We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Step back in Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Skunk Train

Skunk Train
Ranked #1 of 7 Tours in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 40-mile train ride through the redwood forests of northern California. Depart Willits on the Highway 101 corridor or Fort Bragg on the Mendocino Coast. All trips are round-trip and travel from either Fort Bragg or Willits to the mid-point of the railroad "Northspur" and return. Trips are about 4 hours in length.
Fallbrook
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Step back in Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Skunk Train tour back into time allowing you to feel like you have step back to the 1890's. Riding the rails through the redwood forest was soooo relaxing and wonderful. Be sure to spend time in the open air car to gain the full perspective of the great redwood forest and great photo oportunities of the train in motion. It is a must when you are in the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    147
    64
    27
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great fun for couple or family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Relaxing and fun ride. Beautiful seeing all the redwoods and being in the open car and feeling the sun and wind on you. They have entertainment with folk singer. Stopping for lunch is cool and take pictures of the train and not too bad lunch. Great to keep it alive for generations to come...highly recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank TrueResponse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Got to do it....the gift shop has some nice items too. Lots of fun just sitting in the old cars dating back to 1904...looks the same just with new people. Nice to go through the old redwoods and see some that are 1000 years old. Make a fun day out of it...if adult, they have a wine train there too :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TrueResponse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Skunk trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The trip was great and not crowed. The worker on the train were wealth of knowledge about the area and the entertainment by Malakai Schindel was outstanding. I can whole heartly recommend this trip to anyone. Tall tress and 1000 year old redwoods.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoy history and nature at a relaxed pace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We enjoyed our first ride on the Skunk train yesterday. I'm sort of a train buff and made a point of reserving a ride for the steam-powered excursion. We rode in an old parlor car as we meandered through the coastal redwoods from Ft. Bragg to the turn-around at Northspur. These are not the most dramatic redwoods I have seen, but they are dramatic enough. The stop at Northspur gave us the opportunity to enjoy our lunch at a picnic table amidst a beautiful grove of Redwoods. We packed our own picnic lunch which I recommend since the line for food at Northspur becomes quite long for those not fleet of foot. It was fun to watch our steam locomotive go through the process of using the turn around tracks to get into position for the return trip. During the trip we were fed snippets of history involving stops along the way. Some cabins can only be accessed by this train.
I didn't use the restoom on the train but my wife did. She said is was clean and about the same size as the restrooms on modern Amtrak cars (very small). However, it did not have a sink for washing hands. Fortunately we had hand sanitizer with us. Restrooms at the Ft. Bragg depot and at Northspur are spacious and full equipped.
If you enjoy history and can function at a relaxed pace for half a day you will enjoy this experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skunk Train also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Been to Skunk Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing