. We were approached by some homeless people asking for change in the area, but everyone seems friendly. There is a porta potty at the entrance to the beach from the parking area near the bright yellow painted guard rail.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank LvNatlPrks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    566
    453
    294
    122
    52
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing glass beach”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

When you are in town on the main drag, go west on the intersection of 1 and Elm, where the Denny's is on the corner. Park in the dirt strip along the blackberry bushes.

Take the dirt path west toward the beach. When it splits off take a LEFT-SOUTH, do not go north. The northern beach has been all picked over. The coves to the south were beautiful. I could have spent the day there watching the daylight play on the glass and waves! There was some steep sand covered rocks to climb down to get down to the cove so be prepared. There are plenty of foot holds, there was a 5 & 7 year old with the other couple on the beach and they got down there by themselves just fine.

There were also some great tide pools to look at, and we saw 4 baby white harbor seals.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Julie727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Keep going to the left!!! The glass is there!”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The first beach that you come to (there are a series of coves) is almost glassless. KEEP GOING to the left! The last beach is almost 95% glass! We found a huge orange starfish (about 10" across) and many tiny ones, and anenomies... We loved this place and were disappointed when we got there, only to speak to a local that told us how to find the glass.

SO - PLEASE don't take any souvenirs of glass - you're not supposed to and everyone thinks that it's ok for JUST THEM to take some. Soon the last cove to the left will be just like the main one. This place is a true gem!!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwithkids61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Ahem.”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

On the positive side, the beach is very nice and we saw two seals lounging on the rocks nearby. My son had lots of fun looking for seashells. Yes, seashells. I think we were the only ones on the beach actually looking for shells and not glass.
Which leads me to the downside: although the guide books tell you not to take the glass from the beach, we saw numerous adults filling bags with glass. These are obviously the same people who go to botanical gardens to pick flowers.
The other negative is that my dog (who was on leash) excitedly dragged me to a corner of the rocks where she found something to eat- homeless person's poop. I seriously thought I was going to throw up. There was also an area getting down to the beach that smelled strongly of urine.
I feel i should mention that i had a wonderful time while we were visiting the Fort Bragg and Mendocino area. This was one negative and the only reason I mention it is because it did put a damper on our enjoyment of the beach.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ESS_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good trip”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Glass Beach is one of the few rugged beaches, with easy access. It was unspoilt nature. Loved exploring the tidal pools. We saw some seals as well. Sunset was absolutely gorgeous.
The trip can be combined with a the Skunk train ride and time around Fort Bragg.

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
Thank ManjuRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glass Beach also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Been to Glass Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing