We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Love the Boardwalk & Black Sand Beach

It was very nice to walk along the boardwalk to the furthest viewing area where we saw several... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Departure13801774909
Great place to see the coast with your dog

Easy and free access to the coast with a boardwalk that takes you along the coast and tells the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
semimu
,
San Fran
Read all 720 reviews
  
Reviews (720)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveler rating
518
168
21
7
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
518
168
21
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tide pools board walk nice boardwalk great camping whale skeleton haul road sea lions hermit crabs on the rocks ground squirrels whale watching hiking trails marine life saw seals breathtaking views abalone easy walk
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 714 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was very nice to walk along the boardwalk to the furthest viewing area where we saw several whales-their sprays and part of their back, fin or tale! Free day use.

Thank Departure13801774909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Easy and free access to the coast with a boardwalk that takes you along the coast and tells the story of the place and the animals. Highlights:

1. Tide pools
2. Seals
3. Sea Palms
4. Coast Line and Views
5. Great walk along the shore

Thank semimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We biked over to the boardwalk and enjoyed the amazing view. There were harbor seals in the water. The clear blue skies and the soft ocean breeze made this beautiful hike a wonderful memory for me and my family. Easy parking at the entrance and an easy walk out to the point.

Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

At the park entrance there is a whale skeleton which washed ashore several decades ago and an interactive learning center. There is a board walk out to Laguna Point for whale watching, seal veiwing, shore birds, guide pools and people watching. Signs explain about indigenous peoples lives, plants and animals. A trail around the lake is usually passable but can be muddy or slick in wet months CAUTION for poison oak in addition to the numerous native and invasive species along with some really BIG peanut butter sports and their georgous orb webs a top the vegetation. The lake is stocked and fishable with your California fishing license (unless under age and a license is not yet required). Great year round activity,p. Wear layers and sunscreen (you can get sunburned when it is foggy). There are camping facilities and free day use entrance to the park and parking.

1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Easy parking for a beautiful stroll along the ocean on a perfect boardwalk. Plenty of areas to see tidepools and sea lions. You can picnic and walk and have ocean views or even stick your toes in the water if you dare to do so. This place is beautiful.

Thank Cyncity050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

We were advised by a local to check this out. We are not campers, but there are plenty of camping / RV sites within this park. The beach looked beautiful and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves.

Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Second year in a row we picked up sandwiches and salad from the Harvest Market in Mendo, and dined with the birds, squirrels, and the surf on the park's picnic tables with amazing view! We mentioned to park employees that we had rented boats on the stocked park lake. They pointed out that was over 30 years ago...this was my 79th birthday trip....most years to Mendo.

Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018

The trails here are lovely and quite easy. Level, many wheel chair accessible and lots of benches. walk to the end of the trail to see seals. We have seen eagles here fishing and sometimes whales. There is also good birding at the lake. Also a nice beach.

Thank fiddlestogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018

This park was very welcoming and pet friendly. We walked the boardwalk out along the bluffs which were outstanding. Then we walked the trail/boardwalk combo around the small lake and thoroughly enjoyed the flora and fauna. Folks in the nature center were very friendly.

1  Thank Di B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

We are native Californians who have relocated to another state. This past week we returned to enjoy some of our favorite camping spots that we enjoyed years ago. Mackerricher state park was such a huge disappointment. The boardwalk around the lake was broken and unusable. The lake itself was overgrown with marsh grass and very low water levels making kayaking, or even enjoying the lake impossible. The campsights were okay, but the bathrooms were always dirty and never had soap or paper towels. We we're so disappointed to see one of our former favorite campgrounds to have gone so far down.

1  Thank TravelsMyLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews