We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing place to stay in Fort Bragg!”
Review of Shoreline Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shoreline Cottages
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2010

While this place is not fancy, it provides a comfortable and versatile spot to spend a day or a few days. It is comfortable, quiet, and clean. It more than met our needs. And all of the local attractions are just a short drive away.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 495 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2010

My sister,brother and my Newfoundland all went on vacation together to see the Northern California coast and Redwoods.We spent 3 nights at Shoreline and had a wonderful time. All the comforts of home and my 150lb Newfy made himself at home! Loved it - cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty0090310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

I travelled with 2 dogs and truly enjoyed the themed rooms and the extremely pet friendly atmosphere. The cottages are tucked away from the highway giving them a remote feeling. The cottages were very nicely decorated with wonderful amenities. So comfortable it felt like home. I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 32675Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

The cottages were clean, cute and comfortable. The price was extremely reasonable. Very pet friendly and check in was quick and easy. Nice proprietor who gave helpful tips and advice about the area. Wish we could have stayed more than one night.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Fletch48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

This is the place to stay if you've to these factors:
weekend getaway
inexpensive, (AAA deal too)
good access to mendocino things to do
traveling with dog
fire place
kitchen

The cottages were booked up for stays in units that allowed dogs. However, they can make exceptions and are very nice about it. The location is just before Fort Bragg town, so it's central to to everything you might want to do around Mendocino. One of the best things to do is right across Hwy 1 and walking down to the secluded beach that is off leash dog friendly. It's so secluded and there is so much to see, in addition to the adventure of trying to reach the sand bar without getting wet.

The cottages get top marks, but Mendocino is a bit too odd for us. Also, it's soo cold, it probably probably mirrors SF city weather conditions on any given day.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kozoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We stayed one night in one of their two cottage "suites". Not sure exactly what the differences between the suites and the regular cottages are except I know the suite have gas fireplaces while only two of the regular cottages do, and the suites have a jacuzzi style bathtub and a little deck out back.
The place appears to have been recently renovated in good taste, much of the furniture was likely purchased Ikea, which is a store which my wife and I both love, so that's not a bad thing. A big flat screen TV strategically mounted so it could be watched from bed or futon couch, with a DVD player and many movies available for a $1 rental fee.
Our room had a microwave, mini-fridge, and cups and dishes if you want to heat and eat in the room. The deck was nice too.
The "suite" was not as spacious as you'd expect a suite to be. Definitely falls under "cozy". But it was very clean and the owners obviously are trying hard. It seemed pricey for what you get, though I don't know what typical rates are in Fort Bragg, which is obviously a tourist haven on the coast.
Oh, one other thing. We expected this place to be right on the water with ocean views. It is not. It is right off of route one and has zero views. There is beach access but it seemed to be a bit of a walk after crossing the highway and we did not go down there as we were only passing through the area on our way North.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VegVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We stayed at Shoreline Cottages at the same time as the previous review writer. We too were very pleased with our stay there. The location of the property just south of town is convenient. The Surf Suite is sufficiently spacious for a party of three and a large dog. It is nicely decorated and well appointed with large flat screen TV, DVD, wifi, microwave, minifridge, dishes, and a basket of dog supplies. The suite has a large, modernized bathroom with rain showerhead and Jacuzzi tub. The suite was exceedingly clean. The outdoor area has lovely landscaping, a BBQ, seating around a firepit, and plenty of area for a dog to wander safely. Best of all, the proprietors are approachable, friendly and provide outstanding service.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cuppajava001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
631 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
3.3 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
320 reviews
3.2 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
349 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreline Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Cottages

Address: 18725 N Highway 1, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8748
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range: $108 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoreline Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoreline Cottages - where coastal history meets modern comfort. This beautiful property is located on Highway 1 - between Mendocino and Fort Bragg. It is adjacent to the beach and many regional attractions, including state parks, beaches, and more! The pet-friendly rooms include cottages with full kitchens and a queen bed (2 have fireplaces) and standard rooms with 2 queen beds, and are located around a lovely park area with trees, grass, and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Shoreline Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Cottages Hotel Fort Bragg
Shoreline Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing